We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anita and Roland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzibar Retreat Hotel

Save Saved
You added Zanzibar Retreat Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Matemwe Beach | Zanzibar, Matemwe, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
LAST MINUTE OFFER
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Matemwe
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Anita and Roland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The week was a dream because of excellent food and a familiar atmosphere.Fresh fruit every morning and the owner made everything to make us feel at home. For a middleaged couple it was perfect. I would gladly go there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    36
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
103
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Had realy nice stay here for a few nights. Food is great (portions are quit big, but that is the only complaint I have) rooms have all you need, its quiet you only hear the ocean and the personal are very friendly. You couldnt ask for more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Wow! We stayed here for 6 nights in September 2012 and it was simply superb. We were upgraded to the main suite which overlooked the beautiful Indian Ocean. There was no TV or music blaring out in the bar, and was everything you could wish for on a honeymoon. When we arrived we were treated to a lovely bottle of bubbly and fresh fruit to enjoy on our balcony and in our massive room! The owner Jan was so accommodating, always around for a chat if anything was wrong (which it never was) and even throwing in a free massage for my wife. The food was freshly prepared and presented beautifully. I could go on but all i will say is thank you to Jan and highly recommend this beautiful retreat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We had an amazing time at Zanzibar retreat. Great food, great staff, terrific location and great pool ! We loved the decoration of the room upon arrival. It was really peaceful, relaxing and they got the perfect staff (from the waiters to amazing cook!)

I snorkelled for the first time there and swam with dolphins ! It was an amazing experience (despite the sea sickness). My partner took a refresher course for diving and dived there. Unfortunately he didn't react very well with the anti malaria medication so we would advice not taking it if you want to dive and are only going to Zanzibar !

Small point:
- frequent power cut but nothing unmanageable and we did understand why !
- slow service -> they will usually ask you a couple of hours beforehand what would like to order for lunch or dinner: take the opportunity and constantly do it ! It is very worth it tho !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Me and my family (children 17 and 23) had a pleasant stay at the hotel for a week in july 2012.
The hotel is located right on the beautiful beach.
The rooms were very good, clean and everything worked alright.
The staff is great and very helpful with booking activities outside the hotel..We tried, snorkeling, swimming with turtles, diving and deep sea fishing.
The food at the hotell was amazing and enjoyable.
As the hotel is really a retreat hotell you will not find any night life in it or in the surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This a small, 12 room, hotel. It's in a great location. Right on the beach. Miles of beautiful beach for walking or beach combing. Lazing by the pool is also peaceful, pleasant and in great surroundings. The room was great although I would have prefered a blanket rather than simply a top sheet. Air conditioning and fan worked great. Bathroom and water pressure good.

However, it is fairly isolated with few hotels in its vicinity. We were lookin for R&R and it suited us perfectly. But, if you are looking for lots of activity and night life best to stay elsewhere. We opted for full board and were not disappointed. The food was amazing. Coincidentally, there was a seafood barbeque on our last night which was a wonderful ending to our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

My family and I ( 'children' 18, 20, 23) stayed for just over a week with very varied expectations. It was probably the most enjoyable and successful family holiday we have had! It is not an activities hotel but almost anything available to do on the island can be arranged with enough notice and planning. Nothing is too much trouble for the owner and staff. It is important to read up about the location because although it is on a glorious beach, it is well known that at low tide swimming is not really practical especially if you don't appreciate sea urchins. It is called a retreat hotel for obvious reasons, it is calm and quiet there is no loud evening entertainment thank goodness if you don't appreciate it and disappointing if that's what you like on holiday. Please make sure that you understand as much as possible about this fantastic hotel so that you will avoid being disappointed and it will not be necessary to review it unfavourably.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zanzibar Retreat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Retreat Hotel

Address: Matemwe Beach | Zanzibar, Matemwe, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zanzibar Retreat Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small beach Retreat. Good food and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Zanzibar Retreat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Retreat Matemwe
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel Matemwe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzibar Retreat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.