We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go during dinner only” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baraka Beach Resturant,Nungwi,Zanzibar

Baraka Beach Resturant,Nungwi,Zanzibar
The Beach!, Nungwi, Tanzania
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Nungwi
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Astoria, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Go during dinner only”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Coconut curry was delicious and sea food grill came with fresh tender octopus among other yummy seafood. Service was excellent and we even got free local konyagi lemon cocktails however we made the mistake of having lunch here along with 20 hungry flies. Better to come here for dinner and come with fly repellant of some sort.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    18
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa, Kenya
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best dinner places we found in Nungwi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Very nice setting for this restaurant, this you sit on the beach, with a candle light on your table. Staff is extremely friendly too. Fish and seafood is great and much cheaper than the rest we had in Nungwi. Definitely the place to go to if you want seafood in Nungwi!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely setting with friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We ate here twice, we were so impressed the first time we came back for more. We ate fish and seafood skewers which were presented nicely and tasted great. What's more we only paid 10,000 shillings, which was the cheapest we came across. We liked the little touches such as a free yummy cocktail when you bought a main meal. As well as the tables being set out on the beaches with a fish stand where you could see what you were eating. Loved this place!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice fish meal on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

You sit ON the beach with a candle light on your table. The chef is grilling the fish right beside you, so you can see how it's done. The king fish was really good, and service as well. Prices are low.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect food & location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Lovely restaurant right on the beach (avoid during daytime as you can't eat on the sand, it gets too hot and you will end up with a fly in your mouth). For dinner they take the tables out so you are eating on the sand right next to the water. You have fresh fish & seafood to choose from and they will grill it for you (this takes around 1 hour... but it's worth it) however you do need to let the guys know that you do NOT want the fish to be dry. If you ask for Mr. President he will know how to talk to the chef about it! The best we had there was the octopus with coconut sauce and the giants lobster for only £13. The biggest problem is the fact that they put very uncomfortable pillows on your chairs and there's no light so you will hardly see what you eat. Said this, it was the place that we kept going back to, you will love it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baraka Beach Resturant,Nungwi,Zanzibar also viewed

 

Been to Baraka Beach Resturant,Nungwi,Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baraka Beach Resturant,Nungwi,Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.