We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Zanzibar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est to your Saves list
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nungwi Road, Nungwi 2019, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Zanzibar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was a spectacular holiday and we will probably be back to Zanzibar very soon and we will definitely only choose La Gemma! We traveled to Zanzibar in August. The weather was perfect. The days were sunny and hot and the evenings were comfortable and never cold. There was definitely some over cast days but they never lasted. La Gemma has very helpful and friendly staff that look after your every need! The beach was clean and private! We were never bothered by beach boys unless we went on walks along the shoreline. They don't really bother you if they see you are not interested? The restaurants at La Gemma are amazing!! Such a treat! Especially the Beach grill and the restaurant on the jeti! Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner are always interesting and delicious! There is a huge selection and you will never go hungry! The Pasta Bar was our favourite! Everything about this hotel will make you never want to leave! Its an amazing holiday and you will want to come back every year!

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar and equal distance to restaurants and the beach. They all have the same vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    147
    51
    20
    16
See reviews for
133
372
8
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Whenever you plan a trip to Zanzibar, everyone keeps raving about La Gemma. So after all the hype, we went on to check this place out. The beach on high tide is phenomenal. The sand is crisp and clean (thanks to all the vacuuming).

This beach is up there with Maldives and Mauritius. However, the rooms are getting really run down. The bed is uncomfortable, the setting and lighting is darn right depressing and the restaurant is very mediocre. Like your Arabiata? Well you better, because that's all you'll be having! The menu is indeed very Italian heavy and so are the Tanzanian waiters (fluent in Italian and tend to give way too much attention to especially Italians).

I don't quite understand the management ethos behind this as any other race was pretty much ignored during my visit. Perhaps its all the Arabiata these folks are being fed?

Apart from the lack of discipline from the waiters, there were a few odd moments. Not that I am conservative but topless 60 year olds were the last thing I wanted my 3 year old to see in the middle of the beach (he already got enough brainwashing by all the Arabiata he had for lunch and dinner for 4 days).

In the end, La Gemma lies on a fantastic beach but really feels very run down. A little upgrade and a little less pasta and a home run is real close.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The entire hotel was amazing. The beach was great; normally the tide and currents are very evident in Zanzibar but not in this hotel's beach. The location of the hotel is very good and you can swim any time during the day regardless of the low or high tide.
The food and wines were amazing. There was an African night on Friday night and it was the best night of our entire vacation. Food, music and drinks were great. Include a Friday night to your vacation if you plan to stay in this hotel.
The staff in the bars and restaurants are incredibly friendly. The rooms have sea view and they are very clean. You have flowers all over you room.
Definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for four days following safari. Overall, the experience was nice. The food at the main restaurant was good (especially for a buffet 3x a day), and the pizza place (also included in our package) had a nice atmosphere. The pool is pretty but salt-water. The beach is big at low tide, small at high tide, but it seemed like one of the best in the area for swimming (many other hotels only had only low, rocky cliffs at high tide - not so nice). Be warned - there is not much to do here other than relax, and it's definitely a couples' kind of place. Excursions are tricky - we saw different quoted prices before coming, and it's probably worth googling a little before going on one to get the right price. We payed through the roof for a snorkeling trip that was advertised for a third of what we paid at a nearby dive center (that trip would have been with a group, but still). The same goes with the 'spice tour', which was nice but we probably could have gotten a better price from the tour agencies that work out of the hotel lobby.

Overall, I found the resort a little boring. Zanzibar as a whole was underwhelming (snorkeling not so great, beaches very narrow, hard to get around and explore from the resort areas). Also, no wifi in the rooms (although it's good in the lobby area, which is really beautiful). And the 'extra nice' cottages that are part of the complex are a little too snooty for my taste - we were told we couldn't walk in that part of the resort because that was the 'luxury part', or something like that.

In short - beautiful, probably worth your money if you are a couple that wants to relax, but quiet. Try and negotiate better prices on the excursions, because they can be quite expensive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veghel
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Been on many places , but this one is in the top 5 of the best , with service included butler service, wonderful food and a very nice spot.
The place looks big, but its build like if it is completely private, so you have all facilities without being masive. perfect place to stay, very friendly and a great service, nice clean rooms. the buffets are every 10 minutes fresh, the cooks are preparing it everytime fresh.
The sunsetbar is a great place for music and enjoying the evening. totally perfect place

Room Tip: Just go there and enjoy it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here after safaring in the Masai Mara and it provided the ideal place for rest and relaxation.

The resort is set amidst beautiful gardens and the room had a lovely view of the Indian Ocean. As we had a Club Villa room we had butler service for complimentary drinks, room service and laundry so I cam home with very little washing - definately a bonus.

There is a warm sea water pool which leads to a perfect white beach and the warm blue waters of the ocean.

The quality and choice of food in the all inclusive package was excellent and you also have the option of two alternative restaurants for an additional charge. The staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful, even remembering what you like to drink.

One tip I would offer which is not to do with the hotel but the airport - apparently it is a regular occurence that not all your luggage arrives at the airport when you do! so pack your cases to deal with this. Our case did arrive the next morning and this certainly did not spoli out holiday one bit.

Room Tip: If you can afford it have a Club Villa room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Had a wonderful stay - nothing but positive, beautiful place and great staff

Stayed for 6 nights after a safari in Kenya, perfect place for relaxing would come back

Good choicce of food and perfect beach / pool

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est

Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi 2019, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within exotic tropical gardens and water features inviting guests to enjoy the pristine view over the Indian Ocean, Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est is located on the north-western shores of the magical spice island of Zanzibar. This enchanting, luxurious and environmentally friendly resort is famous for its magnificent beach and large wharf built onto the open waters of the Indian Ocean and stretches out towards the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Splendia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds La Gemma Dell` Est Hotel Zanzibar
La Gemma Dell Est Zanzibar
Gemma Del Est
Diamonds La Gemma Dell' Est Zanzibar/Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.