We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sazani Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sazani Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sazani Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   po Box 4200, Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Belfast
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spent 5 nights here in late Feb 2013, the hotel is situated in a beautiful location looking over the ocean with a fantastic sunrise in the morning. The rooms were basic and clean and the food fresh (if a little slow).

It's the perfect place to go to escape and relax to get away from it all (though there is WiFi in the reception if cant let go completely).

There's plenty to do if you don't want to just chill out - scuba can be arranged as can massage and the village is only 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    33
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
11
41
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I spend 10 days (too short!) at Sazani during February 2013. Perfect location! Beautiful, tranquil, private and only 20 minutes' walk away from the hustle and bustle of Nungwi village. My room was basic, clean, authentically decorated, spaciously comfortable with a seaview. The tides create a constant change of scenery and determine the activities for the day. Food, although basic, was always fresh and deliciously prepared. And according to my own personal survey – Sazani makes the best Pina Coladas in the area!
Nikki (the manager) and her very friendly staff are the heart and soul of Sazani. Thank you Nikki, for making me feel so welcome and creating this very homely atmosphere, connecting people, leaving us with beautiful memories!

Room Tip: Did not see other rooms inside, but mine(no. 9)was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 nights and completely chilled out, the hotel was just outside the local village about 15mins drive which suited us great as you didn't get anyone harnessing you on beach. Also they had security patrolling, which being two girls made us feel very secure. Our breakfast every morning was fab we got fresh juices made to our tastes and fresh pancakes if we wanted which were amazing! They had great menu for lunch and dinner which we took advantage of most nights. Rooms were basic but had everything you needed and were cleaned everyday, very little bugs too. The view from this hotel blew us away, its really something to have sipping over your beverage at sundown!! The manager Nikki was very friendly and helped us do some tours and advise us on local restaurants etc her yoga was very popular too. If I was coming back I'd be staying here again, it was brilliant value for money and the staff were lovely which just makes ur holiday so much better!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deinze, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is the perfect place to disconnect en to rest in quietness.
We stayed at this hotel the second week of January 2013.
The hotel is well placed with a fantastic view of the Indian Ocean.
Its build in a nice traditional style architecture.
The actual manager, Nikki is very nice and relax. The staff is really friendly.
The daily maintenance is mainly good. Room, paths , beach are daily more or less cleaned.
It's a pity that the infrastructure is old and not maintained.
Beds are to short (about 185 cm). Rugs, mosquito nets, bathrooms, cousins, are old and not really clean and looks like not replaced in years. What cost a rug in Zanzibar? Maybe 10 dollar? This is not a big investment and it would make such a difference!!!
Breakfast is nice, with nice omelet and coffee.( The best we drunk in Zanzibar) but again sugar pot is not really clean and not well maintained etc, etc.
One only evening we had dinner there. The food was cold, de spinach where full of sand. No good for the price!!!
And nevertheless if we go back to Zanzibar I would probably go back to Sazani beach to stay.
We only missed what the name Sazani means (Swahili for "a bit extra"), but we enjoy sun, rest and beach, without shouting Italians or Polish people around. Note that I have nothing against italians and polish people, yes against shouting people in nature. It's a pity but you find those in other places in Zanzibar.
One last thing: go now to Zanzibar, because I think that in a few years its going to become the new Ibiza. I hope not!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I was very disappointed by Sazani beach hotel. Not because I had high expectations because at the rate charged you don't expect the Ritz. The disappointing thing for me was that the basics weren't attended to. The bathroom in our room was absolutely filthy. They come in and tidy the room every day but Idon't think they heard of bleach or other cleaning products. The restaurant served a decent breakfast but was overrun by flys which further indicates the lack of cleaning products. As other reviewers have noted the lunch and dinner is not worth having as it takes so long to be served and you are a decent taxi ride to find something else to eat. Probably the worst bit of all was seeing how nice Ras Nungwi (next door) was in comparison. Power outages are common (i.e. every night) and this hotel does not have a generator which means rooms can resemble dark saunas. The beach itself is beautiful and this place could be great but just isn't.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sazanibeach, Owner at Sazani Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Im really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at Sazani Beach.

