We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss at Ras Nungwi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 1784 | Nungwi Peninsular, Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Nungwi
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bliss at Ras Nungwi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

After we finished our 8-day safari on the Tanzania mainland, we relaxed for 3 days at this wonderful hotel. The quiet location on the beach, the intimate atmosphere, great setting of dining room, cozy beach front area, very nice lobby with various sitting areas and games, the great food in the open air restaurant, and the wonderful, very friendly staff, helped make our stay a great experience. We did not have a beachfront room, but found that it wasn't necessary. We spent all our time in the inviting common areas.

Room Tip: We had a very nice room behind the similar beach front rooms, but found that we didn't miss out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    93
    18
    22
    12
See reviews for
82
246
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Upon wrapping up 10 days of climbing Kilimanjaro and rattling around safari in the Serengeti, I arrived at Ras Nungwi and was enveloped in luxury and impeccable hospitality. The assistant general manager set the standard of excellence as he showed me around the property and ensured I was comfortably set up. The beach is heavenly, the food outstanding, and the staff very attentive. I will be sure to return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

HUGE thumbs up. My wife brought me here for a surprise 40th birthday, and this place really did not disappoint: beautiful setting, romantic candlelit dinner on the beach, comfortable setting with lots of little nooks and crannies to curl up in, attentive service throughout. A special shout out to the chef, Samir, who served up 5 star fare and was a delight to chat with. The man really needs a cooking TV show!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Perfect Beach for couples, romantic suite on the beach! Nice local cuisine! Parasailing, diving, diving with dolphins.. warm sea water with golden sand.. nice beach bar.. direct flight to Darusselam via Turkish Airlines..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

From the moment of arrival to our departure, the staff, from the front office manager to the ladies cleaning the beach, provided us with exemplary service. Chef Samir met with us everyday to review his highly creative and quality menu and to see if he could make it even better for our tastes - it does not get any better than that. The room was spacious with quality amenities. After 10 days tenting it on safari, this was the perfect location to recover and prepare ourselves for reality and the long trip home. The property is spacious and overall is very well maintained.
There were many activities to occupy our time aside from enjoying the beach style area in front of the ocean. Make sure you are on the beach for the serving of fresh fruit in the morning and the biscuits (cookies) in the afternoon. We took a sunset cruise which was a brilliant finish with a very entertaining young crew one evening.
Unike most rides from an airport the trip in Zanzibar is very interesting especially if you have a good driver/guide who is knowledgeable of the people and the island.
This a truly wonderful place, difficult to believe you could not have a good visit.
Richard & Lori E.

Room Tip: If you can afford it take an ocean view room - it adds to the magic of your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great place to avoid crowds and noises, probably the most relaxing place I stayed in! Great friendly and helpful staff. Food is just perfect, dinner each night was like an adventure. We've done snorkeling and diving with the hotel Dive centre, I used the spa and had a great massage, the local village is a short walk on the beach away and you can get bicycles to explore the area too. The room was spacious and clean and decorated each day with fresh flowers, however there is so much to see and do you will spend hardly any time in the room during the day. Would recommend this place for few days stay if you want to chill out and relax.

Room Tip: Definitely try snorkeling/diving at Mnemba Island Reef, amazing sea life!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I spent only one night at Ras Nungwi but it was well worth it. Not a place for young single people but perfect for couple and generally speaking people who don't like noise and crowds.
I booked a room with garden view (cheaper) but was given a room with ocean view (nicer) due to the low season. It could be worth it paying the extra. I haven't used too many of the facilities since I stayed only for 24h but the SPA was amazing, poolside dinner very enjoyable and generally speaking staff were extremely nice, helpful and friendly. There is free wifi in the common areas and free access to a computer. Good to see that you don't get charged nonsense money to print your boarding pass for example.
There is quite a lot of entertainment available (table tennis, darts, tennis, pool, tv room) and a outdoor activity centre (diving, etc).
Quality of rooms was amazing. Never seen a bed that wide.
Overall, a perfect romantic break. Cheaper than the Hilton so that you can spend your extra money on extra activities, etc.

Room Tip: You can fall asleep to the sound of the waves if you find an ocean looking view... Room 1 & 2 fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.6 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 18 in Nungwi
5.0 of 5 stars 380 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
15.9 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#3 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#5 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 725 reviews
23.3 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 145 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
1.6 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel

Address: PO Box 1784 | Nungwi Peninsular, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#1 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ras Nungwi is a small and luxurious hotel and spa situated on a breathtaking beach on Zanzibar's northern tip. The professional on-site watersports centre offers diving, fishing and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel Zanzibar Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.