We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is lovely, service is TERRIBLE!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hotel is lovely, service is TERRIBLE!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We came here on honeymoon to relax after an incredible safari in Masai Mara (where the service was second to none). In comparison the service at Hideaway is shocking. Not the fault of the staff but inadequate training and terrible communication from management.

Our shower was broken from the outset and flooded our entire bathroom floor. We rang and visited the reception several times and only had a response of 'OK, thank you'. When we were at the beach ordering drinks, I gave our room number only to be told that the room 'didn't exist' and I was a 'liar'! So embarrassed, I went to reception and was told that they had moved our room due to the broken shower. A bit of notice would have nice!

My husband was very ill a couple of days into the stay. I phoned reception to ask for a doctor, to which I was told I would be called back as soon as he had arrived and would be around 20mins. An hour passed and so I walked to reception to find the doctor had been waiting in reception for half an hour waiting for us!!

Food is the usual bland buffet you'll find at most all inclusives and staff forget your drink orders easily.

Pool, bar area and the surrounds are lovely - if only the service matched.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Hayslu, We thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry that it did not meet your expectations in term of service. Rest assured that we have shared your comments with our team and will further investigate the communication problems you have mentioned. We were happy to see that you enjoyed our facilities and beautiful setting. Kind regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    111
    40
    21
    12
See reviews for
118
258
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kamloops
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Gorgeous location..beautiful beach. Staff was very attentive and eager to please.
I came down with a stomach ailment second to last day there..food???
The staff all asked how I was doing...Dr. very easy to talk to and able to understand with no language barrier.
Rooms very comfortable and lovely ocean view.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear misurina48, We thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your stay at Hideaway of Nungwi and are happy to hear that you had such an excellent stay. We were sorry that you felt poorly during your stay. Such illnesses can be caused by many different factors. We are glad that you appreciated the friendliness of our attentive staff. Our entire team hopes to welcome you again. Best regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The location and views you have from all rooms, I gather, at Hideaway is magnificent. Our room was a nice size and very clean. The staff are all very friendly and just want to please their guests at all times. A stunning resort, beach and pool areas are kept very clean and beautiful. Meals were very good, great quality of food. The resort is quite large, so a bit of walking but not too bad and they have golf carts if required to take and fetch you. From start to finish our stay was fantastic!!

Room Tip: Deluxe Suite is a good size, try to get closer to pool and restaurant area, then the walk is not a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear LesVibe, We thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hideaway of Nungwi. We were happy to hear that you appreciated our rooms and views as well as the cleanliness of our facilities. Our entire team was delighted to read how pampered you have felt thanks to our service, as were our Chefs to know how much you enjoyed the food. It was a real pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to welcome you again soon! Warm regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

First off, I'm extremely picky when it comes to true 5 star resorts. When you spend $500-$700/night on a place (we upgraded), the place needs to deliver. After saying that, Hideaway was a breath of fresh air. All the bad reviews must be by neurotic travellers because the staff here tried so hard to give the best service ever. When we arrived, to the time we checked out, we were literally treated like royalty. Here are a few things that really stood out…

- The food was awesome! We pretty much gained 10 pounds here because there was so much good food. The carnivorous a la carte was especially good! We also recommend the ice cream! The resort is full of Italians, so their pasta and pizza was also amazing. The food here was 100 times better then ANY Caribbean 5 star we had been too.

- Friendly. Everywhere we went, we would be greeted by a Jambo (hello). They truly did not want you to lift a hand. When ever we called in for ice, or rum for our room, there was no hesitation. You could tell the locals here really wanted you to experience first class service.

- So many little details, to the way they pour the wine, to clearing the plates, to flambéing desert, the details look to be well refined. I've read online here service was an issue….BUT I think they have fixed it completely. Foreign management was on top of everything as well.

- The rooms, pool, and beach MUST be the best in the area. We took a boat trip around the area, and Hideaway stood out as having the most refined look. With the glowing infinity pool at night, to clean white sand beaches, to large rooms all having an ocean view!

