We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Langi Langi Beach Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Langi Langi Beach Bungalows to your Saves list
Langi Langi Beach Bungalows
Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kansas City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed 5 nights at the Langi Langi as part of a dive package with Spanish Dancer Divers. The rooms are spacious and clean and showers were warm with decent water pressure. Beds were high off the ground with comfy mattresses and mosquito nets that were in good shape. They have free wifi, but it was only accessible from the restaurant and not in the rooms.

The pool area is nice and well maintained, and although I prefer to hang out at the beach, it was a nice place to lay out with some peace and quiet on occasion or chill out in a hammock and read a little.

The restaurant is one of the best on the beach and the price is reasonable compared to other places with a nice terrace overlooking the ocean while you eat. Breakfast was pretty good with a buffet of fresh fruit, tea/coffee, juice, meat, beans, bread and pasteries. You can also order eggs any style, pancakes or french toast from a menu.

Very nice place which I highly recommend if you want to spend time in Nungwi with a little style.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    102
    26
    9
    10
See reviews for
51
186
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harare, Zimbabwe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a brilliant stay in Zanzibar and were looking for a room that was as close to the sea as possible, we were not disappointed as the sea view rooms offered stunning views and could not be any closer to the sea. The rooms visually were clean and spacious and staff helpful.

However on our second day the drain began smelling and we reported this to the "rasta" manager who seemed to be unfazed by the problem which was never fixed and we had to continue our stay with the odd sewage smell drifting through the room despite being in their best room, Worst of all in the morning we went to breakfast and on the way back to the room noticed the cleaning lady coming from our room but the room was not clean but my wallet had been cleaned US$100 short. Not wanting to jump to conclusions and thinking of a possible explanation i decided to take our TSH5000 photograph the note at the serial numbers on the note and place it on the table for when she came back with a book on it. To our surprise the note was gone when we returned. I went immediately to rasta to report the matter his response was shocking. He said i do not side with my customers over my staff and she obviously took this as a tip (without asking this is stealing) i explained we had been patient with the sewage but this theft was unacceptable, he was completely unhelpful and said i should not have left the money there. I suggested he phoned the cleaner as i wanted to speak to her, she was apparently 30 min away so we went for lunch. on return to our room the TSH5000 had returned but had different serial number.

I can appreciate that there are safes in the room and i should have used them but i did not expect staff members to be watching my movements and entering the rooms as we leave even if for 20 min.

The hotel is amazing and besides these problems is in my view the best value for money if you did not have these problems.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I can not make any comments on accommodation as we did not stay here, but the lunch we had was brilliant.
It was served by friendly staff and the owner himself coming for a nice chat. BRILLIANT !!
The very funny menu board was exciting.
Sitting on the deck over the water was a nice experience.
In all, a very enjoyable outing. .......................................................................................................................................,,........,,,,,,,,,

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Upon arrival we were told the visa machine was not working. The only other option was to pay via a local vendor at a 10% surcharge. This was not relayed to us through the email correspondence when we were booking the room or we would've probably stayed elsewhere or been more prepared. When we checked out I was told the rate for the room was in dollars and when I tried to pay the equivalent in Tanzanian shillings the hotel manager said we had to pay the 'local' exchange rate! There was a big difference in the international exchange and the local rate and we were bullied into paying the higher rate. I would not stay here again as from the moment I checked in I knew it was a mistake and would not recommend to anybody to stay here either unless you want to pay cash and in dollars too! It has put me off Zanzibar altogether.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent 4 nights/5 days at Langi Langi Beach Bungalow in September 2014. Nice, well managed hotel, excellent food, beautiful beaches,friendly people-just go, enjoy and relax.... After that we went for 2 nights/3 days in Stone town Zanzibar, stayed at Dhow Palace- nice place to visit too....

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had the chance of staying both in the garden-view room and the sea-view room. The first one was smaller but pleasant and quiet; the garden is lovely, with a lovely family of dik-dik deer and a pair of elephant shrew roaming around. The sea-view room was large, with a beautiful view and also relatively quiet, as the pleasant sound of the ocean usually muted any of the restaurant/next-door-room sounds. The furniture's pleasant and tasteful, all rooms have air conditioning and a fan.
The restaurant has excellent food. The staff is most pleasant and helpful at all times, as is the manager (we're grateful for his help and kindness when it was needed).
Aside from that, the sea and beaches were absolutely perfect, as was the weather (never too warm or cool). An ideal place to rest and gain new - warm and loving - energy!

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms are large and beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is great, the marhaba rooms with sea view were splendid (you can't beat the location), cleaning was very thorough, the food (lunches and dinners) was delicious. The breakfasts could have more savory options, but were fine. The best thing about the hotel were the people, though. Everybody was very nice and friendly, the manager was extremely helpful (I was not feeling very well for a few days and was provided with complimentary diet food and tea, everybody was concerned and helpful).
We very much recommend this place!

Room Tip: Room Kikoni (Marhaba) was great (spacious, beautiful view, very light) and probably one of the few r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langi Langi Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langi Langi Beach Bungalows

Address: Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LangiLangi Beach Bunaglows is located in Nungwi, Zanzibar. The hotel has got a total of 34 rooms which are Standard Garden Room, Pool Room, Seaview Suite, Marhaba Suite and Royal Zanzibari Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Langi Langi Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langilangi Beach Bungalows Hotel Nungwi
Langilangi Beach Hotel
Langilangi Beach Resort All Inclusive
Langi Langi Beach Bungalows Zanzibar/Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langi Langi Beach Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.