We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply GREAT !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 1784, Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Skive, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply GREAT !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Outstanding resort on the northern end of Zanzibar. Beautiful location, excellent staff, and all activities you would expect at a top shelf sea resort. The best we have experienced in our worldwide travels.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    87
    17
    21
    12
See reviews for
74
221
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Ras Nungwi was our last stop after 2 weeks of safari in Kenya and Tanzania. It was exactly what we needed. Rest, relaxation and ocean views for a week. It was just amazing.
We had room 18 which was a waterfront chalet. When the tide was in the waves could splash up onto the steps. The room was huge and had both a fan and air conditioning. There was a mini bar with very reasonable prices (you could actually afford to use the mini-bar!) and a 1.5 litre bottle of water was provided every day. There was also a fruit bowl in the room that you could help yourself to. There was a safe for storing any valuables.
The room was exceptionally clean and the house keeping staff did a great job each day.
We found that while there were plenty of breakfast options, if you were heading to breakfast later in the morning a lot of food had run out. The team working at breakfast were not quite as organised as the team for other meals and when we asked for more of something (like pancakes) it took up to an hour to get them, and on two occasions they didn't arrive at all!
We had lunch on the man-made beach or in the shady rotunda each day from the a la carte menu. This had a lot of options and the quality was good. The beach staff were very helpful and happy to bring meals and drinks.
The dinner menu was a set menu (and like someone else has mentioned - lovely to have your meals brought to you after 2 weeks of buffet!). There were plenty of options and the menu catered to most tastes. The restaurant staff were very helpful but given we stayed for a week, we felt there was not a lot of warmth or any recognition of clients among the restaurant staff, which would be one of the few recommendations for improvement we could make.
We also had dinner on the beach on our last night. We suggest asking for this a few days in advance. It was lovely and added a nice touch.
The grounds were immaculate and were worked on every day. The pool was the perfect temperature, the man-made beach lovely and both were great places to spend time when the tide was in.
Then there is the real beach. The gorgeous turquoise colours - ahhh lovely! I could (and did) look at them all day. When the tide is out you can wander for ages and not get deeper than mid-thigh. We took our own booties, but if not you can use some from the dive centre as there are anemones and rocks in the water. The water is stunning no matter if the tide is in or out. We only encountered one person asking us to buy there key chains the whole time we were there - I think the resort security presence took care of this!
Rath the manager spoke to every hotel guest each day to ensure we were comfortable and had our needs met.
We enjoyed a couples massage and it was very relaxing - we would thoroughly recommend using the day spa.
We would be very happy to recommend the Ras Nungwi to anyone and would love to return here again some day! The perfect honeymoon location!

Room Tip: The chalets are very spacious and room 18/19 is as close as you can get to the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This beautiful resort is the ideal destination for true relaxation and escapism. My family and I stayed here for 8 days in September and feel we definitely made the right choice.

With it being a tidal island I was concerned about the lack of a beach during high tide but the resort has a solution to this with the ingenious man-made beach a level up - the perfect place to relax on a sunbed while daydreaming out to the lapping waves. Then at low tide the natural beach is stunning and ideal for a walk and a swim in the striking blue sea - the pool also provides another great alternative.

The staff were a real highlight, with each and every member of the team eager to help and continuously friendly. Little touches such as being brought a towel and cushion to your sun bed each morning, as well as being offered fresh fruit and biscuits each day, added to the experience.

Meals at the resort were consistently at a high standard (we enjoyed a steak that gave the likes of Hawksmoor in London a run for its money!) and there was enough choice to please everyone - generally a fish, meat and vegetarian option each night.

All in all, a fantastic stay. Thank you Rath and the team! :-)

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Outstanding resort on the northern end of Zanzibar. Beautiful location, excellent staff, and all activities you would expect at a top shelf sea resort. The best we have experienced in our worldwide travels.

