We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in Matemwe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzibar Retreat Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Zanzibar Retreat Hotel to your Saves list
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Matemwe Beach | Zanzibar, Matemwe, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Matemwe
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Honeymoon in Matemwe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I cannot recommend Jan's place highly enough. The hotel is small and perfect for couples on their honeymoon. The staff are really friendly and helpful and Jan is great for advice on where to go, what to do. It was really good value compared to other places we'vd looked and the food was great.

Room Tip: Ask about the honeymoon offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    45
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
61
133
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The Zanzibar retreat is a fantastic place to stay. Jan and his team provide excellent service. The food is great and we enjoyed the option of ordering fresh seafood a couple of nights which was beautifully cooked! The rooms are very clean and well kept. Even the laundry was perfectly washed and ironed! Happy hour cocktails (4-6pm) were fantastic value and served in the delightful sea view bar. We highly recommend Zanzibar Retreat!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We found this place on TripAdvisor and couldn't have been happier with our choice. We stayed there 3 nights prior to starting our safari. It was easily the best place we stayed in for our entire vacation. The hotel is beautiful and the staff are just wonderful. The meals were delicious and the wait staff attentive. Jan recommended Scuba Fish Zanzibar for a snorkeling trip to Mnemba Atoll. We had a fantastic time. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberton, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here with friends as a wind-down after a dusty Intrepid trip through Kenya and Tanzania. Jan was very apologetic at forgetting our transfer but, other than that, our stay was outstanding. The room was very comfortable, three steps from the pool, and the resort has a wide range of comfortable and relaxing corners to chill out - love the hammocks. The staff were very attentive, always smiling and taking time to chat.
Though swimming on the beach was a little difficult, there was no problem 'wallowing' and the morning sunrises were stunning. We also met 'Mr.Match' there who organised a trip to Mnemba Island snorkelling and a spice tour combined with our transfer back to Stonetown. Both were very enjoyable and grand value.
However the absolute highlight of the stay was the meals. We took the half-board option and enjoyed two magnificent evening dinners - four courses of the most delightful, locally inspired food. It was undoubtedly the best food I have enjoyed anywhere - many, many thanks to the kitchen staff and Karen.
The Retreat is in a quiet corner of the island but if you want to wind down after the dust and early starts of a safari, then you should very seriously consider this place.

Room Tip: Two rooms upstairs have the view but downstairs on the north side have the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Enjoyed the quiet location, good food and friendly staff. "Retreat" is a perfect name for this place. Comfortable and close to great scuba diving and snorkeling. Would recommend this place for families, couples, friends or a solo trip. Management went out of their way to make us feel comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We went to Zanzibar for 3 days before going on safari, and Zanzibar Retreat Hotel was a great place to unwind after our long travel. Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful (Mathias especially was a great conversationalist and very resourceful), food was good (a little salty at times). We opted for the bed & breakfast option, which was so filling that we didn't usually eat again until dinner (onsite). I opted not to have half or full board so we could have the option to eat elsewhere (ha!) but this turned out to be more economical anyway, probably because we only drank during happy hour.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This place is amazing. We only stayed 3 nights but wish we could have stayed longer. Cold drink on arrival, free home made crisps with your drinks and free water in the room all made it feel more luxurious.
The staff are wonderful and won't let you do anything for yourself. The buildings are beautiful, the room gorgeous. The pool is a good enough size for swimming even though the sea has a lot of sea weed. The beach is still beautiful though.
All the food we had was incredible if slightly on the pricey side.. it was worth it though.
We would definitely come back here if returning to Zanzibar.. can't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Don't bother going for any more than the garden rooms. They are beautiful and really quiet. Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Zanzibar Retreat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Retreat Hotel

Address: Matemwe Beach | Zanzibar, Matemwe, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zanzibar Retreat Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small beach Retreat. Good food and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Zanzibar Retreat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Retreat Matemwe
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel Matemwe, Zanzibar Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzibar Retreat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.