We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place for our honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in Nungwi
Shifnal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for our honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We wanted somewhere special for our honeymoon and we were not disappointed! We were very impressed with the layout of the hotel and its grounds. The gardens are kept in excellent condition by the friendly gardeners. The website photographs show suites of the highest standard and we were not disappointed at all. The suite was spotless and extremely well equipped. Although we had forgotten our European plug adaptors we were able to borrow one from Reception. The area around the pool is great and there are plenty of sun loungers and towels for all. The infinity pool is a great place to chill out and look out to the ocean. Sunsets were special every day. The quality of the food and drink was excelkent, with plenty of choice. Mary in the poolside bar was especially helpful, with an infectiou smile. Her helpfulness and friendliness was typical of all the staff. The General Manager and Reception staff were especially helpful in trying to replace a broken camera cable, and sending to Stone Town for one, which even though it didn't fit, they did not charge us. The beach is stunning and well worth a walk along, although at the far end there are a few sellers of souveniers who will try to pesuade you to buy their goods. This they do in a friendly way. When you obtain you shillings at the airport try and get the notes in small denomination. 5000 shillings or less would be ideal. Also have Us dollars as the shop on site prices items in dollars and they are often asked for in Stone Town. All in all we were spoilt every day and thoroughly enjoyed our honeymoon at Hideaway of Nungwi.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view. We hade room 102 next to reception which was a short walk from the main f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Paul W, many thanks for your kind words. We were delighted to hear that you had the special honeymoon you wished for at Hideaway of Nungwi. Sunsets are indeed different everyday and not to be missed. We are glad to see that you appreciated it as well as the friendliness of our staff. It was are pleasure hosting and hope that we will have the opportunity to do it again. Until then and with kind regards,
Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    284
    74
    27
    16
    6
See reviews for
82
189
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I feel inclined to write my first review on TripAdvisor after such an amazing stay at Hideaway with friends last month. From arrival we were treated like Kings; the staff were always friendly and on hand to cater our needs be it at the pool, beach or restaurants. The main draw in visiting Hideaway was I'd heard about it's spectacular beach location- we were not disappointed! It is a photographers dream, very picturesque with crystal clear water and white sand. The beach staff were very friendly and attentive serving us with fresh fruit and cocktails throughout the day, on top of this we also enjoyed use of the water sports equipment such as the kayaks and paddle boards. We spent most of our time relaxing on the beach and for us it made our experience not just great but superb. The food was very good, a lot of choice on the buffet and their pizza's were delicious! My room was what one would expect from a 5* establishment, clean with full amenity's. Evenings produced spectacular sunsets which we sat back and watched either in the shisha lounge or the pool bar over a few of drinks. For me it was the perfect place to unwind for a week and will definitely be returning next year. Thank you to all the staff at Hideaway such an amazing experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear TheWeeScotsman, Thank you so much for your kind Trip Advisor review of our wonderful resort. We all at The Hideaway of Nungwi are delighted you had such a great stay with us and so obviously appreciated all aspects of our lovely property. Your review has been shared with our entire team and will be much appreciated. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Hideaway of Nungwi, Regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Amazing views, luxury rooms, quiet environment, very friendly staffs, good food, superb beach, quick check inn and very quick check out, just made it to the airport on time, will definitely recommend to any one. Great job hide away! keep it up!

Room Tip: Request for rooms nearer to ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear suhailp, It was a pleasure to read your review of The Hideaway of Nungwi thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience. We all at the resort hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back, Regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Wow – from the moment you arrive at Nungwi Resort you are welcomed by the Porter with a big smile and “Jambo Jambo”. This sets the scene for your stay here at this beautiful resort.
Everyone from bar staff to the gardeners, from butlers to pool maintenance are so friendly and helpful, and if you greet them with “Mambo” you will get a massive smile. The more you try to speak in Swahili, the more they will encourage you! We had numerous lessons in Swahili whilst sat round the pool. Special mention to Salum Shaaban who took time to write out the days of the week, numbers and various phrases for my husband on a double sided piece of A4 paper. By the time we left, he could count to 20 – not bad in 2 weeks!!

