We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sounds of the Indian Ocean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 1784, Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Nungwi
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sounds of the Indian Ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Wonderful place to go after a safari as the sounds of the ocean lull you to sleep. It is worth paying a bit more for he beach front cottages which have amazing views of the pristine white beach and the turquoise ocean. The bathrooms are a bit on the small side but the cottages are very clean and have little porches to have your morning coffee or a sundowner.
The food is exceptional; there is a South African chef who has a wonderful way with the very fresh fish and is very enthusiastic about local ingredients. The staff is friendly and helpful...tropical fruit and cooling towels brought around in the morning and afternoon as you loll on the beach.
This resort has a nice pool, relaxing beach , good dive centre and excursions arranged by the hotel. We lay on the beach for two days and then went to Stone town which is about an hour away. Our driver , arranged by Access 2 Tanzania ( our safari company ), took us on a drive of the villages in the northern part of the island explaining the vegetation, the culture and the political status of Zanzibar. We did a walking tour of hot, steamy but interesting Stone town with a guide and collapsed as the driver picked us up and took us to the friendly chaos of Zanzibar airport.
Do note that if you have a bank card with a chip , there are limited ATMs in Stone town especially when the airport ATMs are out of order. Cash is king in Zanzibar so make sure you have schillings or dollars.

Room Tip: Go for the beach front cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    269
    84
    17
    20
    12
See reviews for
67
215
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Helpful staff. Exceptional food. Management bend over backwards to be helpful which can backfire if guests take advantage and break the house rules.

Overall, a good 3 star hotel, with excellent food, convenient for the village (the only hotel in the area that allows non-residents access is Hotel Z).

Rooms are generously proportioned. The pool and beach areas are nice with staff providing free fruit pieces and eucalyptus scented cold towels on a regular basis.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patsch
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Wunderful place to a wunderful stay, beautiful lodge, friendly staff, very tasty food and stunning sea views. complete Paradise! A very well organized dive center with very friendly and very helpful boys.alle dives very well looked after. Very nice dive sites with coral and lots of fish

Room Tip: Please select a bungalow with Sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location on the northeast side of the island. I was told this is the "windier" side- it was nice and breezy, with mild, pleasant winds. The rooms were very comfortable. The food was delicious. There are diving/snorkeling services onsite, which was very convenient. Sunset cruises are also available, so you don't really need to leave the hotel to find excursions. It is a very relaxing place. Service was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Incredible stay, beautiful lodge, friendly staff, very tasty food and stunning sea views. complete Paradise! Thanks for having us, we didn't have time to do a snorkelling trip so we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This must be one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. The location is beautiful on a small white sandy beach. It is extremely well designed with beautiful gardens and walkways and social areas which encourage guests to mix but also quiet areas if you want your own space. The swimming pool overlooks the beach and was never busy. The sea had quite a surf when we were there but the breezes that created the waves also made the temperatures very ambient and kept the flying bugs at bay. Rooms are luxurious with large, comfortable beds, quality linen and nice bathrooms. The air con was most welcome. Food was a delicious, particularly the BBQ with lobster and steak amongst other delights available. The chef is excellent and very visible. Staff service is exceptional and we were very well looked after. However, what was exceptional was the service we received from the assistant manager, Shaun. He went out of his way to help us plan our visit, giving us advice and information well beyond what we would normally expect. Thank you. In respect to activities, the walk along the beach to the near village is a pleasure and you do not get hassled. There is also a Turtle sanctuary there , dhow building, and a cultural tour of the village is an option. We also went on a snorkelling trip to Mwemba island. Amazing fish but the coral was bleached and had little colour, although we saw signs of some recovery. It was very pleasant chatting to fellow guests and worth the long sail if only to see the incredible colour of the water surrounding Mwemba. Would we return to this hotel? Already thinking about it for next year!
Many thanks to Nick French of Tanzania Specialists for organising a superb holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon and were amazed during our whole stay! The staff is so friendly and accommodating and the grounds have everything you could need. We loved the fresh water pool overlooking the ocean, having drinks at the beach bar and lounging in the hammocks. There is also a water sports facility there where we were able to book a boat ride for snorkeling and diving. They also welcomed us with champagne and set-up an private dinner for us our last night. I would highly recommend staying here, our expectations were exceeded!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel

Address: PO Box 1784, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ras Nungwi is a small and luxurious hotel and spa situated on a breathtaking beach on Zanzibar's northern tip. The professional on-site watersports centre offers diving, fishing and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.