There are a few very small things that would take so little to fix that need attention…

- Pool and beach drink service is slow. They need to have more staff here…but once the drink finally comes, its a nice big one, so you are happy for quite some time haha.

- We were not happy with the scuba centre. We paid $55 each to snorkel at the famous Mnemba, and instead of coming back at 4:30 like they thought, we were back at noon. I'd book with someone else, thats all.

- Privilege area…looked never used. We never used it because no one was there, and it would seem harder to get service over there. There needs to be more draw to it.

A few side notes: Our evening butler…Alonzia…she was amazing!! Also, when we were in Carnivorous enjoying a wonderful wildebeest and ostrich, a table near us was asking a waiter in his thick french accent for an italian style steak…one he has a several days ago. No one knew what he was talking about…AND WHY SHOULD THEY! He kept saying "do you understand me". These type of tourists are so rude, yet this resort did not want to say no, and worked to get him that steak.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view. The butler room is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear littlechilds, Many thanks for sharing your experience with us and for giving us such great encouragements. Our Chefs were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed our food offer, in particular our Carnivorous and More restaurants. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed the service and attention to details of our wonderful staff. We are very grateful for your feedback and have shared it with our team. It was a pleasure hosting the both of you and our entire Team hopes to have the chance to welcome you again in our beautiful surroundings. Warmest regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Almost everything perfect about this hotel. The rooms are very well appointed and I loved the soaps in the bathroom, which incidentally was very lux. The fitness center is great, I had a fabulous Thai massage. The view and the location stunning - I think all rooms must have views, which is excellent. Just one improvement, I took the half board package and wasn't very happy with the nightly buffet, but I don't like buffets in general, it could be improved though. Next time I would wander down the beach and eat elsewhere. Breakfast was really good though. It's got it all though otherwise.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear jo f, Many thanks for taking the time to write about your stay at the Hideaway of Nungwi. We were happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and the beauty of our location. Our therapist was delighted to hear that you appreciated her Thai skills as well as our well equiped gym. We hope to welcome you again! Warmest Regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Excellent place for a quiet break. Great service and staff. The setting of the whole place is like living in a dreamland. Vegetarian food is a slight problem, in the sense that they do not have much variety, but you will not go hungry. They do great cocktails.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Ritenkumar, Many thanks for your taking the time to share your experience with us. We were delighted to read what an excellent stay you had within our facilities. We are happy that you appreciated our service and friendly staff. The entire team hopes to welcome you again for anoter quiet break! Warm regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Fabulous week at the Hideaway of Nungwi. First class all round and inclusive. Excellent service from trained staff, great food & wines in a superb 5* resort. Fine pool, nice bars & restaurants, lovely beach. Went on a spice farm tour which was fun, toured Zanzibar City, Stone Town and Prison Island, so much history. Lots to do or not if you want to chill.

*****

Room Tip: They are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear BrianKane_2011, Many thanks for your kind words regarding your stay at Hideaway of Nungwi. We were glad to hear that you appreciated our level of service as well as the quality of our Food and Beverage offer. We are happy that you enjoyed our beautiful setting and that you had a nice time discovering the rest of this amazing island. The entire team hopes to have the chance to welcome you again. Best regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa

Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, part of the Emerald Collection Resorts, is located in Nungwi, on the North West coast of Zanzibar, a sensational island setting. Every evening the resort is charmed by dreamy sunsets, where hues of burnt orange and blushing rose are spectacled as Africa`s sun drops into the Indian Ocean. Wander through 10 hectares of enchanting tropical spice gardens, fondly tendered by softly-spoken Zanzibaris and rabble of soaring butterflies. The sense of space is absolute, inspiring freedom, seclusion and quietude: Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa is a the perfect playground for the tired minds of discerning guests seeking the ultimate relaxation and nourishments for mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Of Nungwi Resort & Spa Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.