We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but small” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mnarani Marine Turtles Conservation Pond

Mnarani Marine Turtles Conservation Pond
Nungwi, Tanzania
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 14 things to do in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good but small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Don't expect to spend hours here, half an hour will cut it but worth it to support a local cause rescuing sea turtles.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    63
    30
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We visited the conservation centre whilst in Zanzibar on our honeymoon and cannot fault it. This is a must visit for anyone holidaying in Zanzibar. Our guide (Suleman) was great at explaining the history of the turtles and the ongoing work that they do to protect them. We also saw the dhow construction site and the local fishing market which was a great cultural experience. The work that is being done here is amazing and everyone should go!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni, South Africa
2 reviews
“Mnarani Turtles Conservation Pond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed in the area and walked up the beach at low tide to the Turtle project. An amazing natural lagoon that rises and falls with the tide. The turtles are kept for educational and protection purposes.
Our guide Machino was really good and gave us an in depth talk on the turtles and why they need to be protected.
So take the time to visit the project and support local enterprise. We went on an organised day trip of snorkeling, fish BBQ and dhow sailing on a local boat and had a really great day for half the price the hotels want to charge. Speak to the guides at the Turtle Project they will arrange.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Its a very small place and doesn have much but what they are trying to do for the turtles is worth the visit in itself.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingaroy, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lettuce-munching turtles in tropical paradise. 10 points!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Like others have said, you don't need a long time here, but you definitely need to come. There are heaps of turtles, the guides and volunteers are awesome and there are some other things as well. You can probably do it in less than an hour, but if you're in Nungwi you should come - when I was there it was about 7500 Tsh/$5USD entry.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mnarani Marine Turtles Conservation Pond also viewed

Zanzibar, Zanzibar Archipelago
Stone Town, Zanzibar
 

Been to Mnarani Marine Turtles Conservation Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mnarani Marine Turtles Conservation Pond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.