We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place! Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 1784, Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 hotels in Nungwi
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
“Great place! Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is a place to really get away from stress and modern life, yet you get a very good service and accommodation is very comfortable. It´s a lovely place to go with your family or as a honeymoon. As we were 3 friends looking for a little more action we had to go by taxi to nearby Kengwa every night, which was not a problem. Diving prices might be a little high and there are no options at the restaurant in case you don´t want to take a big meal before going to sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    265
    83
    17
    20
    12
See reviews for
64
213
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tullahoma, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I recently took the most incredible honeymoon to the island of Zanzibar. We were absolutely blown away with this resort! The entire staff was attentive and hospitable, going out of their way to make our stay memorable! Upon arrival, the manager gave us a grand tour, ending at the deluxe suite we had been upgraded to without request! They had also prepared complimentary champaigne and an arrangement of local spices to welcome us! The beach was breathtaking, the service impecable, and the food remarkable! Our last night there, we were treated to a private candlelit dinner on the beach! We could not believe how perfect our stay at Ras Nungwi was, and are already planning to return soon! You will NOT be disappointed with this resort. happy travels :)

Room Tip: Pay a little more for the oceanfront bungalows...the views and relaxing sound of the waves make it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

If you love the cookie cutter familiarity of the global hotel chains, then Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel isn't for you. If, however you're looking for an individual hotel with its own unique feel and ever so slightly eccentric character, located in a utterly breathtaking beachfront setting, then you will struggle to find better.

Architecturally the hotel blends local style and building techniques with international comforts in a sympathetic way to create an elegant and relaxing environment.

The rooms aren’t overly featured, for instance there’s no in room TV or wifi, but there is AC and quaint colonial feel décor. To be honest, with the view out the front and the beauty of the setting, we didn’t even notice the lack of TV and our social media addictions were easily fed through free wifi in the communal areas.

Which brings me neatly on to the food…fantastic…the passion which the chef clearly has for creating fine food comes across at every meal. The choice is limited to two starters, mains and desserts, plus one soup at each dinner service, but there wasn’t a single dish that wasn’t first rate. Plus, my wife is vegetarian, the only one in the hotel when we stayed and chef went out of his way to prepare a different inventive, delicious starter and main course just for her each day.

The staff are welcoming and attentive and whilst they might not quite be up to the standards of a Western four star hotel they give it a damn good try and more than make up for any shortfall with the warmth of their hospitality and their smiles – they genuinely enjoy working there and it shows.

The onsite Dive Centre is a real bonus. These were the first dives we’d done since taking our PADI earlier this year and we were a little nervous about diving for real. The team looked after us superbly and the six dives we did over our week in Zanzibar were amazing.

The only thing missing for us was a gym, but with the diving, kayaking, swimming and walking along the beautiful un-spolit coastline, we didn’t really miss it.

Would we go back? Absolutely…in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Don't sweat it too much choosing between beach and garden views. We opted for garden view which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We spend a week in Ras Nungwi. One of the best places that we ever have been. The hotel is on a beuatifull garden on the top of the ocean. The place are amazing. Staff are great and the food is simply sublime.The rooms are great and with excellent conditions.

The dive center is very good and with an excellent location - on top of the ocean and in the garden. Staff are great and the dives are very nice and relaxing.

A place to came back again.

Room Tip: Garden view are great, but room with ocean view are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We spent 7 nights at Ras Nungwi at the end of 2 weeks of travelling through Africa. Arriving down the bumpy track you're not quite sure what to expect.... we were not disappointed. The ocean front bungalows are spacious, airy, clean and have the most enourmous of beds! and all furnished in typical style. Sabir the chef has worked in many top restaurants across Africa and his food is both eye catching and delicious. The management and the staff are attentive, friendly and ensure that your every need is catered for. Little touches like fresh fruit mid morning (followed by cold flannels) and home baked buscuits in the afternoon all add to the charm & delighfulness of this hidden little gem. Whether you are spending one or seven nights at RN you are sure to come away relaxed & refreshed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Ras Nungwi is about an hours drive from the airport. To catch a cab costs about 80,000 shillings. It is on its own beach which has beautiful white sand if a little rocky. There is a great pool area overlooking the ocean and the staff bring you towels and fresh fruit/ juice all day and it is excellent for kicking back ad having a read. It has its own professionally run dive centre. I would recommend getting out Mnemba atoll. The water is nice and clear and warm, no wetsuit! As for the rom, I had a beach chalet and its worth paying the extra for the sea view. I was 23 steps to the beach, yes I counted. The food is really great, I opted for full board and was not disappoined in any of the food or service. Overall Ras Nungwi was a bit of paradise and if you stay here you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Get a chalet right on the beach. You can sit out the front and just stare out over the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

my husband and I stayed here from the 29th October 2012 for 1 week after a hectic week on safari, the setting is beautiful, the gardens glorious and the decor is very tasteful, not to mention the beautiful white sandy beach on your doorstep. The staff there are very friendly, our room was very nice and was kept clean to a high standard, I am a fussy eater so I didnt like some of the food but my husband liked everything but to give the chef his due when I asked if he could cook something else for me he did. First rate

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel

Address: PO Box 1784, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Family Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ras Nungwi is a small and luxurious hotel and spa situated on a breathtaking beach on Zanzibar's northern tip. The professional on-site watersports centre offers diving, fishing and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.