Having checked in and been given a coloured bead bracelet, not the normal tacky plastic wrist band, we were taken by golf cart to our suite – Superior Deluxe Suite – WOW.
The accommodation was decorated and furnished to a very high standard. We had beautiful views of the Indian Ocean and could sit on our own sun lounger in our own garden and watch the sun setting on the horizon.
We had paid for the Exclusive upgrade which included Butler Service.
Our butler Alonsia came to find us on our first evening as we were exploring the grounds. She then continued to show us around the resort and explain the benefits of the upgrade, which included amongst other things room service and breakfast on our patio.
Towards the end of our first week we approached guest relations to enquire about an upgrade if there was one available. We were lucky enough to be given a free upgrade to a Jacuzzi Suite. This suite just blew us away, it’s size, décor and position was just stunning.
We did have breakfast in the main restaurant on several mornings, but decided that we preferred having it on our patio over looking the Indian Ocean in private served by Alonsia and Ramadhan. The table was always beautifully set including fresh flowers. Each day our butlers would make a point of coming to see us to ensure that all our requirements were being met. They ensured that the mini bars were fully stocked every day. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them. Our evening butler was Abdulla who was always available to bring wine to our room before we went down for dinner
Thank you to all 3 of you for all your help during our stay.

Another big Thank you to all the staff round the pool bar. They always greeted you with a massive smile and a “Mambo”, and again nothing was too much trouble. They quickly learnt your favourite drinks and how you liked them. Special mentions for Dorise, Ali, John Musso and Mary George who worked tirelessly to keep all the guests happy as did all the bar staff.

In our opinion, the Aqua Restaurant had more than enough choice and the food was of good quality, including fantastic cooked to order pizza and fresh pasta. The Carnivore and More Restaurant was outstanding. Beautiful setting, friendly staff and fantastic African meats. With the up-grade we were able to eat in this restaurant every night that it was open.
The Japanese restaurant was also beautifully decorated, friendly staff and the food was well presented. The food in this restaurant whilst lovely was not to our taste – but that is a personal observation.
It is worth mentioning that the General Manager, John was seen most evenings eating in the Aqua with his wife.

With all this fabulous food, I felt I had to try to burn off some of the calories! The 30 metre pool was a good starting place but I also made use of the gym facilities. Imagine running in a cool air conditioned gym over looking the Indian Ocean – and most of the time I had the facilities all to myself!
The gym was well equipped and also supplied cold water, fruit juices and cold towels in a fridge which you could help yourself to.

This is a fantastic location, where nothing is too much trouble for anyone. All the staff wanted to ensure that you have the best possible stay in their beautiful resort.
A massive thank you to everyone for making this a beautiful and memorable holiday.
Nick and Fiona Boon

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Fiona B,
Thank you for your detailed and lovely Trip Advisor review and for high lightening some of our exceptional team. We all at The Hideaway of Nungwi are extremely proud of our wonderful resort and our team that work so hard, it is so rewarding when it is recognized . On behalf of us al at the resort we very much hope we will be able to welcome you back one day. Regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel on our honeymoon. We arrived late in the evening after a delayed flight, having travelled down from the Masai Mara earlier that day. First impressions of the hotel itself did not disappoint. The location, building and grounds are undeniably beautiful and well worthy of it’s 5* rating. Clearly no expense has been spared on the furnishings and everything is incredibly well maintained. However, as many reviews on here seem to echo and acknowledge - such a shame, then that the service is not on a par with the exquisite setting and that the same attention is not paid to details which make or break a person’s experience!

Upon arrival several things happened that annoyed us. Firstly we were down as half board when we were all inclusive so that had to be changed. Secondly our honeymoon package included a room upgrade (depending on availability) but when we asked about this the staff didn’t seem aware of this deal and it seemed to take a long time to explain it so they understood. After pushing the point we were told they were fully booked with no chance of an upgrade – which would obviously be fair enough except the lady didn’t convince us that she entirely she knew what she was talking about. She was clearly out of her depth to deal with the situation so fetched a supervisor who came over and proceeded to tell us that we had already been upgraded. Having spent many months checking out the website and getting excited about the prospect of the hotel we knew this was not the case. We were well aware of the room we had booked – and the prospective room we would get if we were upgraded and we could see they’d given us the former. We didn’t appreciate being treated like idiots by someone who clearly just wanted to get us processed. As we were there for 8 nights they told us they’d check availability in the morning for the upgrade. We didn’t hear another word from anyone on the subject for the rest of our stay. The room we had was absolutely lovely so we didn’t want to spend the holiday chasing and complaining – but the whole thing was most ungraciously handled. Also to note that a honeymoon couple who arrived a day after us whom we had met in Kenya were upgraded mid-stay after enquiring. Basically all that is needed is a system that is clear, and whereby someone who is expecting you greets you on arrival and makes sure everything is in order.
Finally we were escorted to our room and were told someone would follow with our luggage. It took about 15 minutes for them to bring two of our three suitcases – the third arriving 5 minutes later again. Much easier for us to just bring them ourselves and given the amount of time we were at reception there was plenty of time to find someone to bring the bags. First impressions are so crucial and it’s a shame we had to spend our first half an hour ironing out problems.

