We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 1784, Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Nungwi
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Everything is just perfect ! We stayed 3 nights in a wonderful bungalow in front of the sea.
The room was large and very clean ! The staff is very attentive. The food is excellent ! Quality everywhere ! A real 5 stars hotel. We'll come back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: The bungalows in front of the sea are amazing !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    269
    84
    17
    20
    12
See reviews for
67
215
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We booked a two week trip through Imagine Africa who arranged all our safaris and accommodation extremely well and efficiently

Rooms were large and we had two double beds together as one ! Bathroom was small and a bit plain. Actual hotel grounds were beuatiful with hammocks and a beach area. Staff were extremely attentive and food choice in the restaurant was good and quality of food was good. There is a diving school.

The downside of the hotel is that you are an hours drive from any attractions and that means costs of excursions are high.

However, we did do the $25 trip to the local village accompanied by the Restaurant manager, Roger, who was excellent. Throughly enjoyed visiting the village, watching Dhow making and the Turtle sanctuary.

Hotel is blisfully quiet and has a very clean infinity pool.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have a garden or sea view so check when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of days, and it was honestly too short. Lovely staff, lovely facilities, and a gorgeous beach. It's a few bumpy minutes from the main road, but that's the price you get for a quiet, and gorgeous beach front facility.

I honestly don't have a single complaint, except for maybe no WiFi in the rooms. But for the price, and for what you get, it's a negligible issue.

The rooms and air-conditioned, clean, and big. The bathrooms and quite nice, and there is mosquito netting (not that it was needed). There is tons of privacy.

I'd like to also mention that the massage therapist at the spa may be one of the best experiences I've had. I've had tons of massages, and she was definitely one of the best. And by far the best I had when I was visiting Africa. Highly recommend it.

Another thing, the owner (or GM?), Shaun(spelling?)--what an absolute legend. He really helped set us up with a few tours and things to do before we left Zanzibar. He also told us to go to Mari Mari in Zanzibar for dinner (sunset) and this was probably our favourite meal the entire time there. Gorgeous sunset on the very top of a historic building.

Pretty good food in the restaurant (the breakfasts were outstanding), and the in-house tour operation was good too. The snorkeling adventure at the Atoll was not as good as we hoped, but this had nothing to do with the hotel itself. Lots of games to play (ping-pong, pool table, darts, board games). There is a computer downstairs with internet access that is slow, but still very usable.

Best place we stayed at throughout our whole trip in Africa (1 month). Cheers to Ras Nungwi.

Anyhow 5-stars all the way.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Enjoyed the most relaxing, fantastic week here in Oct 2012 - cannot rate Ras Nungwi highly enough from location, staff, food and blissful bungalows to the most amazing sun rises! Spent a week here with a friend and we were treated like royalty - it's the personal touch to the stay that makes all the difference.
We had a bungalow with views of the Indian Ocean and cannot find fault with anything during our stay. The staff are welcoming and so friendly and a relaxing massage after climbing Kilimanjaro was just what the doctor ordered. Food was delicious and plentiful and I think we may have worked our way through the entire cocktail menu too! Free wifi in bar area too.
Out of this world!

Room Tip: The bungalows around the pool, overlooking the Indian Ocean are highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

By far the best hotel ive stayed at in Tanzania. The Ras Nungwi is exceptional in all categories from the great staff to the amazing food. I stayed there for 6 days. There were a mix of other travellers from honeymooners, to singles and families. The hotel is located on the end of the beach, great location very little traffic on the beach side, perfect for walks or runs along the beach in the morning or during the day if you can handle the heat. The staff makes sure all your needs are taken care of, I even got a spray bottle of cool water while tanning on the beach side to help cool off. They are great with setting up day activities such as snorkeling, diving, and other water activities. There is plenty of room to lounge by the pool, below on the sand deck or right by the beach. They have wi-fi in the main hotel area but not in the rooms. The bungalows are great, a/c, plenty of space, warm showers and comfy/clean beds. I highly recommend this hotel, you will not be disappointed but you may have trouble leaving after your trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed here last weekend and it was first class throughout. I've stayed at many places along the east coast before and Ras Nungwi really has excellent staff, delicious food, was so comfortable, and for sure has the BEST beach of all.

Room Tip: Superior chalets are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed at Ras for a week with a friend and did not want to leave! the bungalows, the set up, the view from the pool, the authentic nature of the place and the slice of beach were perfect! I also have to put in a special mention for the chef who cooked the most amazing dinners with local ingredients, and for catering for my friend's vegan needs no problem. The breakfast buffet was particularly good - everything you could wish for for breakfast was provided and more. I also have to mention the staff - from the reception staff, the gardeners to the managers - they were always on hand if you needed them and always 110% welcoming and friendly, and this really made my stay an experience that I will never forget. I would 150% recommend Ras Nungwi to anyone who wants to visit Zanzibar

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel

Address: PO Box 1784, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ras Nungwi is a small and luxurious hotel and spa situated on a breathtaking beach on Zanzibar's northern tip. The professional on-site watersports centre offers diving, fishing and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;