We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute must.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 1784, Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 hotels in Nungwi
Victoria, BC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“An absolute must.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just spent a week at this lovely resort and would absolutely recommend it. The resort is so lovely that we would leave our room in the morning and not return til it was time to get ready for dinner so I would recommend the garden rooms rather than spending extra money on the beach rooms.

There is a lovely breakfast buffet and after that we would wander past the pool to go to the loungers under the trees overlooking the incredible blue ocean. The staff would bring towels and pillows down to set up us for the day. Through out the day staff would wander by with trays of fruit, fresh baked cookies and spritzer bottles of water if you were feeling hot and needed to cool down! Totally spoiled us. There was a lovely little lunch bar overlooking the water where we enjoyed lunch and snacks during the day. The water was incredibly warm and the shore fascinating with hermit crabs, shells and coral. One reason I chose this place was it was reported by my fellow tripadvisors that you wouldn't be hassled on the beach and they were right. We were hassled a lot in Stonetown so we were very happy to be left alone. There was unobtrusive security and I am sure if there was a problem it would be looked after.

There was a huge lounge area filled with sofas where the excellent wifi was available for free. Some nights there were musicians who were very good. The staff would play on three drums and clap and dance for several minutes to announce that it was meal time. The staff was always friendly and helpful. My new friend the restaurant manager was thrilled to surprise us with a dinner under the stars down on the beach where we were also serenaded by the musicians, the restaurant manager and our lovely waitress Grace. The food was excellent, and I was surprised by how good the sushi was.

We enjoyed kayaking and the sunset dhow snorkel cruise. The snorkeling was a little cloudy but the sailing with Capt Snake was lovely.

I have absolutely nothing negative to say about this place and look forward to returning some day.

Room Tip: As you will be at the beach or pool all day, save your money and get a garden room rather than a bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    265
    83
    17
    20
    12
See reviews for
64
213
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Look, the beach here is fantastic and if you must choose Nungwi, this hotel is definitely on the good side of the peninsula.

The hotel is situated on the east side of the peninsula which after visiting the other side on a day trip- is definitely the cleaner and more relaxed side. There are few hotels on this side in comparison with the over development of Nungwi village.

We were greeted very nicely with some juice and a towel and received a nice tour from the South African manager (all the high level staff are South African). We stayed in room 17 which was a shared bungalow at the top of the property but still in a decent location (this was 'the garden view).

This hotel was a bit too pretentious for us: lots of staff trying to sell you drinks and food, lots of expensive and overpriced activities to choose from and a disappointing (mosquito infested) breakfast. It just didn't feel authentic to us though the place itself is very nice. It's just too detached from the surrounding and island feel. I would also advise to book your own transportation as what the hotel offered was more than double what we were offered by drivers we met in Matemwe and Stone Town (keep their phone numbers with you)

The beach itself is lovely and there's a great lounging area with hammocks and comfortable beds. The pool seemed nice though we didn't use it b/c the beach is swimmable. We did have some gecko droppings and ants in the room but it wasn't all too bad considering the tropical surrounding.

The bed is very comfortable and you have an efficient air conditioner and ceiling fan. Internet was very good though available only in the main area.

Now for dinner: if you are not full board, you will have to pay. Because of its location, you cannot really venture to the other side of the peninsula where all the restaurants are so your options are limited at night. Dinners range from 25-35$ pp and on nights where they offer the seafood buffet, 45$ pp.

We chose to have a nice big lunch (choose the chicken japati!) and on another night to eat at the nearby eco lodge.