Room Tip: Choose the superior cottage on the ocean where` the sea breaks onto the walkway at high tide. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

We have stayed in this beautiful hotel for the last week of our visit to Africa and I am sure we could not have made better choice. We booked the stay via Expedia and they messed up. On our arrival the reception staff and the manager made every effort to sort things out and treated us to free lunch while we were asked to wait. The matter was resolved in timely manner and everything was ready for relaxing time. As mentioned above we have stayed in stone town and Nairobi before coming here and non of the expensive hotels were nowhere near as good as this one. The manager (Rath) made daly effort to come and speak with the guests and ensure that they are well looked after and the food is their taste. The staff working in the hotel was superb, enthusiastic about delivering high quality customer service and it was amazing to see the pride they take in their work. (I used to work in first class customer service industry and believe me I was impressed). The menu was set in a way that everybody had a meal they wanted. Fish/meat/vegetarian main dish to choose from every day for dinner, two starters, soup and choice of pudding/fruit. Yes staying here is not cheap but it is worth every penny. The hotel is situated short walk from the nugwi fishing village on one side and nothing on the other so it pleasantly quiet and nobody is bothered by people walking on the beach and trying to sell you things. The only think I can say it thank you Rath and your team for looking after us

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

I spent a wonderful week with my teenage sons and husband here. The staff were friendly and courteous and very happy to help. Rath, the manager, went out of his way to make us feel at home. The white sands and extraordinary turquoise water was stunningly beautiful and so warm. The boys dived in and out of the waves in the late afternoon while we sat at the beach bar and had margheritas. We were very sad to leave.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

This is one of our favourite hotels ever. Ras Nungwi is set in a stunning location, on the northern tip of Zanzibar, with a pristine beach and azure blue sea. The hotel has been beautifully designed, and is peaceful and low-key. The staff is exceptional.

We stayed for five days and the rest and relaxation was just what we needed after a week's safari. Our three children (12, 10 and 6) loved it as much as we did. In addition to the beach, and a small terrace of loungers and hammocks one level above, there is a refreshing small swimming pool, tennis courts, table tennis and pool table to while away a few hours (not to mention good WiFi - something the children were very excited about!).

We stayed in interconnecting rooms, with a wrap round terrace, which was ideal for us, however, there are lovely chalets too, some with beautiful views over the sea.

The food was superb. It was lovely to be served a meal (two choices per course - and four courses available) at the table, after all the buffets we had on safari. The fish dishes were particularly good. Samir, the chef, took us to see the morning's catch one day (huge yellow-fin tuna and red snapper), and nothing was too much trouble for the children's dinner - there was a children's menu as well as the normal menu to choose from (not to mention waffles and chocolate ice-cream one morning!). Our son celebrated his 10th birthday whilst we were there, and was given a truly wonderful birthday to remember. I won't spoil the surprise, should anyone else be celebrating their honeymoon, anniversary or birthday whilst they are there!

Rath, the manager, was excellent. He did several rounds of the hotel a day to chat to guests and check everyone was happy, and personally came to greet and say farewell to every set of guests. It was a very nice, personal touch.

The dive centre at the hotel is superb. The older children took advantage of a free diving lesson in the pool with Darren, and loved it so much that we arranged several more lessons with him. We also went on a fabulous snorkelling trip. Darren was wonderfully helpful with the children, and towed our youngest (6) on a ring so she could snorkel comfortably.

Note for families: the hotel provided wet suits and diving shoes for all of us, but it would be useful to take beach/diving shoes for smaller children (under size 12 shoe) for protection on the beach and also rash vests for everyone. Zanzibar is so near the Equator that the sun is extremely strong.

Room Tip: You should ask if you specifically would like a sea view, as not all chalets have a sea view. The ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel

Address: PO Box 1784, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#1 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ras Nungwi is a small and luxurious hotel and spa situated on a breathtaking beach on Zanzibar's northern tip. The professional on-site watersports centre offers diving, fishing and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.