We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We missed "Sazani".” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sazani Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sazani Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Sazani Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   po Box 4200, Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Deinze, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We missed "Sazani".”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is the perfect place to disconnect en to rest in quietness.
We stayed at this hotel the second week of January 2013.
The hotel is well placed with a fantastic view of the Indian Ocean.
Its build in a nice traditional style architecture.
The actual manager, Nikki is very nice and relax. The staff is really friendly.
The daily maintenance is mainly good. Room, paths , beach are daily more or less cleaned.
It's a pity that the infrastructure is old and not maintained.
Beds are to short (about 185 cm). Rugs, mosquito nets, bathrooms, cousins, are old and not really clean and looks like not replaced in years. What cost a rug in Zanzibar? Maybe 10 dollar? This is not a big investment and it would make such a difference!!!
Breakfast is nice, with nice omelet and coffee.( The best we drunk in Zanzibar) but again sugar pot is not really clean and not well maintained etc, etc.
One only evening we had dinner there. The food was cold, de spinach where full of sand. No good for the price!!!
And nevertheless if we go back to Zanzibar I would probably go back to Sazani beach to stay.
We only missed what the name Sazani means (Swahili for "a bit extra"), but we enjoy sun, rest and beach, without shouting Italians or Polish people around. Note that I have nothing against italians and polish people, yes against shouting people in nature. It's a pity but you find those in other places in Zanzibar.
One last thing: go now to Zanzibar, because I think that in a few years its going to become the new Ibiza. I hope not!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    36
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
12
46
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I was very disappointed by Sazani beach hotel. Not because I had high expectations because at the rate charged you don't expect the Ritz. The disappointing thing for me was that the basics weren't attended to. The bathroom in our room was absolutely filthy. They come in and tidy the room every day but Idon't think they heard of bleach or other cleaning products. The restaurant served a decent breakfast but was overrun by flys which further indicates the lack of cleaning products. As other reviewers have noted the lunch and dinner is not worth having as it takes so long to be served and you are a decent taxi ride to find something else to eat. Probably the worst bit of all was seeing how nice Ras Nungwi (next door) was in comparison. Power outages are common (i.e. every night) and this hotel does not have a generator which means rooms can resemble dark saunas. The beach itself is beautiful and this place could be great but just isn't.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sazanibeach, Owner at Sazani Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Im really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at Sazani Beach.

We are a small family run beach lodge and yours is the first review since 2007 that has complained about cleanliness or the quality of our food. Our website provides an honest portrayal of our hotel and our drive towards sustainability.

We do not claim to be a 4 star resort and Im not sure why you compare us to Ras Nungwi, which one would hope have a different standard of facilities, as their rooms and meals are 4x the price of ours.

Everything we serve and prepare is fresh and sourced locally . The cuisine is a fusion of spice island and european flavours. We do not have an a la carte menu, instead a changing menu of daily specials. While we cannot please all tastes, we cater as best we can for dietary requirements and specialise in seafood.

With regard to power fluctuations, the hotel is in the process of relying on solar power rather than the mains that as you have witnessed is unreliable. There are two generators as back up but at 3am in the morning, on an outgoing tide when the sea breeze it at its stillest, we will have made a judgement call as to whether or not to start them and wake everyone as noise is so much louder at night or not. Obviously the wrong choice was made from your perspective.


That said, if you were so unhappy with everything, why was nothing said to the General Manager, who as an amazing chef in her own right as well as running as tight a ship as possible in Zanzibar, would have done her utmost to make your stay a more pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at Sazani for a week in december and had the best time. The rooms are simple, but very charming and clean. Small things like when we arrived and the staff had placed beatiful flowers on the bed and elsewhere around the room, just made the difference. The included breakfast was great and had everything you could wish for.

The location of Sazani is superb and the beach right outside the hotel is probably the best around nungwi - we didnt see any stretch of beach next to the other resorts or in nungwi that came even close!

The manager Nikki was very sweet and attentive and a great yoga teacher as well. She helped us plan visits to Stone Town, arranged diving trips and together with the rest of the stafff, who were also fantastic, made sure that we had great week at the hotel.

