We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Relaxation at the end of an African Adventure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzibar Retreat Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Zanzibar Retreat Hotel to your Saves list
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Matemwe Beach | Zanzibar, Matemwe, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Matemwe
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Relaxation at the end of an African Adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Jan was a great host on this beautiful property. The pool was nice, the beach access great, and the food was amazing. I highly suggest paying an extra $15 per person to have the fresh seafood addition to the meal...best lobster and prawn I have ever had! The Honeymoon suite upstairs had the best view of the ocean from a huge balcony, the bathroom had a stone-like finish, and the room was spacious. Only negatives were the power outages and the A/C working sporadically. Otherwise, it was a fabulous stay.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the suites on the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Stone Town
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Zanzibar retreat! It was just what the doctor ordered after hectic traveling in Kenya. The resort is cozy with a smaller number of rooms, very well maintained, on a quiet stretch of beach and the food was absolutely amazing. The owner was very friendly, always asking how we were enjoying our food or stay and open to input for any ways to improve our experience. We have been to about 5 different resorts on Zanzibar on different beaches, including Matemwe, Kendwa, Paje, Jambiani and Nungwe and we are still convinced that Zanzibar retreat is the best resort hands´down. If you come to Zanzibar you have to give it a go.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirk J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We just absolutely loved Zanzibar Retreat , The welcome , the food , Jan the owner is lovely and does everything so guests feel at home . The food is just amazing , the best we had on the island so far. Great Chef ! The Staff also very professional , The pool is definitely a big plus , it's fresh and clean , and big enough to swim properly ,
We were delighted of our visit , and will keep such great memories of the Zanzibar Retreat !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jade e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is one of our best hollidays ever. We wanted to have a calm and relaxing holliday after a very busy year. I we found this here. Reading books, eating amazing food and a drink(or two) in the Bar. No TV, no music only sound of the wawes and birds. Fantastic. Slept like a child. We stayed there for 13 nights.

Room Tip: We paid a littel extra and got the best room no. 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haakon829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

I highly recommend this place. It is right on the beach. The building is beautiful and clean. The food was amazing. The owner, Janne, was very helpful and was available as needed. He always promptly answered my emails and worked with us on our accomodation needs. The staff was friendly. At night, there is a guard on duty, so we felt safe (even without the guard, we would have felt safe). There is a little bungalow right on the beach where you can get a massage. I took advantage of this ($40 for one hour) and was put into sleep coma by the masseuse and sound of the ocean. We stayed for three nights and didnt want to leave. If youre a diver, One Ocean Divers is located about a ten minute walk up the beach. Matemwe is a beautiful beach with a big reef. It is less touristy than other parts of the island. Again, i highly recommend this place. I would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardilla16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, Kent, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited Zanzibar Retreat and enjoyed a fabulous lunch. The food was first rate with the menu having a choice of authentic local recipes as well as catering for the Western palate. The staff were all friendly and provided excellent service. Although we only had a one course lunch and drinks we were not hurried over our meal and were able to enjoy the atmosphere of this charming beach fronted hideaway.

I would not think twice about recommending the Zanzibar Retreat as a venue to eat or drink and I very much hope that on our next visit to the village we will be able to stay in this idyllic boutique hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L4dy_J0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in 5 diiferent places in Zanzivbar and this is by far our best experience. The local life on the beach is nice to watch and the snorkeling at Mnemba Atoll amazing - we saw lots of dolphins. The food was by far the best experienced in Zanzibar. Cross Europe/Africa food cooked by very skilled local chefs. The atmosphere is tranquill and harmonic and the beach is quiet. If you want to sociallise with the local people it is your choice, or you just stay in the noce premises of Zanzibar retreat. The water and electricity supply was excellent as well. If returning to Zanzibar this is the place I will choose to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matemwe
5.4 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#2 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,022 reviews
15.8 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#1 of 159 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
10.6 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.7 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#3 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 818 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mvuvi Resort
Mvuvi Resort
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
5.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar Retreat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Retreat Hotel

Address: Matemwe Beach | Zanzibar, Matemwe, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zanzibar Retreat Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small beach Retreat. Good food and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Venere and Booking.com so you can book your Zanzibar Retreat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Retreat Matemwe
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel Matemwe, Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing