We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzibar Retreat Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Zanzibar Retreat Hotel to your Saves list
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Matemwe Beach | Zanzibar, Matemwe, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Matemwe
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our second visit to Zanzibar brought us to the Zanzibar Retreat Hotel, a choice we did not regret. The friendly welcome by Jan the Manager, Salome and the rest of the staff gave the indication what we might expect. Everything that followed was just great. We had opted for a half board but ended with a full board as we just couldn’t imagine anything beating the food and the company at the ZR.
The Hotel is rather small with only 12 rooms but at the same time this is probably the best size for a real Retreat Hotel. The cosy atmosphere at the pool and the bar is perfect for a relaxed small talk with other guests and we made good friends with couple of the other guests. Early morning walk at the beach watching the women from the neighbouring villages harvest the see-weed and chat and laugh while working is a good start for any day. It is also very interesting to follow when the fishermen hurry in across the reef at high tide to beat it to the market.

And finally to top it all we were invited for a small private celebration organized by Salome where artist from the villages performed; very very nice surprise. Congratulation to Jan, Salome, Mini and all the other staff, you have created a very nice and welcoming place which we will recommend to all our friends.

Room Tip: The suites on the upper floor have a very nice view to the see. On the other hand the rooms at the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    40
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
120
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at Zanzibar Retreat in mid October. Our stay at Zanzibar Retreat really exceeded our expectations for the following reasons:

-the hotel is owned and operated by 2 Finnish Nationals. One of the owners, Jan, is the on site manager. Jan is a great guy - very welcoming and he's got a nice sense of humor. He's very competent and his leadership keeps the hotel very clean and orderly (as you'd expect from a place owned by Scandinavians!).

-The Pool is fantastic. It is 25 meters long and is footsteps from the beach. The bar and restaurant area is directly next to the pool also, so easy to order a nice drink and sit in one of the lounge chairs

-There is no pressure to eat at the on site restaurant, but we did eat there 2 of the 4 nights. The food is good - fresh and generous portions. They offer either a meat or a fish each night. Value is good and prices are in line and fair compared to the other restaurants on Matemwe Beach. Breakfast is good too with fresh fruit, eggs and choice of pancakes or other options.

-Lunch is excellent value. A nice, tasty hamburger can be had for around 5 or 6 euros.

-Drinks are well made, which based on our experience in Tanzania is not to be taken for granted. Jan has clearly provided his staff clear instruction on how to make a proper cocktail (we had the margarita and mojito). Prices are reasonable, especially during their happy hour.

-We went scuba diving around Mnemba Island and the diving company (One Ocean) is just a 10 minute walk from the Zanzibar Hotel.

-We stayed in a smaller room upstairs and it served our needs just fine. We didn't spend too much time in the room, but there is air con and wireless. There are some intermittent issues with both electricity and internet, but this is a function of Zanzibar versus flaws with the hotel. No tv in our room.

In terms of recommendations or feedback to the hotel, I don't have much. I would say that the beach is very nice although snorkeling was not good due to poor visibility (and lots of seaweed). However, I think this is generally the case up and down the Matemwe Beach. The advantage is that there is a reef about 500 meters off the beach and you can walk through the lagoon to the reef during low tide. Quite fun and you can see starfish, crabs and small fish.

Thanks again to Jan and his team,
Kevin and Lena

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Djurmo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

What is most important to experience an unforgettable holiday?
I guess there are several things and I think we found them all at Zanzibar Retreat.

Arriving after a fantastic safari week to this place was perfect for us.
- Relaxing with a book by the pool
- Eating superb food
- Walking by the beautiful beach
- Chatting with the friendly staff

We are happy to recommend this hotel if you looking for a quiet place to relax and enjoy.

Bosse & Kerstin Johansson, Sweden

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The week was a dream because of excellent food and a familiar atmosphere.Fresh fruit every morning and the owner made everything to make us feel at home. For a middleaged couple it was perfect. I would gladly go there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Had realy nice stay here for a few nights. Food is great (portions are quit big, but that is the only complaint I have) rooms have all you need, its quiet you only hear the ocean and the personal are very friendly. You couldnt ask for more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Wow! We stayed here for 6 nights in September 2012 and it was simply superb. We were upgraded to the main suite which overlooked the beautiful Indian Ocean. There was no TV or music blaring out in the bar, and was everything you could wish for on a honeymoon. When we arrived we were treated to a lovely bottle of bubbly and fresh fruit to enjoy on our balcony and in our massive room! The owner Jan was so accommodating, always around for a chat if anything was wrong (which it never was) and even throwing in a free massage for my wife. The food was freshly prepared and presented beautifully. I could go on but all i will say is thank you to Jan and highly recommend this beautiful retreat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We had an amazing time at Zanzibar retreat. Great food, great staff, terrific location and great pool ! We loved the decoration of the room upon arrival. It was really peaceful, relaxing and they got the perfect staff (from the waiters to amazing cook!)

I snorkelled for the first time there and swam with dolphins ! It was an amazing experience (despite the sea sickness). My partner took a refresher course for diving and dived there. Unfortunately he didn't react very well with the anti malaria medication so we would advice not taking it if you want to dive and are only going to Zanzibar !

Small point:
- frequent power cut but nothing unmanageable and we did understand why !
- slow service -> they will usually ask you a couple of hours beforehand what would like to order for lunch or dinner: take the opportunity and constantly do it ! It is very worth it tho !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zanzibar Retreat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Retreat Hotel

Address: Matemwe Beach | Zanzibar, Matemwe, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zanzibar Retreat Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small beach Retreat. Good food and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Zanzibar Retreat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Retreat Matemwe
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel Matemwe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzibar Retreat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.