Go there and experience it for yourself - we only have the highest recommendations for this place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

If you are reading this review than you have probably figured out that Zanzibar is a fairly expensive place for accommodation. I chose this place based on the price, reviews and promise of a private beach and it delivered all this and so much more. The current manager Nikki is a carefree & vivacious Irish woman who also teaches yoga (upon request) for a small fee overlooking the beautiful private beach. The whole island is fairly busy with loads tourists, as we were two 30 something couples, we wanted some privacy and we got it here...although the main town is only a 20-30 min walk along the beach in low tide or a 10 min taxi ride, which costs about $10.00. The rooms are clean and a great size with fairly comfy beds (keep in mind most of Africa have harder mattresses unless you are staying in luxury hotels). Each bed has a mosquito net (although I didn't notice many bugs) and they are all covered in lovely clean white linen. The bathroom shower pressure is hit or miss, but it gets the job done! The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast (which is included) is great, they provide free coffee & tea all day & a fresh fruit plate as a starter then a choice between 3-4 breakfast options which are served plated. If you chose to eat at the hotel for lunch and/or dinner make sure you order it in advance usually right after breakfast, otherwise the wait can be really long if you don't order in advance (ie: 60-90 mins). This is because they are a little short staffed and have to prep everything well in advance. Every time we ate here the food was good sometimes excellent. I would also recommend the resort next door (the the right of Sazani, 2 min walk on the beach) for lunch (however dinner is usually full as it is reserved for their guests, we got turned away for dinner). Also if you decide to go in to town then make sure you have the lobster at Paradise or the curry at Lang Lang! Enjoy you stay!

Room Tip: Make sure you try a morning yoga class with Nikki Book a snorkel full day trip with the resort next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel is located about 20 minutes walking from Nungwi and it was good for us to relax far from the noise. The cottage we got didn’t have A/C only a fan, so be aware of this, since during December Zanzibar is really hot. Cottages are simple, nice and small, compared with hotels in other beaches from the same range.

Nikki, the manager is really kind and helpful as well as the whole staff. Food is good and breakfast quite simple, however if you want to order a la carte dishes and more variety, you rather go to a restaurant in Nungwi , since they prepare a day menu (lunch/dinner) for everyone. You can also have a complementary coffee/tea during the day. It combined perfect with a book in a hammock in front of the ocean.

The only big issue was power. We had long power shortages, so it became a problem when you need at least the fan to work.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed in the family room for 4 nights, it was a beautiful location with rustic furnishings. The beach is right on the doorstep, and we felt it was far nicer beach than the main touristy area of Nungwi- the hotel is around a 25minute walk to the main centre. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful especially after having stood on a sea urchin - emergency treatment of papaya was given!!

A lovely breakfast is included - fruit, eggs, fruit juice and toast. You can order lunch and dinner however we felt the choice was a little limited and overpriced. There is lots of choice for food in the town - about a £4 taxi ride in.

Overall we loved our stay at sazani, you can relax on the hammocks next to the turquoise sea and really relax. We would definitely go back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here during 4 weeks from mid October to mid November 2012. We were partly holidaying and partly working. We have travelled widely around the world for work and and pleasure, experiencing everything from Intercontinental look-alikes to flea-ridden hell-holes in S.America. This has to be one of the best places we ever stayed at. It is by no means grande-luxe and its charm and attraction is its simplicity and attention to the needs of guests. Created on a slope leading down to the sea, the cottages and public rooms have a fantastic view over the Indian Ocean. Early morning tea arrives with a smile. The menus don't provide a great range of choice but the food is well-cooked and plentiful. Nikki the manager is a great Yoga teacher and early morning Yoga by the ocean is a great experience. All the staff are attentive and put themselves out to ensure you have a good time. It's relative isolation from Nungwi is an advantage if you are looking for a peaceful time rather than nightclubs. But it is not that far into Nungwi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sazani Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sazani Beach Hotel

Address: po Box 4200, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sazani Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel like a castaway at our 10 room beach lodge, a perfect paradise for beach lovers, kite surfers and divers. An oasis of calm just five minute taxi ride from Nungwi's busy strip of music bars and hotels. Our bungalows are designed in a traditional Swahilli style with coconut thatch roofs in a tropical garden setting, each with a sea view and sandy path down to our secluded pristine beach and the turquoise ocean. Stay with us and help us to develop our sustainability ethos to be an environmentally and socially responsible hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Sazani Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sazani Beach Hotel Zanzibar/Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sazani Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.