We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, relaxing place, remote location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 1784, Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, relaxing place, remote location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed at Ras Nungwi after a safari and two night stay in Stonetown. The grounds of this resort are meticulous and all amenities are well maintained and clean.
We upgrade to a beachfront room after one night. The bathroom was a bit larger which we found to be more suitable. The vanity for the sinks are quite small and the lighting is poor but otherwise the roms were comfortable.
We found the food to be disappointing although the chicken was excellent. Most of the chicken we ate in Zanzibar was inedible. There is a fixed menu for half boarders
like we were. The a la carte menu is somewhat overpriced but given the location and the price of gas, this is understandable.
We found the staff to be kind but maybe a little over solicitous. We were there at the end of the season and it seemed like there were too many staff for so few people staying.
One complaint. We were having dinner one evening with other guests. The dinner began at 8. At ten o'clock, the waitress told us to move to the bar. We all were quite surprised at this though no one said anything to her.
Otherwise, we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: There seem to be rooms which arelocated close to a small beach.Some cottages border the ocean but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    87
    17
    21
    12
See reviews for
74
228
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halle, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We spent 8 night at this beautiful spot and will definitely come back if we can. It is a dream place!
It feels really like Africa, with the natural materials, the beautiful garden, the Indian Ocean on the doorstep... It's actually the last hotel on the beach: This means you can make long walks, feeling really on a deserted island...

The water was blue, warm and clear like crystal. At low tide you can walk all the way to the border of the natural reef, ideal for diving and snorkeling.

We took diving lessons at the PADI dive center, based in the hotel. Great value!
The personnel of the hotel and the dive center are really and genuinely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but I would recommend Ocean View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

My husband, our 2 young sons (7 and 3 years old) and I stayed here for 7 days end of February beginning of March. It has been wonderful. We had two beautiful rooms with an interconnecting door in the garden lodge, an ideal venue to stay with the boys. The garden of the hotel, the swimming pool, the access to the beach, the beach itself, all very pretty and well maintained. The staff was very very kind, also towards our boys. Both breakfast (many pancakes were eaten from our side) and dinner were very good. We very much enjoyed staying here and would love to come back one day!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

My husband and I were here in late February for four days after a two week safari! Beautiful and quiet is just what we were hoping for and this place didn't disappoint. The pool was small but nice, (they had had several power outages and were cleaning it, so we weren't allowed in it on one day), it could use a bigger deck as the handful of chairs do fill up quickly. The beach, especially at low, low tide was soft white sand...beautiful! We grabbed a couple of kayaks one day and paddled out towards the reef, so fun to be on the water! Food was yummy and the staff was very sweet. We ate two dinners by total candlelight (power outages) which was a bit of an adventure! Except for a few glitches, we enjoyed our stay there immensely!

Room Tip: We had unit 2, a duplex cottage right on the beach, but away from the pool area...it was perfect! Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

My husband & I stayed at the Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel for 11 days in February and would highly recommend it. The resort is laid out in a pleasant way, our room was very comfortable with easy access to the communal areas, the pool - although not huge - was great and the hotel has a nice area of the beach. We were on half board and were extremely impressed by the quality and choice of the food. The BBQ buffet was amazing. The staff are all pleasant and happy to help or just chat. The dive office on site is also a bonus.
The tides at Nungwi seem extreme, so you have to wait until after lunch (2:00 ish) to go snorkeling if you want to wade in from the beach - otherwise you have to walk a long way out (maybe 10 minutes?)
The hotel has a great common area outside close to the pool which is fully covered so is great for sun protection - they could do with more umbrellas around the pool and beach area as they are always quick to go.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

A perfect place to relax & unwind after safari. The staff is so delightful and the resort is everything one could want on this beautiful island.

Room Tip: The oceanfront chalet is fantastic! The view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

The hotel is comfortable and well maintained and all the staff are welcoming and pleasant. The grounds and pool are generally quiet and we never struggled for a sunbed. The food is good but the hotel caters for half board customers so has no a la carte menu.You can buy individual courses from the set menu except on the BBQ nights. There is little else around except a small hotel next door which will do food and drinks as an alternative. The village is about 2KM away along unlit dirt tracks.
There is a dive centre on site which is well run and friendly although not cheap. The diving is gentle with lovely corals and plenty of fish. The guiding is very good.
The area is tidal so varies between no beach at high tide and you can walk out to the fringing reef at low tide. We found this enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel

Address: PO Box 1784, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ras Nungwi is a small and luxurious hotel and spa situated on a breathtaking beach on Zanzibar's northern tip. The professional on-site watersports centre offers diving, fishing and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.