We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicer resorts I've been to in Zanzibar.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nungwi Road, Nungwi 2019, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 hotels in Nungwi
tanzania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the nicer resorts I've been to in Zanzibar.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at LaGemma in May 2013. Staff were helpful and knowledgeable and the facilities were good. The only negative was the distances to get around the resort, but I believe a shuttle may be requested from reception whenever one wishes to go anywhere.

All in all a great stay and will definitely consider going back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    335
    124
    45
    16
    13
See reviews for
105
325
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

After a Safari in Kenya, this hotel was the perfect place to escape to and RELAX. We were impressed the minute we arrived by the gardens, seating area where you met with a very refreshing drink and friendly staff. When we arrived at our room, we were soo impressed by the decoration with the flowers, our beautiful fruit basket and a bottle of champers! We then opened our sliding doors to an incredible view of the sea, gardens and pool. We couldnt get enough of the view, the perfect place to watch the sunrise and sunset :)
The food was very delicious with lots of choice. The staff were all incredibly friendly, we enjoyed learning to speak the language, and our waiter would teach us a new word/sentence each day.
They had a themed night, with the drums and dances, this was fantastic too.

Only thing to watch out for was the crows, they were very sneaky :) My husbad left his book on the sunlounger and when we came back one has started ripping out the pages, we learnt very quickly to hide it under the towel after that. They also might take a sneaky sip on your drink when your not around lol.

This was our little bit of paradise, we cant wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Nice gardens, huge territory. Bungalows are actually shared between 4 guests, but spacious rooms are fully separated and secluded private patio with sea view adds to your privacy. But you naver have a chance to enjoy all these, as on beach holidays people usually hang out on the beach Lol
Gardens and beach are well maintained. Water is crystal clear. No one swimming in the sea (all the guests prefer to chill in the pool or nearby). Wi-fi is everywhere except for the room (which is quite motivating in all aspects). Pizzeria is nice and shisha bar as well. Pavillion menu (as everywhere outside a-la carte) gets boring after 2 days.
Have an onsite dive shop.
Very pricey. Otherwise, fantastic.

Room Tip: choose sea view bungalows down the hill - quite a walk to the restaurant, but more quiet and tranqui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband and i travelled here on our honeymoon. We had already been on a all inclusive Safari in Kenya so the bar was set quite high. The hotel itself was quite impressive after driving through shanty towns to get there. The greeting area and gardens were really nice, bedrooms were a complete let down. Very old fashioned and just not as luxurious as i expected. The Mosquito net over the bed was very dirty and our rooms werent cleaned / freshened up until the late evening. Our bed nearly broke our backs, the mattress was very bad.The gardens and beach are maintained to a very high standar which was nice. The restaraunt in the Pavillion was very nice but all meals get very monotonous there. Criossants were often rock hard. Being a hotel by the sea i expected to see alot of fish on the menu, prawns and calamari were the only fish on offer in the while 7 days we were there. The pizzeria on the beach was extremely nice and we enjoyed dinners down here the most, it was mainly Italian style. I was very disapointed as the restaraunt that everyone most wanted to go to (the one out on the sea) was not included in the All inclusive deal. We did have one meal there complimentry as we were honeymooners but it was a complete let down. The menu was fantastic but way overly priced, when the waiter realised we were there as "honeymooners comp meal" we were given the most basic dinner. Ourselves and another couple were so disapointed and hungry that we headed off to the Pizzeria afterwards !! At the pizzeria if you wanted to sit on the sand slightly nearer to the ocean you had to opt for the other non inclusive menu which i thought was very bad. I also found that there was absolutely no where to go for a snack or bite to eat bewteen 17.00 - 19.30. This was quite inconvenient. The only entertainment at night was a D.J who played a few karoke songs in the Pavillion. The spa was nice but after going twice i cancelled appts as i found that it was quite cold there and you didnt really get that pampered feeling from it. Staff at this hotel were helpful and friendly.Security was great and we felt very safe. Overall we had a nice time here but i dont think it was worth the money we paid compared to other resorts like this one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My partner and I stayed here in February of this year. It was suggested by a friend in the safari business. I have been to Zanzibar before and stayed at some very nice hotels but this one is the tops. Beautiful everything and mother nature provides the Indian Ocean for all day swimming in crystal clear water. It could not have been better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We travelled with two children aged 10 and 12. They had a wonderful holiday, as did we. We were after a relaxing stay at a hotel that catered for kids. There is visual security at all perimeters, which meant that we let the kids have the run of the place while they stayed together. They were treated well by all staff, as were we.

While some warned us that we were going at the leading edge of the monsoon season, the afternoon showers were brief and very welcome! The hotel was not full to capacity, but the resort is spacious in any event in terms of beach space and pool size.

The food was of a high standard and there is more than enough variety available, even if you stick to "in-package" food venues.

A special "thank-you" to the housekeeping staff who decorated our beds each day- the girls loved the artful decoration of petals and flowers that changed every day!

Don't hesitate to choose this venue.

My only (very minor) cautions:
- you are in the far North, so trips to Stonetown take at least an hour over poor roads. We only took one trip, so for us this was not a great problem.
- shower in our room was in-bath. Not great, but functional.

Room Tip: If you're travelling as a family, choose a suite. We had a suite on the end of a level 2, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We honeymooned at this resort and had a great time. However the resort desperately needs to be upgraded to be true to it's billing as a 5 star facility. The bedroom was an utter disappointment - crummy fittings, old carpet and furniture and a strained bathroom. The bed was two singles pushed together, two duvets and foam pillows (yes, foam in a 5 star resort!!!) - i was told this is "standard" and i would need to have requested an upgrade (which i immediately did and this was changed quickly). The room is equal to a South African 3 star.

The "all inclusive" food and beverage option lacks real value. We were told that all beverages in the room fridge were included - great when it is water, coke, fanta and a local beer (only)!! They herd everyone into a standard restaurant to manage the food costs; the other restaurant (a pizzeria at the pool) delivers great pizzas but the entire menu has 3 meat items (including the ham on the hawaiian pizza! and the spicy sausage on another pizza), eat all the vegetarian pasta and pizza you want!

Breakfasts are disappointing and lack imagination (standard every day), the juices over watered and the croissants soft. Equal to a South African 3 star.

The rest of the food is well prepared but i would have expected more than the cheap South African wine offered as part of the "all inclusive" package.

The grounds are beautiful and the sea is great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est

Also Known As:
Diamonds La Gemma Dell` Est Hotel Zanzibar
Diamonds La Gemma Dell` Est Hotel
La Gemma Dell Est Zanzibar
Gemma Del Est
Diamonds La Gemma Dell' Est Zanzibar/Nungwi
Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi 2019, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Kendwa Rocks on NW coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est to your Saves list