We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice experience dinner on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wave's Restaurant and Bar

Wave's Restaurant and Bar
at Jambo Brothers Bungalows, Nungwi, Tanzania
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 23 Restaurants in Nungwi
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
bucuresti
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“nice experience dinner on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Nice food and fairly priced . The service was good as the personnel was very friendly . Used to take the breakfast every day and sometimes the dinner . I definitely recommend it , especially for the fresh fish and seafood .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice beach restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We are here one night on our honeymoon. Food was pretty good my BBQ fish was a bit overdone but my wife's coconut curry dish was excellent. A lot of the restaurants along the beach in nungwi are similar. Waves was fine and I wouldn't say the food was anything special, but our server was extremely nice and I am sure you would enjoy dining here

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great beach restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Waves was our favourite place to eat in Nungwi. It was recommended to us by other tourists and it didn't disappoint....we ate there 4 times. Great food, good-sized portions and friendly service. The food is the usual mix of local and western fare but the chef is quite inventive....we had banana fritters with a yogurt/honey/tahini dipping sauce for dessert that were delicious! At night tables are set up on the beach. Special thanks to Amri and Rosemary for their excellent service and special attention.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We went there once, and we both had very good food. The prices were reasonable, and it's great to have a table directly on the beach.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

we went several times, like all restaurants dont go starving as the service takes time, but its not as bad as some ! they do good curries.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wave's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Wave's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wave's Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.