We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life changing day out snorkelling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzibar Watersports

Zanzibar Watersports
Paradise Beach Hotel, Nungwi, Tanzania
+255 773 235030
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 13 Attractions in Nungwi
Type: Water sports, Adventure
Attraction details
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Life changing day out snorkelling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

A friend and myself were directed to Zanzibar watersports through our hotel Sazani in Nungwe as you get a discount with them if you are staying there and they have an office at the next-door hotel (2 seconds along the beach). We didn't have time to go for a dive sadly (had flights the next day) but booked in for a day’s snorkelling at Mnembe island. When we arrived in the morning they had upgraded us to a BBQ lunch seafari option because of numbers, which was lovely. We went out to the island by dhow which took around 45 minutes I think. We snorkeled in two separate spots, saw lots of colorful fish and areas of live coral. I could have stayed with the fish all day but it was time for our BBQ which was on the most beautiful beach in the area, a long stretch of undeveloped white sand with a really untouched feel about it. After lunch (mango, melon, lychee, fish, chicken, rice, salad, bread, chocolate cake and more) we chilled on the beach looking out at Mnembe and the reef with a cold beer before sailing home.

All of the staff were friendly and helpful and the whole operation is very professional. There were about 6 other snorkelers on our boat with one guide in the water who explained where to swim and what to look out for. I would go diving with them if I went back. If you have to choose between packed lunch on the boat and BBQ on the beach opposite Mnemba go for the BBQ option it's well worth the few extra dollars.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    7
    4
    5
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Zanzibar Watersports Kendwa - Great place to learn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Can't rate the team at Zanzibar watrsports highly enough, we were considering doing just a one off dive but after getting on really well we decided to stick it out for the full open water course. They offer great advice, the equipment is new and thoroughly cleaned and checked everyday, the pace of the course is good, going over anything you have trouble with but not hanging around if you dont need to and of course the dive sites at Zanzibar are awesome. Finally a massive thanks to Joshua for getting us our Open Water certificate, great guy and an excellent teacher, just dont touch the reef, he'll be more dangerous than anything around you in the sea if you do!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
“Great Adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We took a snorkeling trip with Zanzibar watersports out of Kendwa Rocks. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. The lunch was a delicious cooked meal. All in all is was a great day spent on the boat and we were very happy with the trip.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent! jätterbra! Hilsner fra Lasse och Karsten - certified 12th July Padi OWD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Hey Emma, instructor, you were very nice and to us, and we had a pleasant experience. You have some awesome skills, diving with you, we felt that, we were safety. Next year, we will come again, but this time, we Will do the AOWD course, or maybe even rescue? Who knows? :-)

Mange hilsner fra vandglade Karsten, och öre-problemet Lasse! Oh, and thanks for borrowing your mask - how much was the price you say? :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Me and my friends went diving with Zanzibar water sports, and we came back very very happy with the places they took us, the organization and most of all with the quality that my friends received for the open water diver and advanced open water diver courses. Ginie is an outstanding instructor (and I have met many). Also the equipment provided was in very good shape and the ships were pretty cool. One of the best things was the organization, the staff was very helpful to fix a tight schedule that we had in order for my friends to finish the course and enjoy in far away dive sites, and you could see in the ship that they knew what they were doing just by seeing them arranging the equipment. Also very nice lunch provided on the ship on the way to Mnemba! (beuatiful place Mnemba by the way)

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zanzibar Watersports also viewed

 

Been to Zanzibar Watersports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzibar Watersports, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.