At the end of the day we both had a fantastic time here – and once we’d adjusted our expectations of the service we did have a sense of humour about it, the repeatedly used phrase ‘hakuna matata’ becoming a bit of a joke. We had a similar experience to someone else on here with regards to one of the restaurants Ishi-Teppenyaki, witnessing one couple actually walk out with frustration about how long their meal was taking. Our table was booked for 8pm and it was 9:10 before out starter came, we were falling asleep by the end so it unfortunately did spoil the meal. Food was average at best – if you’re going to have a Japanese restaurant you need to hire a proper sushi chef who knows what he’s doing. A classic example of the ‘hakuna-matata’ attitude was displayed on the one occasion we dined here. On the menu there was a chicken dish in a teriyaki sauce and a tuna dish in a ginger sauce. I asked the waitress if it might be possible to have the tuna but with the teriyaki sauce instead of the ginger. She carefully wrote the request down and went away to check, came back after presumably asking the chef and told me it was fine. Lo and behold when the meal eventually came the tuna was in the ginger sauce. I was starving by that time so didn’t complain but when I pointed it out to the waitress she laughed vacantly and said the chef was and I quote ‘very stupid.’ She went away and was clearly not going to address the matter in any way.

The Aqua restaurant was where we subsequently ate and the food was good. One tip if you are all inclusive is to not order breakfast in your room as the breakfast menu cards make it impossible for the staff to get the order right, (the right things on the right plate.) A review of this system definitely needs to happen. If you’re ordering straight meals say for lunch then the order is usually correct, albeit after a long wait.

Admittedly I’ve focused more on the negatives here but I hope it’s been constructive – as I said we did have an amazing time, it’s hard not to at such an amazing place, but these little things did let it down, for us. So in sum, it is a general lack of clarity, communication, systems and sense of urgency from the staff that really need looking at. At the moment this hotel is receiving these great reviews because the site is so beautiful but with the complacent nature of some staff I wonder how long it will remain so. This is obviously going to bother some people more than others but at the end of the day it’s selling itself as a 5* resort with Leading Hotel of The World status and in our opinion the new management will have its work cut out and proper staff training is needed pronto to ensure this hotel fulfils its potential.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Ann D,
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review we are delighted you appreciated our wonderful resort and on the whole enjoyed your stay at The H of N. I can only apologize regarding your room upgrade and any confusion, as you mentioned these upgrades are subject to availability, we have been running a full hotel recently which unfortunately makes upgrades not always possible. I was sorry to read that you felt you were not treated well I am sure this was in no way intentional. With regards to your comments on general levels of service this is an area that the new management team has started to work on and we are confident that with training and support that the entire team can and will reach it full five star potential. We very much hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back to The H of N. Regards Lucie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at Hideaway for a week in August following a week long safari in Kenya. From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome and offered first class service from a very keen to please staff team. The lovely Samantha (from England) greeted us upon arrival and we were given lovely cool drinks and chilled towels to refresh us. We were in 2 rooms and were nearer to the reception area and tennis courts rather than the beach, which was fine as we played tennis daily on the fantastic astro turf courts and our rooms were beautiful offering uninterrupted views of the sea ( as do all the rooms).

The hotel and grounds are beautiful and worthy of its 5* status. The grounds are very well cared for as are all the areas of the hotel and the pool area with its infinity pool is stunning. The beach - I can only describe as paradise. The sand is like silk under your feet, and its so pale in colour next to the aquamarine of the ocean that it offers a beautiful vista. The beach is private to the hotel and whilst non hotel guests can walk by, security is ever present and the beach boys are not allowed to disturb you to sell their wares. It's a different matter if you walk down the beach and they all have things to sell you but with a friendly manner and never too pushy.

