We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hideaway of Nungwi is a place to be spoilt silly in beautiful surroundings.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hideaway of Nungwi is a place to be spoilt silly in beautiful surroundings.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

This resort is only weeks old and so I anticipated a few teething problems which we got in the form of a bit of confusion in checking in. We had upgraded and they were not aware of this. Also they had run out of all inclusive bracelets so had to explain to bar staff that we were not half board. These issues were dealt with quickly and professionally. Also the tv was not working I believe in most of the rooms (actually this was a refreshing change!)
But all this aside the resort and rooms were nothing short of beautiful. The gardens are stunning as is the beach. In regards to the food, wow! I'm a food blogger and am so fussy with food especially at a buffet however I was go smacked with quality of food. If you like seafood your going to be in food heaven! The staff are so attentive and they are the stars of the show. In particular I want to say thanks to Ayesha the masseuse.. Wow.
I was asked today if I would go back there or to the maldives and my answer was definitely back to Zanzibar and definitely back to the hideaway. Well done and thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Sarahboudjema, your honest opinion is highly appreciated. We certainly thank you for your thoughts on our buffet and I will be sure to share them with Chef. Zanzibar over Maldives? Anyday! Karibu sana for your next trip. Until then and with kind regards, Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    96
    31
    17
    10
See reviews for
97
234
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

All I can say is excellent amazing location, amazing food, amazing service all with a touch of sophisticated simplicity. Loved every minute of our stay. The service was excellent, the staff we amazingly friendly and served us with a smile everyminute of the day regardless of the hour. Management was always ready to help incase of any problems which I must say there wasn't any.

One of the only hotels I have stayed at with no house keeping calls/disturbances. House keeping was done around the guest no matter the time one left the room when we returned the room was impeccably clean with hints of fresh flowers.

The attention to detail was out of this world.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Leymmed, your glowing comments on your suite have been passed onto our Executive Housekeeper who is thrilled. "Sophisticated simplicity", what a compliment! Looking forward to the next time. Until then and with kind regards, Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

My entire stay was memorable and had amaizing time at this property with such great staff and with outstanding hospitality. The hotel was nice and clean,and the service was good. One of very nice and comfortable stay I can say.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear kamuhabwa, thank you so much for the kind compliments. It is our number one intention to provide "outstanding hospitality" and we are very glad that you agree with our efforts. When will you return? Until then and with kind regards, Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Being a bit wary of this new resort, what a pleasant surprise hideaway turned out to be!! Absolutely no construction noise!
An excellent location possibly the best in the Island this unique resort has sea-views from each and every villa, an infinity pool the envy of most, attentive and charming staff and all the makings for a great stay!
Cannot fault the resort in any way, and as we visited in the low season the peace and quite was serene, but without the lack of service that goes with low seasons!
Worth a definite look into if visiting Zanzibar, pop round for a cup of tea or meal if not staying there!

Room Tip: All the rooms have sea-views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear suruandfreDD, we too are particularly proud of our location and the infinity pool (see our photo). Non-residents are certainly welcome to dine at Hideaway. We hope to see you again when English skies are too grey. Until then and with kind regards, Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just come from this Resort - it is wonderful, relaxing and the best in Zanzibar. The Jacuzzi Suite is the most tempting Suite. The swimming pool, the message house, the clean and clear white beach with blue waters, the tasty food with many choices to pick from makes this resort the leader in Hotel indusry

Room Tip: Jacuzzi suites are spacious with big bathroom and jacuzzi - nice for honeymoon couples. Superior l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Phillip K, we thank you for your kind comments. The beach is indeed looking beautiful and all the more so now the rains have cleared. Karibu sana for your next break from Kendwa. Until then and with kind regards, Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

we stayed for 2 nights, excellent resort, wonderfull food, very comfortable and friendly staff, and very relaxing environment.
the rooms were great, we had choice of 3 restaurants, and we also experienced live cooking, which was mind blowing. the spa has a big jacuzzi which was a great treat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Sonal M, thank you for sharing your experience of the live cooking at the Ishi-Teppanyaki Counter. The Spa is a magical hideaway - within a hideaway - and we are delighted that you enjoyed the Jacuzzi. Until the next time and with kind regards, Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

If you looking for a place that is beautiful,relaxing,exqusite and a nice gateaway hide away is the place for you.with the clean beach to infinity pool with amaizing recreation staff you are sure to have a vacation of a life time..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear moon126, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for your kind comments regarding our recreation team members and will be sure to pass them on. Until the next time and with kind regards, Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa

Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Family Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, part of the Emerald Collection Resorts, is located in Nungwi, on the North West coast of Zanzibar, a sensational island setting. Every evening the resort is charmed by dreamy sunsets, where hues of burnt orange and blushing rose are spectacled as Africa`s sun drops into the Indian Ocean. Wander through 10 hectares of enchanting tropical spice gardens, fondly tendered by softly-spoken Zanzibaris and rabble of soaring butterflies. The sense of space is absolute, inspiring freedom, seclusion and quietude: Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa is a the perfect playground for the tired minds of discerning guests seeking the ultimate relaxation and nourishments for mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Of Nungwi Resort & Spa Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.