We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 1784 | Nungwi Peninsular, Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Nungwi
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little slice of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at ras nungwi after climbing kili and doing a safari. We found it a bit difficult to decide on an area to stay in Zanzibar as there was not a great deal of consistent and thorough information out there but we finally settled on nungwi, as it was supposed to be quieter than some of the other areas but still with great diving, beaches and hotels. we are so glad we chose nungwi and ras nungwi in particular!!

What can I say about ras nungwi that has not been said before. From the moment we entered the gates we truly felt relaxed and in paradise! We were greeted with an ice tea and warm welcome by bakari, the manager, who showed us around. We chatted to him throughout our stay and he genuinely seemed to enjoy his job and was warm, intelligent and friendly!

Our garden room was beautiful with a giant bed canopied by a mosquito net. The room was filled with boganvillia flowers. The bathroom had a big sink, flushing toilet and great shower with hot water and lots of lovely toiletries.

The pool area, man made beach and sitting areas were all welcoming and well thought out. The tides are really unusual in nungwi. Whilst we were there is was generally low tide in the morning, when you could walk all the way out to the reef and high tide was when the water lapped the rocks of the hotel during the late afternoon and early evening- although this changes all the time. The ocean water was spectacularly blue and warm and the hotel provided free booties to swim in the ocean as there are sea urchins and rocks.

The food at ras nungwi was spectacular and the chef Samir was super passionate about fresh produce, fish sustainability and was generally very warm and welcoming. We chose to get breakfast only - instead of full board- so we could have the flexibility of lunch and dinner elsewhere, although most of the time we ate at ras nungwi anyway. You can walk along the beach at low tide and there are lots of hotels and restaurants along the beach but I thought our hotel looked the most inviting!

We also did a refresher diving course in the pool and a dive on the nearby reef, which was great and convenient as ras nungwi has a padi centre on site.

The amenities were excellent and the hotel has been well thought out. the wi fi was excellent in the communal areas and the staff were wonderful. During the day the staff would walk around with freshly baked cookies and fruit!

We would definitely recommend ras nungwi and would stay again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden area which was lovely. The ocean rooms looked lovely too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    93
    18
    22
    12
See reviews for
79
244
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent 4 nights at Ras Ningwi and really enjoyed it.

The pool and beach are great. Excellent large rooms and bathrooms. The staff deliver professional, very helpful and friendly service.

The food is outstanding, cooked by the excellent and enthusiastic Samir and his staff. The fish dishes in particular were super fresh with great flavor combinations.

We only went for one dive, but the dive center was well equipped and the staff there were very helpful and fun as well.

Everything was really well thought through and executed seemlessly. Great job! This is how it should be done in my opinion.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our stay at Ras Nungwi, was an interlude between the busyness of Nairobi and the various safaris we were doing in Kenya.

What a pleasure it was and it certainly fulfilled all our expectations of a coastal delight. We changed our booking from a Garden View room to a beach-side cottage and felt it was well worth the additional expense. From our verandah we had fantastic views over the ocean with its magnificent turquoise colours and the bright-white of the sand.

The room was fabulous! Lots of space, cool breezes through the louvres and a great big bed that was oh so comfortable to sleep in. The bathroom was well fitted out and we were very happy with the room's other facilties as well.

The staff were just wonderful -so friendly and welcoming. Smiles and Greetings everywhere. Many of them have been there for a long time and we thought that there was a true sense of community among them. They were just plain good fun.

We were spoiled with a beach dinner which was just fantastic and the staff dancing with us was just the icing on the cake. I love how they announce dinner every night with drums and some of the staff dancing. Fun!

The food was fabulous thanks to Samir's cooking and also that of his sous-chef James who won an award while we were there (http://rasnungwi.com/wordpress/2013/09/15/ras-nungwi-chef-wins-competition/).

Samir visits each table to chat and see if people are happy with the food and he's a real character so we had lots of conversation and laughs. I have some food allergies and Samir and the team had made sure I was catered for at each meal. There was always a choice of menu at each meal so people could pick and choose what they felt like, but I also knew Samir had made sure I knew there was nothing that would cause me problems.