The food - absolutely incredible, there would be nothing you could possibly desire that they don't offer you. The restaurant staff go out of their way to please, sometimes they may have been a little slow or had misunderstood what was asked of them but we put that down to the language barrier. We were all inclusive and could eat and drink all day long (and did!). Unlimited cocktails on the beach and by the pool were very nice indeed. The staff brought round fresh fruit several times a day whether you were at the pool or the beach which was lovely and very refreshing.
We didn't book excursions through the hotel but from a guy at the turtle sanctuary at the end of Nungwi beach who was very reasonable. We did a spice tour of Stonetown and had a boat trip to Prison Island where the Giant Tortoises live, it was a wonderful day and the guides we had were excellent. We were collected and returned by car and felt very looked after throughout.
If we were ever to return to Zanzibar, we would definitely stay at the Hideaway again, it's a beautiful hotel with the most incredible views.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear BRADHILL,
Thank you very much for sending us this excellent review, which I have had the pleasure to share with the entire team here at The Hideaway of Nungwi. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated all aspects of our wonderful resort. We very much hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the resort.Regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I have wondered how to write this review, as it is with such double sided feelings.. And what you will see from reading other reviews, it appears so many others feel the same.. We've all wanted it to be better, but some key and such core aspects drag it lower.. There are some dominant and recurring themes in the majority of the reviews written about this place.
1) the food
2) the service
3) the errors
All of which make it very hard to place this hotel in amongst others that belong to the Leading Hotels of the World chain.. It falls short of the standards experienced at other hotels in this chain and i would be very very surprised if the head of the chain would want to be associated with this hotel if he visited at the moment, and experience what many of us have experienced.
Firstly the good points though -- this is a hotel located in a great location at the North end of Zanzibar, with a excellent beach, outlook and infrastructure/interior design and room sizes. Sure, its a bit of a drive from the airport (just over an hour), but its worth it.
The staff were all friendly and trying to please, and the place was clean and tidy. It has so much potential to be a really great place... and yes, it is a new place so i can understand there are always teething problems, but its now been open for almost a year (?) so many of these should have been addressed..

