We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food in an amazing relax place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzibar Retreat Hotel

Save Saved
You added Zanzibar Retreat Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Matemwe Beach | Zanzibar, Matemwe, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
LAST MINUTE OFFER
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Matemwe
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food in an amazing relax place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Many thanks to Jan and all the staff for our wonderful time in Zanzibar!
We were 12 people: outstanding food in such a place, very smiling and trustworthy staff, beautiful white beach, nice swimming pool.
The owner, Jan, very friendly, was always present listening to everyone and doing his best to organize whatever you need (bus transport to visit places...)
I highly recommand that place for relaxing and ressourcing!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    36
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
104
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Zanzibar Retreat Hotel. If you are looking for a secluded place with a calm, friendly atmosphere, this is the perfect place. Food was amazing! The beach was beautiful. The serene daily activities of the nearby community; the women working on their seeweed-plantation, the fishermen, the children coming home from school, etc, only added an authentic element to the African experience. Jan, one of the owners, was present most of the time giving attention the every possible detail to keep you comfortable and in a good mood. We stayed in one of the honeymoon-suites, which we highly recommend. Waking up to a beautiful sunrise over the Indian Ocean and the the waves splashing on the beach really helped to remove the stress of the european winter. The peak of our experience was the snorkeling-trip to the nearby island when we had the opportunity to swim with wild dolphins! We counted over 40 of them all around us! Absolutely an all-time-high. The only negative thing was the frequent interruptions in power- and water-supply - but I´ve travelled a great deal in Africa and that´s just something you have to expect.

Room Tip: The extra pay for the honeymoon-suite is money well spent. If you plan to go snorkeling/on a dolphin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Jan was a great host on this beautiful property. The pool was nice, the beach access great, and the food was amazing. I highly suggest paying an extra $15 per person to have the fresh seafood addition to the meal...best lobster and prawn I have ever had! The Honeymoon suite upstairs had the best view of the ocean from a huge balcony, the bathroom had a stone-like finish, and the room was spacious. Only negatives were the power outages and the A/C working sporadically. Otherwise, it was a fabulous stay.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the suites on the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Zanzibar retreat! It was just what the doctor ordered after hectic traveling in Kenya. The resort is cozy with a smaller number of rooms, very well maintained, on a quiet stretch of beach and the food was absolutely amazing. The owner was very friendly, always asking how we were enjoying our food or stay and open to input for any ways to improve our experience. We have been to about 5 different resorts on Zanzibar on different beaches, including Matemwe, Kendwa, Paje, Jambiani and Nungwe and we are still convinced that Zanzibar retreat is the best resort hands´down. If you come to Zanzibar you have to give it a go.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We just absolutely loved Zanzibar Retreat , The welcome , the food , Jan the owner is lovely and does everything so guests feel at home . The food is just amazing , the best we had on the island so far. Great Chef ! The Staff also very professional , The pool is definitely a big plus , it's fresh and clean , and big enough to swim properly ,
We were delighted of our visit , and will keep such great memories of the Zanzibar Retreat !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is one of our best hollidays ever. We wanted to have a calm and relaxing holliday after a very busy year. I we found this here. Reading books, eating amazing food and a drink(or two) in the Bar. No TV, no music only sound of the wawes and birds. Fantastic. Slept like a child. We stayed there for 13 nights.

Room Tip: We paid a littel extra and got the best room no. 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I highly recommend this place. It is right on the beach. The building is beautiful and clean. The food was amazing. The owner, Janne, was very helpful and was available as needed. He always promptly answered my emails and worked with us on our accomodation needs. The staff was friendly. At night, there is a guard on duty, so we felt safe (even without the guard, we would have felt safe). There is a little bungalow right on the beach where you can get a massage. I took advantage of this ($40 for one hour) and was put into sleep coma by the masseuse and sound of the ocean. We stayed for three nights and didnt want to leave. If youre a diver, One Ocean Divers is located about a ten minute walk up the beach. Matemwe is a beautiful beach with a big reef. It is less touristy than other parts of the island. Again, i highly recommend this place. I would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zanzibar Retreat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Retreat Hotel

Address: Matemwe Beach | Zanzibar, Matemwe, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zanzibar Retreat Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small beach Retreat. Good food and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Zanzibar Retreat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Retreat Matemwe
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel Matemwe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzibar Retreat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.