We did the day snorkel/dive trip and while my phobias stopped me snorkelling I couldn't fault the team. The rest of our party who did snorkel had a great time thanks to David and his team, as the whole process is run very professionally, and safely.

I had a relaxing pedicure which just lasted and lasted. It was quite blissful just sitting on the verandah in the breeze while being pampered.

One of the things I especially liked about Ras Nungwi is the ready availability of shady nooks to be outdoors. Aussies are much more sun-smart (apparently) than others so it was a treat not to have to go inside to avoid risking sunburn. The pool was fine and there didn't seem to be many people actually using it though it was a quiet time.

Among the wonderful staff we'd like to especially acknowledge Juma at the Jahazi Bar; Mary, Grace, Roger and James (Bond) among the wait-staff; Sharima at the pool and David and Sherifu from Aquarius Divers. I've probably forgotten to mention some of the staff who looked after us, but we can honestly say we found them all so very helpful and friendly.

If there was a downside it was being too relaxed and lazy to venture to Nungwi other than briefly on the last morning. Do talk to Samir about when to go and check out the fish auction and tie it to the tide times.

Thanks to one and all for a fabulous stay...memories to last, especially of the happy staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Serenity in Africa. At low tide, you may be able to walk out 500 meters; at high tide the waves crash the wall in front of your lounging beach. Service and food very special. A very comfortable finality if you have spent time in Africa ... which for the record I love.

Room Tip: Get A room facing the Indian Ocean is worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at one of the superior chalets in Ras Nungwi for 4 nights. The room was very large, very clean and had an extra large king size bed . The bathroom was spacious equipped with all the necessities. The service in all areas of the hotel was unsurpassable. The buffet breakfast choices were one of the best and lunch and dinner options, although limited, were very fresh, nicely presented and delicious. The music in the common area was very relaxing, we even had a wonderful live band playing in the DR on Sunday night. The common area had very comfortable sofas, great lighting, bar service and a very relaxing atmosphere. Thank you Shawn, asst manager, for taking care of our flights. The hotel has fantastic security and all the staff went out if their way to make our stay extra special. The hotel is about 1.5 hour drive away from the airport and about an hour drive away from Stone Town. There is a fishing village within walking distance to the hotel and miles and miles of white sand beach ( at low tide) along the coast. We definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday away from the noise and hustle bustle of the city. Thank you to the hotel management, and all staff for your wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Service, food, accommodation, friendliness, hotel amenities all 5-Star. Absolutely superb hotel and the staff make it worth coming back to. Great management - Roger and Werema were so attentive to us, and such friendly and obliging staff like Mborack on the beach, and Steven, Mary, Grace, Harriett were all amazing to us. Ras Nungwi exceeded all expectations, and they went the extra mile to ensure our total satisfaction.
My wife and I had the most enjoyable and romantic beach holiday ever, and we felt as if we were on our first Honeymoon and not 21st Honeymoon

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are the best, so upgrade yourself to the rooms-with-a-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had an absolutely excellent honeymoon at Ras Nungwi. There is nothing that could have made it better. The staff have thought of everything to make your stay perfect. The customer service and food is out of this world. The housekeeping staff were friendly and surprised us each day with petals on the bed. We took advantage of the fantastic spa and water sports centre, both run very professionally. The hotel is set in such a beautiful place, we would definitely love to go back one day! The beach is on your doorstep, the nearby village is only a 15 minute walk away and the hotel will arrange any excursion you wish. The staff laid a table on the beach for our last night and the staff sang and danced around our table, it was a night we will never forget.

Room Tip: We had the superior chalet, absolutely wonderful view and the biggest bed we have ever seen!! Cleane...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel

Address: PO Box 1784 | Nungwi Peninsular, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#1 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ras Nungwi is a small and luxurious hotel and spa situated on a breathtaking beach on Zanzibar's northern tip. The professional on-site watersports centre offers diving, fishing and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel Zanzibar Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.