We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flame Tree Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Flame Tree Cottages to your Saves list
Flame Tree Cottages
PO Box 1752 | Nungwi, Nungwi N/A, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here for four nights. Really nice hotel. Very peaceful and in a nice location away from the busy part of Nungwi beach but close enough to walk there each night for dinner!! The staff were nice, especially the owner. The,food wasn't the best (a bit salty) but we found most of Nungwi like this! The restaurant setting was lovely though. The cottages are basic but clean. I would recommend anyone to stay here.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    50
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
25
66
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Langley, B.C. Canada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Flame Tree Cottages are located right on the beautiful white sand Nungwi beach on the Indian Ocean on the Northern tip of Zanzibar Island. The cottages at Flame Tree are pretty basic in setup; bed, small desk and chair, mini fridge, well needed air conditioning and ceiling fans and bathroom with hot water shower. Each cottage has a patio with table and comfortable chairs. All the cottages are set in the lovely garden area that surrounds the pool. Very tranquil with the sounds of the palm leaves rustling in the breeze, birds chirping and waves as the tide comes in. We stayed at Flame Tree for dinner for a couple of nights; available at tables set up on the beach under twinkling lights. The setting can't be beat. Breakfast was served on our patio; very large quantity; more than we could eat. Wifi was available for purchase for a minimal flat rate cost. Staff were very friendly though seemed to direct us to the resident owners anytime we had a question as it seemed staff didn't understand or didn't have the answer. Location was central for exploring the small village of Nungwi and wandering the beach in either direction. To the west along the beach there are more hotels and it is somewhat busier and a little noisier.Lots of tours available for purchase along the beach or in the village.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Pretty good location and quick response from owners when needing to check on availability. However room wasn't quite up to par as there was an dubious brown mark on the wall, the bed coverlet was stained and there was a dead baby roach under the sheets. Pool was fantastic, but wasn't impressed with restaurant - had pasta with olive oil, garlic and chili one night and a salad on another day and both were mediocre. If rooms were ~$70-80 would be a better deal.

Room Tip: Had to buy wifi and get network key, but can use code on multiple machines as long as one at a time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodo, Norway
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed 11 nights at Flame Tree and enjoyed it. There really are no beach front or sea view bungalows, but you are anyway only a few steps from the beach. Flame Tree is located at one of the best parts of the beach in Nungwi, but still swimming there can be a bit difficult. At low tide there is little water left, and while we were there the wind and waves made swimming difficult at high tide. The beach is clean and spacious, perfect for a walk at low tide.
The constant wind gave a very pleasant cooling and kept any mosquitoes away through the whole stay.
The resort is part of the local fishermans village, and we enjoyed watching locals in activity fishing or hunting for octopus at the shallow waters inside the reef.
Our first bungalow, "Rose" was comfortable and to our expectations, and the honeymoon suite, the "Desert Rose" was excellent and spacious. Thanks for the unexpected upgrading to business class! A sufficient and tasty breakfast were served on our terrace every morning, but the dinners at the restaurant were of variable quality. We preferred Langi Langi restaurant.
We liked the staff, they were friendly, helpful and easy to interview about life in general at Zanzibar.
Remember to bring the cash you need when you go to Nungwi, the alternatives are inconvenient and expensive, unless you want to take a taxi for more than one hour each way to Stonetown anyway.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring MD
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Arrived at Flame Tree after 6 day safari in northern Tanzania. Very nice rooms and excellent location on the north shore of Zanzibar. We ate dinner in the restaurant each night and the food was quite good with many excellent specials each day. Breakfast on our veranda each morning was heavenly. We booked two snorkeling trips with the hotel - the first one was a bust with too many jellies in the water but the trip to Mnemba was fantastic. Only downside was the service - the staff weren't very friendly (few smiles) and English was spotty. This was a little problematic on the snorkeling trips.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

There are a number of good things about Flame Tree Cottages, including the nice owners and staff, the beach, the very good restaurant, and the setting of the cottages. Unfortunately, when we were there the generators kept breaking down, and there was essentially no air conditioning at night when it is needed most. It's also too bad they don't take credit cards. This means you need to take loads of cash along, and, since there are no safes in the rooms, this adds unnecessary stress. Given the rates I think more could be expected.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Came to Flame Tree after 3 days on safari in Masai Mara. Room "Desert rose" was perfect for a family, clean and spacious.
We did not find the staff very helpful, and everything took looooong time. Their English was not very impressive, and smiles were rare. We had prepaid dinner everything night, but ended up eating one of four another place (2 course dinner took minimum 2,5 hours...) There are many nice and good restaurants along the beach. Poolarea was nice ;)

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flame Tree Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flame Tree Cottages

Address: PO Box 1752 | Nungwi, Nungwi N/A, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flame Tree Cottages. A small 16 room beach hotel in a private garden. It is one of the newest developments at the quiet end of the North West Nungwi tourist area, which boasts some of the nicest beaches in Zanzibar. We are beachside & West facing for perfect sunset views & it's a close walk to numerous restaurants and bars of Nungwi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com and Odigeo so you can book your Flame Tree Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flame Tree Cottages Hotel Nungwi
Flame Tree Cottages Zanzibar/Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flame Tree Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.