We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est to your Saves list
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nungwi Road, Nungwi 2019, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Diamonds La Gemma is great. it is so beautiful and large.
We went at a quiet time of year and the hotel was not fully booked. i can imagine that when it is fully booked then it gets a little cramped and a bit much. but we loved our stay.
The food is incredible, especially the lasagne.
The staff are very friendly.
The rooms are large with a large garden at the back with beautiful views of the beach and sea.
We met some lovely people on holiday who we have stayed in touch with and still see a year later.
We had a fantastic time
The Safari Blue tour is a definite must!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    171
    56
    21
    16
See reviews for
164
428
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

La Gemma is wonderful although they could improve on food and activities. There are 4 different restaurants but only 2 are included in their Fully inclusive package. The other 2 are extra restaurants and totally under utilized. Food it a key experience in a foreign world and unless you are willing to pay extra you are limited to basic eurpoean food. Another aspect to improve are the watersports - again extra. The boats etc remain unused and dry on the beach when in fact these could give holiday makers thrills across the beautiful zanzibar ocean. The hotel remains wonderful and the staff friendly and a major highlight in our stay - however le Gemma could learn a thing or two from Mauritian resorts which all inclusive truly is all inclusive, waterskiing and all!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Large beautiful grounds surround this hotel which has a delightful pool complex right on the edge of the beach.
The staff are all excellent - always cheerful and extremely helpful.
The bedroom was very good, although my wife would have preferred a bath as well as the excellent shower.
The food is good but with only two restaurants available for the all inclusive price tag, one's eating options are limited to the main restaurant which is buffet style - breakfast, lunch and dinner- and the poolside bar/restaurant which has a very limited menu. The two other, pay, restaurants were empty most of the time we were there and so my own view is that the hotel would be better to scrap these and increase the offering in the poolside restaurant - a BBQ would not be difficult to arrange.
I would also liked to have seen some senior members of management walking around just talking to the guests but I didn't.
Having said all this, and having lived and worked in Africa, this is the best hotel I have stayed in in Africa - just a bit more effort and choice and I would have given it 5 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the recently refurbished rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Having read some disappointing reviews of La Gemma, we were not sure what to expect. The hotel is in a great setting and the gardens are beautiful and well maintained. It is a large site but we enjoyed walking through the grounds. (Buggies are available for those who do not wish to walk)
We received a warm welcome and were pleased to find that our room (on level 1), overlooked the beach and was well appointed and very clean.
All the staff were truly excellent - friendly and eager to help.
Buffet breakfast was situated in the main restaurant and offered plenty of choice.
The choice at lunch was either buffet style in the main restaurant or, our preferred option, in the beach bar with waiter service where the limited menu offered fish, sandwiches, pasta etc.(A couple of daily specials would be a welcome addition) The Swahili dinner on Friday evenings was good.
Although the staff were, without exception, excellent,we did not see the Manager at any time during our stay and felt that a more visible approach would be beneficial.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and felt that this was a four star hotel that with just a little thought and improvement, could be outstanding.

Room Tip: Rooms on level1 are closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

For Zanzibar standards quite a large hotel, but very well run by a Swiss company PLAN hotels.
Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful, accommodation excellent and facilities very good in a stunning location overlooking the Indian Ocean.
Restaurants were varied but although fully inclusive you still had to pay extra for two of the restaurants on the jetty.
Entertainment was good with an African feel to it and the weather was mid thirties just about bearable while we had minus temperatures back in UK with snow and frost. Yes I would return.

Room Tip: Don't go for the expensive lodges they are situated the furthest from the beach. Level 3 is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have just had a week in the Samburu & the Masi Mara on safari . It was the most fantastic holiday,

Our week in Diamonds was a very pleasant time , great food, good location, lovely grounds , very friendly, but they do have a problem with a very strong sulpher smell coming from the sea/ beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We spent five days here after a 9 day safari - the aim was to switch off and relax, not to see Zanzibar which we had done before. The place was beautiful, spotlessly clean, and very well staffed. The staff were the friendliest, and most helpful I have ever encountered, and the place never seemed crowded although it was at full occupancy. We stayed as a family, but would be equally happy to spend a few days there for a romantic couples break.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
1.7 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 18 in Nungwi
5.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
15.4 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#3 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 832 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Diamonds Star of the East
14.3 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#1 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 stars 896 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est

Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi 2019, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within exotic tropical gardens and water features inviting guests to enjoy the pristine view over the Indian Ocean, Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est is located on the north-western shores of the magical spice island of Zanzibar. This enchanting, luxurious and environmentally friendly resort is famous for its magnificent beach and large wharf built onto the open waters of the Indian Ocean and stretches out towards the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Splendia and Odigeo so you can book your Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds La Gemma Dell` Est Hotel Zanzibar
La Gemma Dell Est Zanzibar
Gemma Del Est
Diamonds La Gemma Dell' Est Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.