We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 1784, Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 hotels in Nungwi
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A little slice of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Enjoyed the most relaxing, fantastic week here in Oct 2012 - cannot rate Ras Nungwi highly enough from location, staff, food and blissful bungalows to the most amazing sun rises! Spent a week here with a friend and we were treated like royalty - it's the personal touch to the stay that makes all the difference.
We had a bungalow with views of the Indian Ocean and cannot find fault with anything during our stay. The staff are welcoming and so friendly and a relaxing massage after climbing Kilimanjaro was just what the doctor ordered. Food was delicious and plentiful and I think we may have worked our way through the entire cocktail menu too! Free wifi in bar area too.
Out of this world!

Room Tip: The bungalows around the pool, overlooking the Indian Ocean are highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    265
    83
    17
    20
    12
See reviews for
64
213
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

By far the best hotel ive stayed at in Tanzania. The Ras Nungwi is exceptional in all categories from the great staff to the amazing food. I stayed there for 6 days. There were a mix of other travellers from honeymooners, to singles and families. The hotel is located on the end of the beach, great location very little traffic on the beach side, perfect for walks or runs along the beach in the morning or during the day if you can handle the heat. The staff makes sure all your needs are taken care of, I even got a spray bottle of cool water while tanning on the beach side to help cool off. They are great with setting up day activities such as snorkeling, diving, and other water activities. There is plenty of room to lounge by the pool, below on the sand deck or right by the beach. They have wi-fi in the main hotel area but not in the rooms. The bungalows are great, a/c, plenty of space, warm showers and comfy/clean beds. I highly recommend this hotel, you will not be disappointed but you may have trouble leaving after your trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed here last weekend and it was first class throughout. I've stayed at many places along the east coast before and Ras Nungwi really has excellent staff, delicious food, was so comfortable, and for sure has the BEST beach of all.

Room Tip: Superior chalets are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed at Ras for a week with a friend and did not want to leave! the bungalows, the set up, the view from the pool, the authentic nature of the place and the slice of beach were perfect! I also have to put in a special mention for the chef who cooked the most amazing dinners with local ingredients, and for catering for my friend's vegan needs no problem. The breakfast buffet was particularly good - everything you could wish for for breakfast was provided and more. I also have to mention the staff - from the reception staff, the gardeners to the managers - they were always on hand if you needed them and always 110% welcoming and friendly, and this really made my stay an experience that I will never forget. I would 150% recommend Ras Nungwi to anyone who wants to visit Zanzibar

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have just returned to our home from 10 lovely days at Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel.Earlier we have been staying at other hotels in different places in Zanzibar, But there is no doubt that we consider this hotel to be the best. Especially if you look for a place to spend some time in quiet, peaceful, safe, clean surroundings close to the beach.
-Also picture the sight: The white colour of the beach, the tourquise and blue shades of the sea towards the horizon where you might see different shapes of white or grey clouds far out over the Indian Ocean and some dhows sailing in all winds like they have been doing for ages.
The hotel is very well organised and the staff maked us feel welcomed as if we were their special guests. The service from all the staff is excellent. We could also feel the friendly and positive atmosphere among the staff members themselves, We experienced the genuine Tanzanian hospitality during our stay.
The food at the restaurant is varied and very good..We loved the fish dishes from the varied menues in particular-! The fresh fruits offered several times during the day was very refreshing.
Twice a week two musicians from Stonetown entertained at dinner time with nice soft music, Other evenings the natural 'music' and the rythm of the ocean was always there to listen to.
We highly recommend a stay at Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel and would love to take our friends there with us some time.
Hope,Norway, Nov.24.2012

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I spent 6 nights at this place and had a really amazing time! I stayed in one of their bungalows, and the room was really beautiful, spacious, and loved the bed. They even come at night to get the bed ready and put the net down for you...

The pool is amazing, they have a ton of space to sit, work on your laptop, read, sleep, and the beach is spectacular! You don't get a sunset here (it's on the other side of the island), but the sunrise is just beautiful. I walked around on the beach to neighboring hotels, and Ras Nungwi has the best beach in the area by far.

The food was also amazing. They have really fresh food, and if you like sea food I suggest getting the catch of the day for lunch (they have different type of fish every day!). Dinner is a four course menu, and the chef was accommodating to making changes to some of the dishes. The best part is that the staff does a 1 minute dance with drums at the beginning of each meal to remind you to come eat. How much better can it get?

Something else that really stands out about this hotel is the staff. They are extremely friendly, humble, and very welcoming. Really kind people, and this made my trip very smooth.

Room Tip: Get the bungalows closer to the water, but everything is a minute walking distance. bungalows are q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just spent a week at this lovely resort and would absolutely recommend it. The resort is so lovely that we would leave our room in the morning and not return til it was time to get ready for dinner so I would recommend the garden rooms rather than spending extra money on the beach rooms.

There is a lovely breakfast buffet and after that we would wander past the pool to go to the loungers under the trees overlooking the incredible blue ocean. The staff would bring towels and pillows down to set up us for the day. Through out the day staff would wander by with trays of fruit, fresh baked cookies and spritzer bottles of water if you were feeling hot and needed to cool down! Totally spoiled us. There was a lovely little lunch bar overlooking the water where we enjoyed lunch and snacks during the day. The water was incredibly warm and the shore fascinating with hermit crabs, shells and coral. One reason I chose this place was it was reported by my fellow tripadvisors that you wouldn't be hassled on the beach and they were right. We were hassled a lot in Stonetown so we were very happy to be left alone. There was unobtrusive security and I am sure if there was a problem it would be looked after.

There was a huge lounge area filled with sofas where the excellent wifi was available for free. Some nights there were musicians who were very good. The staff would play on three drums and clap and dance for several minutes to announce that it was meal time. The staff was always friendly and helpful. My new friend the restaurant manager was thrilled to surprise us with a dinner under the stars down on the beach where we were also serenaded by the musicians, the restaurant manager and our lovely waitress Grace. The food was excellent, and I was surprised by how good the sushi was.

We enjoyed kayaking and the sunset dhow snorkel cruise. The snorkeling was a little cloudy but the sailing with Capt Snake was lovely.

I have absolutely nothing negative to say about this place and look forward to returning some day.

Room Tip: As you will be at the beach or pool all day, save your money and get a garden room rather than a bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel

Address: PO Box 1784, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ras Nungwi is a small and luxurious hotel and spa situated on a breathtaking beach on Zanzibar's northern tip. The professional on-site watersports centre offers diving, fishing and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.