Room Tip: Their beach view bungalows are well located (though can get noisy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at Ras Nungwi for seven nights and had a wonderful time. The whole site is immaculate with a very high level of cleanliness. The location is simply amazing with very good accomodation and all you would want but............after a few days we wanted to get out and explore the area, that is not too easy!! As you might expect the hotel tries to provide everything that you would want, and by and large they succeed. I am sure this is bourne from a desire to offer the perfect holiday but perhaps also to maximise the revenue stream from each guest.
We did " escape" on a couple of occassions and were rewarded with more wondedrful beaches and a wide choice of places to eat.
However that is just us-we like to be free but it did not detract from our enjoyment there and as in everywhere else we went in Tanzania the people made our holiday. The staff at Ras Nungwi are truly amazing, we loved them all.

Room Tip: Have one with a sea view-breath taking each and every morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is a place to really get away from stress and modern life, yet you get a very good service and accommodation is very comfortable. It´s a lovely place to go with your family or as a honeymoon. As we were 3 friends looking for a little more action we had to go by taxi to nearby Kengwa every night, which was not a problem. Diving prices might be a little high and there are no options at the restaurant in case you don´t want to take a big meal before going to sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullahoma, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I recently took the most incredible honeymoon to the island of Zanzibar. We were absolutely blown away with this resort! The entire staff was attentive and hospitable, going out of their way to make our stay memorable! Upon arrival, the manager gave us a grand tour, ending at the deluxe suite we had been upgraded to without request! They had also prepared complimentary champaigne and an arrangement of local spices to welcome us! The beach was breathtaking, the service impecable, and the food remarkable! Our last night there, we were treated to a private candlelit dinner on the beach! We could not believe how perfect our stay at Ras Nungwi was, and are already planning to return soon! You will NOT be disappointed with this resort. happy travels :)

Room Tip: Pay a little more for the oceanfront bungalows...the views and relaxing sound of the waves make it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

If you love the cookie cutter familiarity of the global hotel chains, then Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel isn't for you. If, however you're looking for an individual hotel with its own unique feel and ever so slightly eccentric character, located in a utterly breathtaking beachfront setting, then you will struggle to find better.

Architecturally the hotel blends local style and building techniques with international comforts in a sympathetic way to create an elegant and relaxing environment.

The rooms aren’t overly featured, for instance there’s no in room TV or wifi, but there is AC and quaint colonial feel décor. To be honest, with the view out the front and the beauty of the setting, we didn’t even notice the lack of TV and our social media addictions were easily fed through free wifi in the communal areas.

Which brings me neatly on to the food…fantastic…the passion which the chef clearly has for creating fine food comes across at every meal. The choice is limited to two starters, mains and desserts, plus one soup at each dinner service, but there wasn’t a single dish that wasn’t first rate. Plus, my wife is vegetarian, the only one in the hotel when we stayed and chef went out of his way to prepare a different inventive, delicious starter and main course just for her each day.

The staff are welcoming and attentive and whilst they might not quite be up to the standards of a Western four star hotel they give it a damn good try and more than make up for any shortfall with the warmth of their hospitality and their smiles – they genuinely enjoy working there and it shows.

The onsite Dive Centre is a real bonus. These were the first dives we’d done since taking our PADI earlier this year and we were a little nervous about diving for real. The team looked after us superbly and the six dives we did over our week in Zanzibar were amazing.

The only thing missing for us was a gym, but with the diving, kayaking, swimming and walking along the beautiful un-spolit coastline, we didn’t really miss it.

Would we go back? Absolutely…in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Don't sweat it too much choosing between beach and garden views. We opted for garden view which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We spend a week in Ras Nungwi. One of the best places that we ever have been. The hotel is on a beuatifull garden on the top of the ocean. The place are amazing. Staff are great and the food is simply sublime.The rooms are great and with excellent conditions.

The dive center is very good and with an excellent location - on top of the ocean and in the garden. Staff are great and the dives are very nice and relaxing.

A place to came back again.

Room Tip: Garden view are great, but room with ocean view are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel

Address: PO Box 1784, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ras Nungwi is a small and luxurious hotel and spa situated on a breathtaking beach on Zanzibar's northern tip. The professional on-site watersports centre offers diving, fishing and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.