We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay with gorgeous views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Langi Langi Beach Bungalows

Save Saved
You added Langi Langi Beach Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Langi Langi Beach Bungalows
Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 hotels in Nungwi
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay with gorgeous views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was a beautiful stay- and the views are breathtaking. The rooms were clean, reasonably priced and the staff was very nice. The location is quaint and not too crowded and boasts some of the best coastlines in the world. While the complimentary breakfast was alright, the views from the cafe more than made up for it! I would definitely come back to stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    87
    21
    7
    10
See reviews for
42
160
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our guidebook says the hotel to be the most nicest one in this area - and we are glad to confirm . Unlike the nearby luxury but impersonal beach resorts, Langi Langi is a Family-owned/managed charming traditional-style hotel. Its manager and entire staff were not just friendly but very hospitable and generate a warm atmosphere
You will learn how tasteful food gets by tropical spices, you will enjoy it. We recommend the large and comfortable rooms with an exceptional sea-view.
After a 9 day stay we should like to thank Rasta-man and his staff very much for a great time

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

amazing and excellent stay langi langi. A budgeted hotel in nungwi
we stayed there for 2 nights and we had booked a sea view room on the second floor.

amazing view from the balcony. me and my wife we enjoyed a lot. it was my first time staying at the hotel and we both enjoyed the ambience. The hotel is well maintained, the rooms are kept clean.

the owner (sele) a gentlemen, we really enjoyed talking to him, he went out of his way for the 2 nights that we stayed there and made us masala chai ( indian tea) every night. a great person

a great place worth visiting again

Room Tip: sea view rooms and suites are amazing get barakez or siti
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejen, Ribe, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a safari in mainland of Tanzania, we had decided to end the vacation by a cosey relaxing enjoy-the-sun-do-nothing week at Zanzibar. We had laid the arrangements into the hands of our travel-arranger who warmly recommended Langi Langi as "just the place" with an unconventional, friendly attitude, off-beat and very beautiful location.
We were not disappointed in any way!
The location was simply just stunning. We had the luck to come to the place end of season, just before rainy season. The view was stunning and even more stunning with thunderclouds in the horizon yet pleasing climate and weather locally.
The owner is "in-to food" which means the menu is short & very very good. (Try the hot stuff - its fantastic). The staff is very straightforward. It's a small place and close to a small village. No shopping facilities worth noting. You can just borrow a canoe and paddle along.The rooms are good. The beds are OK. Some rooms have a stunning view (try go for the ones with a sea-view)
What else??
Well - if you want a nice fancy and modern hotel with all the nifty stuff, this is *not* the hotel. If you want to be able to stroll into a town. This is not the place.
But if you value good food. An off-beat location. Nice people. Relaxation. This is definitely the place.
To see something on the island?: Just ask the reception, they will help you hire a driver & a guide. It is definitely worth it. A lot of possible tours can be bought.
The island is not larger than you can drive all over the place in a few hours.

Only 4 out of 5? The breakfast some days tended to be (ahem) somewhat "experimental" / reduced, and the (complimentary) wi-fi was at times a joke. And this is not the place to bring children.

Besides that - I would definitely go there again, if I ever get a chance! No doubt about that!!

(And dear traveler - please remember, this is Africa - if you want luxury and all that, stay in the main-cities, don't stray to the real parts - but if you are OK with nice people and friendly service in general - this is the place).

Room Tip: Go for the sea-view suites. Absolutely worth it. Do not miss out visiting the Stone-town. Remember...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a garden room. It had no view but as far as we were concerned it didn't matter as Langi Langi has a great deck area for dining, sitting or lounging/sun bathing. And it's only metres to the beach. At high tide you can access the beach via adjoining properties, or use the garden pool. The bar is quite limited and there is no alcoholic drinks/wine list. This is pretty basic information for a bar/restaurant and really should be available for customers. The menu on the other hand is reasonably extensive and interesting. Service is about par for Tanzanian restaurants.
Our room was clean and comfortable with a/c, an overhead fan, good hot water, a fridge and a comfortable bed with mosquito net. Staff, with a couple of exceptions, were helpful and willing, and the manager went out of his way on several occasions to assist with problems. Wi-fi worked very well in the dining area, but only once the manager has personally logged you in - and sometimes he can't be found. Also, be aware that there are no ATMs outside Stone Town so either bring cash for your expenses or be prepared to be charged in USD on your card at the island exchange rate! Overall, a really nice place to relax, especially after a visit to Stone Town.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The review is only for their restaurant and not for the hotel. Ate here two nights of the three and was impressed with the level of food and service. The quirky humour of the place and the ambience were an addes bonus. Try the buddhist curry if you can manage a bit of spice.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here on the first floor (try and take a higher floor for better beach view) in Sear facing suite. The room is nice, the shower area is good too and so is the food at Langi Langi. The people are very hospitable and friendly. I am a vegetarian so I mostly had to stick to their pizza (which was very nice) and some other salads (very nice), etc. But my friend tried a lot of sea food and meat and she liked all of them too. Just watch your bill! They invariably added some items to our order (perhaps by mistake) or increased the total etc, so be careful and cross check your bill before paying.

Room Tip: Higher floor have better ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langi Langi Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langi Langi Beach Bungalows

Address: Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nungwi
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#10 Family Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LangiLangi Beach Bunaglows is located in Nungwi, Zanzibar. The hotel has got a total of 34 rooms which are Standard Garden Room, Pool Room, Seaview Suite, Marhaba Suite and Royal Zanzibari Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Langi Langi Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langilangi Beach Bungalows Hotel Nungwi
Langilangi Beach Hotel
Langilangi Beach Resort All Inclusive
Langi Langi Beach Bungalows Zanzibar/Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langi Langi Beach Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.