So our experience; we arrived to find the room we had booked many months ago was not available due to a 'technical issue' with the room, and so were downgraded for the night and given a free spa treatment as an apology. Fine.. not ideal as it would mean one more night of not being able to unpack completely after being on safari for the previous 8 days where it was 2 nights here 2 nights there etc etc, so just wanted to stay put now. The room was due to be ready the next day. The next day it was not, and so we were upgraded to the presidential suite - which was very very nice (but realistically the most obvious solution given it would have been most disappointing to us to have to have a lesser room than the one we booked ages ago). The room we had (#171) was well appointed, but has a serious design issue/flaw. The shower faces out the back of the room, with a glass exterior wall, through which you can see the people in the room up the hill behind you, as they sit on their sun deck.. So they can obviously see you - in the shower. You are thus needing to go outside to the additional outdoor shower the suite has, to avoid being 'on display' to the world.. I note this has also been raised by another reviewer.. It needs to be remedied asap. Even just put some temporary large pot plants up on the hill to block the view.. Do something today - its one of your premier/flagship rooms.
The biggest issue we found though, was the food. Our very first meal was at the Ishi-teppanyaki restaurant. It took us 2hours to have entree and main. We gave up on waiting for the dessert and left, as we had literally almost fallen asleep at the table. There were just 3 other tables in the restaurant being used.. So it was not even busy.. Other diners were experiencing same issues and one couple even went for a walk TWICE whilst waiting.. To further add to the disappointment in having to wait for so long - the food that was delivered was very very sub-par. Throughout our stay we found the fish to be always so over cooked it was like the chef had taken a holiday between starting the cooking and finishing it. Again we are at what is meant to be a 5 star resort and paying very good money - this is not the sort of standard you would get in other 5 star places. The food / beverage operation needs a complete shake up, and will kill the ability of guests to recommend this place - as you are there on a half or full board basis so are somewhat compelled to eat there anyway. Management; you need to get a qualifed and well equipped (european) head chef in to that place pronto. And not someone who is thinking its going to be a working holiday.. someone prepared to bust some balls to get things done right.. You also need experienced front of house managers to over see the local employees as its akin to a comedy show sometimes watching (and experiencing) what was going on. At breakfast one day we asked for a cup of tea, a pot of coffee arrived - 'we asked for tea'.. ' ok..' and the waitress left the coffee pot on the table and wandered off to do other things.. We wondered if she understood us.. -- and this was a common thought.. you ask/say something and get an acknowledgement but you really dont know for sure.. I totally understand that english is probably not many of the staff's first language, but you need to ensure your staff are properly equipped to be of appropriate service to your guests. We watched other guests have similar frustrating experiences. 10mins later we did get our cup of tea, and only then the coffee pot was removed from the table.
I have read other reviews here about the speciality restaurants at the resort - Carnivorous and Ishi-Teppanyaki -- and one thing has become apparent, The menu never seems to change.. Every reviewer seems to have experienced at Carnivorous either the Springbok or the Ostrich. The two choices of mains available on the menu for half/full board guests. So, for those about to go, i can inform you that if you have no interest in either of those mains, Carnivorous will not be for you.. But, there is another menu there - it does have other choices, just like the Teppanyaki restaurant.. BUT you have no idea of the price of these meals, as there is nothing in the menu detailing cost (and its not part of the full or half board /all inclusive options so it does cost extra), so the menu set out is totally confusing.. Again, you need to get some one with experience into this place pronto to do a complete over haul to get it to the standard it advertises itself to be. Continuing with the restaurants, they are not open every night, and infact over the week we were there, we were only able to dine ONCE in each of carnivorous and teppanyaki. Makes no sense. I could go on about the food, but for those that have experienced other 5 star resorts elsewhere, be aware, its not of the same standard.
You are asked to wear differing coloured wrist bands to signify if you are priviledged/all inclusive/half board etc - im not sure if that system is working.. as you sometimes get a bill (when say ordering drinks at the bar) with a price on them, and sometimes you don't. Either the computer should tell them staff what the package is the guest is on, or the wristbands, or both.. but neither perhaps seemed to work.. So when checking out we had to explain why our bill was wrong.. and despite still wearing the wristbands, it seemed irrelevant to the reception staff we encountered.. "but you had this drink" "yes but we are all inclusive.. see .. see this wrist band? see what room we were in?" *blank expression*. Eventually he went off to see the manager for a good 10-15mins and came back and did something with the computer, re-printed the bill and all the incorrect items were removed.. No apology.. I repeat again. we are at a 5 star resort that belongs to a prestigious chain. Whilst waiting for our bill to be rectified, 2 other couples were having the exact same discussions with the staff over their bills.. A small sample size, so hard to know what the true error rate is, but when you read other reviews as well as what we went through - and observed there - they clearly have an issue tracking what should be on a bill and what should not.
Again though - by and large everyone was friendly and even the groundsmen happily say hello to you as you wander around - but it just feels as if there is a large degree of 'cluelessness' going on, but once recitified, it would be a great place to go.. Lucie the guest relations manager did her best to make sure our stay was enjoyable - and excluding the muck ups it was. I note Lucie you are reading these reviews, -- please please please can you make your replies turn into genuine action, and get something done about what we are all in the main telling you guys.. We want this place to be 5 star, but it needs action today rather than dragging it out and having to read more reviews like this...

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the pool/restaurants/beach lower down will be better as you will spend most of your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear xmyass,
Thank you for your detailed Trip Advisor review, apologies that you felt we did not quite make the mark on your recent stay with us. We have a new general manager who joined us mid August, the hotel originally opening late April 2013. John's main priority has been to develop a new strong international team, as you are probably aware these things take time. I started at the resort early september followed by our new Executive Chef Christian who joined the team mid October, he came directly from Dubai and has a wealth of five star international experience. A week later Agustin joined us as Front Office Manager, she has worked for numerous 5 star international companies and already is a valued member of our growing team. In November Morgan joins the resort he will head up Food and Beverage, and we eagerly await his arrival. We have far from been dinosaurs, international recruitment unfortunately take time, we have however been working hard daily on improving and sharpening standards and services. Our five stars are very important to us and, everyone from The G.M. down takes Trip Advisor very seriously. We have sorted out the privacy issue with room 171 apologies it was not done sooner. So in short we are a work in progress, and can only apologise for not always getting it right. On behalf of the entire team we very much hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort. Regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa

Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, part of the Emerald Collection Resorts, is located in Nungwi, on the North West coast of Zanzibar, a sensational island setting. Every evening the resort is charmed by dreamy sunsets, where hues of burnt orange and blushing rose are spectacled as Africa`s sun drops into the Indian Ocean. Wander through 10 hectares of enchanting tropical spice gardens, fondly tendered by softly-spoken Zanzibaris and rabble of soaring butterflies. The sense of space is absolute, inspiring freedom, seclusion and quietude: Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa is a the perfect playground for the tired minds of discerning guests seeking the ultimate relaxation and nourishments for mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Of Nungwi Resort & Spa Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;