We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sazani Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sazani Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sazani Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   po Box 4200, Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 hotels in Nungwi
Arusha
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A beautiful place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I had a wonderful 3 night stay at Sazani and was so impressed with the staff who really went out of their way to make it a lovely experience. It's not a good place to stay if you have trouble with steps but once on the beach it is gorgeous and very isolated. Thanks to the "boys" who walked us along the beach at night so we could enjoy Nungwi night life. I loved the hibiscus decorating the bungalow when I arrived-a nice touch. The food was great!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    32
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
10
39
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed in two hotels in Nungwi (Amaan Bungalows with a group trip and Sazani). By far, Sazani was perfect. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. We did not get to meet the famous Nikki because she was not there when we stayed, but Bokari and Mwanzi were both incredibly hospitable and lovely.

The hotel is on the quieter side compared to some of the others, but the busier west side of Nungwi is very close and accessible if you choose to venture out. Also, Sazani's beach was less affected by the tides in comparison to the west side of Nungwe when we stayed at Amaan.

Each morning we had delicious breakfasts with homemade jams and fresh mixed juices that were out of this world. The jams were so amazing that I asked the kitchen if they could sell us a couple jars to take home with us.

This is not a huge luxury resort. Rather, it is a quiet and quaint oasis that you will find total relaxation (another tip is the massages, which I did not take but my two friends who did raved about).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Me and my three friends had a really good time at Sazani!
Paradise beach, lovely rooms and a great host (Thanks Pippa) - everything for a great value.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I just stayed here for one, perfect night... it's a gorgeous setting, on a better (prettier, sandier, more private) beach than the other hotels in the area, with delicious food, a private little bungalow where I fell asleep to the sound of the waves -- and the price is right. We had a driver pick us up at the airport and then take us to Stonetown for an hour or two. If we'd had more time, it would have been nice to see more of Stonetown, but once we got to the Sazani Beach Hotel, we wanted to spend all the time we had there...

The manager, Nikki, is fun and knowledgeable, too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed at Sazani Beach Hotel with 3 colleagues. We couldn't have been happier with our choice! The food was excellent and the beach was amazing.

Unlike many of the (much pricier) hotels further north, the beach in front of Sazani has plenty of dry sand even during high tide. (At other hotels the water reaches all the way to the rocks, leaving no beachfront.) Having walked all the way around the western to eastern side of the northern peninsula, Sazani truly has one of the best beaches around. We found no need for a/c in the rooms.

The rate was unbelievably affordable especially compared to other hotels.

Nikki was also a very attentive, considerate hostess.

YOu won't regret staying here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I came here last year and returned this spring with my boyfriend. It was just as peaceful, beautiful, and relaxing as I'd remembered. Sazani's owners and manager are working hard to make the property environmentally low-impact, which is a rarity on Zanzibar with huge resorts. The staff goes out of their way - we got an impromptu free cooking class after my boyfriend commented how much he loved the calamari. Highly, highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I came here after 2 weeks of volunteering in Arusha. It was perfect! A quiet gem off the beaten path of the center of Nungwi. There are several other resorts around it but if you don't want to leave you don't have too! They can arrange day excursions and tours if you like. My biggest decision every day was where to read my book. The owners are wonderful hosts and are doing great work in the Zanzibar community. Its affordable, has wifi, good food, a great little bar, and really nice guests. The rooms have nets, ceiling fans and are simple but comfortable. The beach is just steps away and you are far enough away that the salesman do not bother you. I cannot wait to return here!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sazani Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sazani Beach Hotel

Address: po Box 4200, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sazani Beach Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel like a castaway at our 10 room beach lodge, a perfect paradise for beach lovers, kite surfers and divers. An oasis of calm just five minute taxi ride from Nungwi's busy strip of music bars and hotels. Our bungalows are designed in a traditional Swahilli style with coconut thatch roofs in a tropical garden setting, each with a sea view and sandy path down to our secluded pristine beach and the turquoise ocean. Stay with us and help us to develop our sustainability ethos to be an environmentally and socially responsible hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sazani Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sazani Beach Hotel Zanzibar/Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sazani Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.