We are a small family run beach lodge and yours is the first review since 2007 that has complained about cleanliness or the quality of our food. Our website provides an honest portrayal of our hotel and our drive towards sustainability.

We do not claim to be a 4 star resort and Im not sure why you compare us to Ras Nungwi, which one would hope have a different standard of facilities, as their rooms and meals are 4x the price of ours.

Everything we serve and prepare is fresh and sourced locally . The cuisine is a fusion of spice island and european flavours. We do not have an a la carte menu, instead a changing menu of daily specials. While we cannot please all tastes, we cater as best we can for dietary requirements and specialise in seafood.

With regard to power fluctuations, the hotel is in the process of relying on solar power rather than the mains that as you have witnessed is unreliable. There are two generators as back up but at 3am in the morning, on an outgoing tide when the sea breeze it at its stillest, we will have made a judgement call as to whether or not to start them and wake everyone as noise is so much louder at night or not. Obviously the wrong choice was made from your perspective.


That said, if you were so unhappy with everything, why was nothing said to the General Manager, who as an amazing chef in her own right as well as running as tight a ship as possible in Zanzibar, would have done her utmost to make your stay a more pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at Sazani for a week in december and had the best time. The rooms are simple, but very charming and clean. Small things like when we arrived and the staff had placed beatiful flowers on the bed and elsewhere around the room, just made the difference. The included breakfast was great and had everything you could wish for.

The location of Sazani is superb and the beach right outside the hotel is probably the best around nungwi - we didnt see any stretch of beach next to the other resorts or in nungwi that came even close!

The manager Nikki was very sweet and attentive and a great yoga teacher as well. She helped us plan visits to Stone Town, arranged diving trips and together with the rest of the stafff, who were also fantastic, made sure that we had great week at the hotel.

Go there and experience it for yourself - we only have the highest recommendations for this place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

If you are reading this review than you have probably figured out that Zanzibar is a fairly expensive place for accommodation. I chose this place based on the price, reviews and promise of a private beach and it delivered all this and so much more. The current manager Nikki is a carefree & vivacious Irish woman who also teaches yoga (upon request) for a small fee overlooking the beautiful private beach. The whole island is fairly busy with loads tourists, as we were two 30 something couples, we wanted some privacy and we got it here...although the main town is only a 20-30 min walk along the beach in low tide or a 10 min taxi ride, which costs about $10.00. The rooms are clean and a great size with fairly comfy beds (keep in mind most of Africa have harder mattresses unless you are staying in luxury hotels). Each bed has a mosquito net (although I didn't notice many bugs) and they are all covered in lovely clean white linen. The bathroom shower pressure is hit or miss, but it gets the job done! The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast (which is included) is great, they provide free coffee & tea all day & a fresh fruit plate as a starter then a choice between 3-4 breakfast options which are served plated. If you chose to eat at the hotel for lunch and/or dinner make sure you order it in advance usually right after breakfast, otherwise the wait can be really long if you don't order in advance (ie: 60-90 mins). This is because they are a little short staffed and have to prep everything well in advance. Every time we ate here the food was good sometimes excellent. I would also recommend the resort next door (the the right of Sazani, 2 min walk on the beach) for lunch (however dinner is usually full as it is reserved for their guests, we got turned away for dinner). Also if you decide to go in to town then make sure you have the lobster at Paradise or the curry at Lang Lang! Enjoy you stay!

Room Tip: Make sure you try a morning yoga class with Nikki Book a snorkel full day trip with the resort next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sazani Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sazani Beach Hotel

Address: po Box 4200, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sazani Beach Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel like a castaway at our 10 room beach lodge, a perfect paradise for beach lovers, kite surfers and divers. An oasis of calm just five minute taxi ride from Nungwi's busy strip of music bars and hotels. Our bungalows are designed in a traditional Swahilli style with coconut thatch roofs in a tropical garden setting, each with a sea view and sandy path down to our secluded pristine beach and the turquoise ocean. Stay with us and help us to develop our sustainability ethos to be an environmentally and socially responsible hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sazani Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sazani Beach Hotel Zanzibar/Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sazani Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;