We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PARADISE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est to your Saves list
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nungwi Road, Nungwi 2019, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NORTHAMPTONSHIRE
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“PARADISE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel. I am one of the fussiest people
ever and I couldn't find any faults with this hotel. Hotel is spotlessly clean, food delicious, staff are so helpful and friendly and the location is perfect. My husband and I will definitely be returning.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    158
    52
    20
    16
See reviews for
148
397
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kosice, Slovakia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

About 60 km far from Stone Town in Zanzibar island is placed a wonderful hotel Diamonds La Gemma with beautiful beach, pool, garden, restaurants and very good service. The quality of food is very good and various and with the buffet style you can combine different foods and try the taste.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

The most racist hotel I have ever been to. Inspite of a group of 100 people attending the wedding at la Gemma I noticed that the whites were getting a priority especially in the dining room where I literally had to wait 30 mins for a glass of juice

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at La Gemma,would definitly recomend this resort.
We enjoyed the sunset lounge and sheesha bar very nice,they can just improve on the quality of live entertainment.but overall a nice holiday resort.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We spent our honeymoon there in Nov-2012. Fantastic hotel, super-friendly staff and brilliant facilities. Although buffet style food in the restaurant, we never felt we were charter tourists - quality of food was excellent and fresh, and the variety huge.

Best beach I have ever been on. Like a giant hot tub. Correct that, that would be the pool. Ocean is just magical. We would go back in a heartbeat! Be sure to take the all-inclusive option!!

Room Tip: The higher up the better the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Let me first point out the positives of this hotel: it's clean and has a nice beach. The bartender Masoud (at the pool) is wonderful and attentive and makes the best cappuccinos. That's it. Now, let me gather my thoughts for the negatives: first of all, the food is horrible. Every meal is served buffet style and there is lots of food but nothing actually edible. We spent New Years here and were terribly disappointed. Under cooked calamari and langoustines, stale desserts, and beef and chicken dishes that were way too salty. This is everyday ...not just NYE. About the only thing they do well is Indian food and there is little of that prepared. We ordered 4 different bottles of wine only to discover they were out of ALL. This took about 45 minutes for the waiter to relay this information to us. The seafood restaurant that is supposed to be the best on the island was €900 for 7 people ( including wine) and every dish was overlooked and it took 45 minutes to receive the food. We paid for the wine and the manager removed all food from our bill. Service is very slow throughout the hotel. There is no wifi in the rooms, at the pool or jetty bar. Wifi is only at the reception way at the top of the hill. Very inconvenient. The music/ dj is horrible!! He plays nothing fun or current and it's a sure bet that it will cause you to leave the jetty bar or fall asleep as he plays ballads and 80's theme music from movies. We actually asked him to hook up our iPod and play that instead. He played 1 song and went back to his St Elmo's Fire soundtrack music. The manager, Morkle, is polite but seems indifferent to any suggestions, questions or advice about the resort or island. Pool is full of kids and this resort is pretty much all families.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skillman, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We spent 6 days in this resort after 6 days of safari in Tanzania. The venue is beautiful, gardens are extremely well maintained, pool is beautiful and with salt water, and the beach is not affected by tides which is great and not the case everywhere else in Zanzibar. Food is really excellent and various in the main restaurant. However, the restaurant at the pool for lunch time is not great, but it is great for dinner with excellent pizzas.
Rooms are bit too small for the new standards and furniture is a bit outdated but still very clean and well maintained.
The 2 main concerns for me: old and outdates equipment for watersports, especially windsurfing but it seems this is going to be solved soon with brand new equipment, and the wifi is not stable and not strong enough is the rooms.
Overall we have had a great experience and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est

Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi 2019, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within exotic tropical gardens and water features inviting guests to enjoy the pristine view over the Indian Ocean, Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est is located on the north-western shores of the magical spice island of Zanzibar. This enchanting, luxurious and environmentally friendly resort is famous for its magnificent beach and large wharf built onto the open waters of the Indian Ocean and stretches out towards the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Splendia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds La Gemma Dell` Est Hotel Zanzibar
La Gemma Dell Est Zanzibar
Gemma Del Est
Diamonds La Gemma Dell' Est Zanzibar/Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.