We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely! Needs Improvement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mnarani Marine Turtles Conservation Pond

Mnarani Marine Turtles Conservation Pond
Nungwi, Tanzania
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 13 things to do in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Lusaka
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely! Needs Improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

The Pond needs to be improved, however the turtles were so beautiful. We got to feed them and obtain knowledge about the sharks and dolphin history at Nungwi beach. Also my husband got to negotiate our entry fee to half

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    63
    30
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Swimming with turtles!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Swimming with those massive turtles is an amazing experience! you should definitely try this while visiting Nungwi!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very low key- amazing turtles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This was a local conservation pond, you just walk through, takes no more than 20-30minutes. The cost was very low, less than $5 and the turtles really were quite neat! Enjoyed it!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aweil, South Sudan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yeah..I saw turtles”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The pictures you see is not what you will see when you get there. The entrance fee when I got there was 7,500 TSH. When you get inside you will just see a big pond with turtles... and that's it. You can see a small basin (as in wash basins) of small turtles, a small enclosure of land turtle, a gecko and two small crocodiles.

However, for the sake of saving these critters, I urge people to visit them because your money goes for maintaining the place and taking care of the animals.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awsome Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

It was a first for me to see such a type of aquarium.
Swimming with the turtles was an awsome experience for my wife and I.
I really like what the community is doing with this pond where the turles are rehabilitated and released in the sea when fit to do so. Great work guys.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mnarani Marine Turtles Conservation Pond also viewed

Zanzibar, Zanzibar Archipelago
Stone Town, Zanzibar
 

Been to Mnarani Marine Turtles Conservation Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mnarani Marine Turtles Conservation Pond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.