We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great ocean views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 1784, Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 hotels in Nungwi
1 review
“Beautiful hotel, great ocean views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location on the northeast side of the island. I was told this is the "windier" side- it was nice and breezy, with mild, pleasant winds. The rooms were very comfortable. The food was delicious. There are diving/snorkeling services onsite, which was very convenient. Sunset cruises are also available, so you don't really need to leave the hotel to find excursions. It is a very relaxing place. Service was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    265
    83
    17
    20
    12
See reviews for
64
213
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Incredible stay, beautiful lodge, friendly staff, very tasty food and stunning sea views. complete Paradise! Thanks for having us, we didn't have time to do a snorkelling trip so we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This must be one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. The location is beautiful on a small white sandy beach. It is extremely well designed with beautiful gardens and walkways and social areas which encourage guests to mix but also quiet areas if you want your own space. The swimming pool overlooks the beach and was never busy. The sea had quite a surf when we were there but the breezes that created the waves also made the temperatures very ambient and kept the flying bugs at bay. Rooms are luxurious with large, comfortable beds, quality linen and nice bathrooms. The air con was most welcome. Food was a delicious, particularly the BBQ with lobster and steak amongst other delights available. The chef is excellent and very visible. Staff service is exceptional and we were very well looked after. However, what was exceptional was the service we received from the assistant manager, Shaun. He went out of his way to help us plan our visit, giving us advice and information well beyond what we would normally expect. Thank you. In respect to activities, the walk along the beach to the near village is a pleasure and you do not get hassled. There is also a Turtle sanctuary there , dhow building, and a cultural tour of the village is an option. We also went on a snorkelling trip to Mwemba island. Amazing fish but the coral was bleached and had little colour, although we saw signs of some recovery. It was very pleasant chatting to fellow guests and worth the long sail if only to see the incredible colour of the water surrounding Mwemba. Would we return to this hotel? Already thinking about it for next year!
Many thanks to Nick French of Tanzania Specialists for organising a superb holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon and were amazed during our whole stay! The staff is so friendly and accommodating and the grounds have everything you could need. We loved the fresh water pool overlooking the ocean, having drinks at the beach bar and lounging in the hammocks. There is also a water sports facility there where we were able to book a boat ride for snorkeling and diving. They also welcomed us with champagne and set-up an private dinner for us our last night. I would highly recommend staying here, our expectations were exceeded!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We recently stayed at Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel for a few days after a great safari in Kenya and Tanzania. We had heard that a few days on the beach is just the thing, after the dusty, bumpy roads of a safari. We did a lot of research to find the best place to stay on Zanzibar, and decided on Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel - and we are SO glad we did! What a fabulous experience - right from the start, we received a warm, welcoming check-in, including fruity welcome drinks and a personal escort to our oceanfront room by the Front Office Manager (Marlize, I think her name was?) And things just got better as our stay progressed, as we enjoyed the pool, beach and beach bar, excellent dining, and unbelievably gorgeous surroundings. Everything was spotless - our room, the restaurants and public areas, the pool and beach, the beautifully landscaped grounds - and every member of the staff was unfailingly courteous and hospitable. There is such attention to detail - fresh flowers are everywhere, and we even had a "goodbye" message written out in flowers on the bed on the day we left (we had a late flight on our departure day, so we had taken an extra half-day - well worth the price (50% of the rate), as it allowed us to enjoy the resort all day until we had to leave for our flight at 6pm). Most of the property is blissfully quiet, allowing the sounds of the ocean and the cooling breezes to take center stage - the only exception is the bar in the main hotel, which has well-chosen background music playing softly, which adds to the low-key, classy ambience. A truly wonderful, relaxing end to our fabulous Africa vacation!

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe seaview chalet rooms - right on the ocean, beautiful views, and definitely worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pwani Mchangani, Tanzania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I came to Ras as a day visitor - wonderful !! a caring and lovely place with excellent interesting food .... adventurous food ..yes but quiet exciting .... thanks to the Chef ....on the downside ....for me a bit expensive for a local visit with my Family ..so not quiet locally orientated ,,,,but i do not care it was worth the money ! well kept and good caring waiters .....well done and i be back for this place ....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed in a private ocean suite after our safari. If you are looking for a "resort" feel, with little contact with local people, you may find this resort more enjoyable. The hotel grounds were well-kept, but felt synthetic. The ocean suite accommodations themselves may look impressive from the outside, but were very simple overall on the inside. We had some issues with housekeeping (with regard to thoroughness), which were addressed. Essentially, you pay a premium for the location on the beach. We were told by our travel agent we were there on full board, but on the last day we were told there was a "miscommunication" and we "exceeded our food allowance." Due to a language barrier I'm still not quite sure what happened, or what "allowance" we exceeded (since we were only eating our typical three meals per day, and not ordering extravagantly), but we did not feel we left on a good note because of this. The food was less than impressive. If you are a foodie, or have at least been exposed to good food, you will be very disappointed with the restaurant. If you are looking for better, authentic food, it is worth the trip to Zanzibar. The prices of the excursions are excessive. We went to the village so we could escape on several occasions, but there was not much to see. Though I can see how some people may think this resort is impressive, this is not the type of place I would recommend if you are seeking a satisfying, cultural experience during your travels. I wish we had stayed in Zanzibar instead, and I wish our travel agent had understood our tastes better. I've stayed at much more impressive resorts for the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel

Address: PO Box 1784, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ras Nungwi is a small and luxurious hotel and spa situated on a breathtaking beach on Zanzibar's northern tip. The professional on-site watersports centre offers diving, fishing and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.