We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Humble & Homely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sazani Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sazani Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sazani Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   po Box 4200, Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Humble & Homely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Sazani was a great choice for me travelling on my gap year, more pricey than the obvious student appealing b&b's in the village, However worth the extra price, with amazing friendly staff, who make you feel like part of the family. I spent 10 days at the hotel and the time flew by before i'd even realized. the rooms are basic, clean and simple. Some issues with water pressure but what can you expect, you're in AFRICA. The isolated secluded beach offered the perfect opportunity for me to just chill, relax and reflect without being hassled, while close enough to the village so I could mingle with the other tourist. Staying at sazani makes you feel part of a international family, or your outgoing, adventurous, simple and want to embrace the culture of Zanzibar, while maintaining your privacy. Then Sazani is perfect for you, if your after the all inclusive resort, with minimal hick-ups I'd recommend one of the resort compounds or somewhere in Europe. Make the most of the island, and keep an open mind and you'll love Sazani. Also they have the best and biggest pool, however it is tidal. Be sure not to miss a Sazani sunrise to, they will cleanse you of all your problems.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    33
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
11
42
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is the perfect place to stay if you want to get away and hide from the outside world, it was first staying at Sazani Beach and I will definitely be going back. Beautiful beach and garden, clean rooms, helpful staff and nice food. There's a really friendly feeling about the place, highly recommended if you're the kind if person that wants to escape into paradise for a short while.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

As an experienced traveller it is a relief not to stay in a prison like hotel with a big wall and guards to keep us in buying overpriced drinks. My girlfriend and myself want to live here! Relaxed, great food and the most beautiful place we stayed on our 4 weeks in Zanzibar. No beach boys, lovely people, great coffee for free, they are not squeezing you dry- feels more like staying at relatives. You want DDT spray gardens with no bugs and subsequent staff dressed like and treated like monkeys- try the other hotels. You want birds, dragon flies, hotel iguana, fresh food and nice relaxed helpful people go to Sazani!

Room Tip: If you don't like the sound of the sea, cooling sea breezes, eating freshly caught fish, sand in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were a bit disappointed when we arrived at Sazani (I had read the reviews but I didn't think the place was so worn out) and saw the family bungalow that we had booked. The room itself was ok, very basic but ok. The beds were confortable. The bathroom was terribly worn out, when taking a shower you had water all over the bathroom. The sink and shower should be replaced. We had water problems several days but David, the manager, gave us a discount on our bill and we really appreciated his efforts in making our stay pleasant. He is very nice and helpful. We only had dinner once and lunch three times. You have to tell the restaurant in advance if you want to eat and they have two or three choices so it was easier to go to the village where you have more choices. The dinner we had was average and so were the lunches. the beach was nice and calm. If they make improvements and renovate the bungalows the hotel would be so nice but right now I think the rate is too high for what you get. A family room is 190 usd and that room is in bad conditions, especially the bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sazanibeach, General Manager at Sazani Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you Anna for taking the time to submit a revue on Sazani beach
We value honest ,constructive feedback and take guests experiences very seriously.

I can only apologise for your less than satisfactory stay here with us.
Unfortunately the problems with the water supply over the four days could only have exasperated things.The system simply could not cope with the demands placed on it by hotel being full to over capacity .This has been noted and We have prioritized upgrading the system during our maintenance program in May/June in readiness for the next really busy period over the European Summer.

Regarding your room ,this was the only one capable of accommodating four adults,and is also one of the 4 rooms that did not have chance to have its bathroom/wet room refurbished during last Monsoon seasons work schedule.
These works will be completed this wet season once again in readiness for the peak July/August period.
I do believe that it was the general condition of your bathroom that made it look as though it had not been cleaned properly,but I can assure you that it was cleaned thoroughly every day along with your room .

While I agree that eating in the Village restaurants does afford more choice and flexibility, I have to say in my experience the food in our restaurant is as good if not better than most in the village ,including the ones that I recommended to you. Unfortunately because of the nature of our service and the fact that we use fresh ingredients,we can only offer the 3 choices per meal including the vegetarian option.

I hope that this reassures you that we are addressing the issues that you have raised
Once again I thank you for for taking the time to do this.

Regards
David Lee
(Manager Sazani Beach)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdeburg, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We went there this spring because of the good reviews and the fact that the hotel was run by foreigners. However, it was all but a pleasant stay.

The rooms where alright, although a bit dirty and not maintained well - especially the bathrooms with broken tiles and shelfs. The power was turned off most of the time. We had to ask many times to turn it on and as soon as we had left the rooms, it was turned off again ... no chance to charge your camera or phone. The western (french?) owners/managers had left so we did not see them at all. Maybe that's the reason, why the local employes didn't seem to care much. Service was just horrible. Once, we waited 2 hours for a beer and 2 soda and asked 3 times. Their English was quite bad. Food was ok, 'though pricy compared to what we have experienced in 4 months within Tansania. We booked one snorkeling trip. The snorkeling itself was alright. However, lunch was at a really, really dirty beach without toilets and just piles of trash with cheap simple food. On the way back, it was low tide so they just dropped us off our bagbacks (with cameras) off a several hundred meters!!! away from the beach within a huge field of sea urchins. And the other guests (from places further away, like kendwa rocks) paid a lot less for the very same trip on the same boat. No group discount or anything! All together (high price, simple room, horrible service, lack of electricity and the bad excursion) basically sums up to a waste of money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sazanibeach, Manager at Sazani Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We were just as disappointed to read your review as you appear to have been from your stay. Our rooms are clean, simple and quality checked daily. In our ambition to be as sustainable as possible we do not have or provide the services that other hotels do, such as AC or a pool and we do not promote our selves as a luxury getaway. We have both European and Zanzibari management and Zanzibari staff, who are often praised for their hospitable nature. With the exception of our trainees all or front of house staff speak English so I am confused again by your review. One of our managers is always present and would have assisted you there and then if they had known about your issues. Your snorkeling experience is nothing to do with Sazani Beach as all providers are independent and I'm not sure why you have used our review to complain about that. If we do not know a guest is unhappy we can not address the issue and I wish you had made us aware when you were at the hotel and not 9 months later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The room is very humble. There's no AC, but the fan works really fine. It was amazing sleeping with the sounds of the tidal hitting the stones. It was the best beach that we've visited in Zanzibar, such a peaceful place for those who want to rest all day long. The hotel is located around 3km until the best point to appreciate the most beautiful sunset! You can have a nice walk until there (if the tide is not high).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Staying at Sazani was great. Although a bit disappointed at first given a few run down parts, the staff quickly made us feel welcome. You won't get the luxury hotel feel, but you will get a great beach free for beach boys and other people trying to sell you things; staff that makes you a part of their "family"; and plenty of hammocks for relaxation while overlooking the picturesque azure water. David in particular was great and even took us to a local bar the last night. Most of the food was pretty good given the price (especially the curries). Good atmosphere when several guests share a larger dinner table.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sazani Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sazani Beach Hotel

Address: po Box 4200, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sazani Beach Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel like a castaway at our 10 room beach lodge, a perfect paradise for beach lovers, kite surfers and divers. An oasis of calm just five minute taxi ride from Nungwi's busy strip of music bars and hotels. Our bungalows are designed in a traditional Swahilli style with coconut thatch roofs in a tropical garden setting, each with a sea view and sandy path down to our secluded pristine beach and the turquoise ocean. Stay with us and help us to develop our sustainability ethos to be an environmentally and socially responsible hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sazani Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sazani Beach Hotel Zanzibar/Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sazani Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.