We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Villa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diamonds Star of the East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Diamonds Star of the East to your Saves list
Diamonds Star of the East
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Flower Mound, Texas, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Villa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

All eleven villas are very private and picture perfect. You enter into a sitting area with a wall of water and a fully stocked bar. Off to the left is the butler's kitchen with a full size refrigerator and any other appliances you may want. Then you enter into a large bedroom with kingsize bed, glass walls to the patio and garden, walk-in closet,sitting area with a desk and big comfy chair and a large area on the floor with cushions and your own water pipes. From here you have access to a huge covered patio with a fountain, dining table, chairs and a daybed. The bathroom is large with an indoor and outdoor shower. You can go to your own pool and jacuzzi from the outdoor shower or patio area. The bed was decorated each day in lots of flowers. The night butler was superb. The day butler spoke and understood less English, plus had bad body odor. The room manager was friendly, polite and always out and about. Food was very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    3
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
51
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The villas are beautifully decorated and everything in the rooms are first quality. There is a waterfall in the foyer area, two bathrooms, two flat screen t.v.'s and an outdoor shower, huge patio and an infinity pool. There is even a small kitchen for the butler. The beach is white sand and the water crystal clear. You have a choice of using a private beach area for the villas or you can use the resorts main beach. The grounds are exceptionally maintained and the gardens are stunning. In terms of service, it was without a doubt the best we've ever experienced. The staff was attentive, respectful and their main goal is to provide you with the best experience ever. No request was ever too big or too much. The rooms manager is on top of things and you can see her conducting inspections in the morning, afternoon and again in the evening. Standards at this resort are very high. We don't have any criticism's. Of all the places we stayed in Tanzania, it was clearly our favorite.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Luxurious one or two bed villas, which include an indoor lounge, a huge thatched patio and water feature in the entrance. Bedrooms are large with Moroccan style floor seating overlooking the patio. Bath area boasts an indoor and outdoor shower. A large enticing outdoor jacuzzi leads of the bedroom. Two butlers are available to cook meals in the kitchenette when required. Guests may use any restaurant belonging to the Diamonds Gemma del Este resort next door, for a wider selection in meals. The resort has its own dining area on an upper level overlooking the sea.

This luxury resort in my opinion is more for honeymooners and couples who are looking for privacy and seclusion.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This resort is just amazing. We spent the last 5 days of our honeymoon here and to be honest we never wanted to leave. The villa was bigger and better than we had imagined (the website photos don't do it justice). 24hr butler service that will bring you anything you want. The staff were amazingly friendly. We ate at the restaurant in SOTE and the seafood restaurant on the water. Both excellent. Lovely private beach and bright blue water to cool off in. You will not want to leave the resort but if you do it is only a short beach walk (when the tide is out) to get to the masai market to buy souvenirs. This resort is true luxury and if you decide to stay here I'm sure you will not regret it.

Room Tip: Go for the orange villa!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have just returned to the UK after a 7 night stay at the Diamonds Star of the East as part of our honeymoon and we can honestly say that we have never stayed anywhere quite like it before - it was truly magical in every sense of the word!

Upon arrival, we were driven by golf buggie to our villa where we were personally welcomed by Renata (General Manager), Fabien (Food & Beverage Manager) and our butler for the week, Jonathan. We were presented with a glass of champagne and given a tour of the villa! Neither of us will ever forget that special welcome and also our initial reaction to seeing around the villa - a once in a lifetime moment!

The quality of the accommodation is first class - from its sheer size, the quality of finish, the variety of indoor/outdoor 'living' space, not to mention the sunken indoor jacuzzi, rain shower, outdoor shower and outdoor plunge pool/jacuzzi! The daily floral / towel displays on the bed was a special and incredibly impressive touch! We will never look at a 'hotel' room in quite the same way again!

The staff could not do enough for you - from Renata, to Fabien, to Jonathan (our personal butler), to the bar/restaurant staff - they were all warm, welcoming, good fun, professional, courteous and were always keen to ensure you were having the holiday of a lifetime! We could not fault them! The staff played a huge part in making our stay so special!

Whatever you wanted to eat, whenever you wanted to eat it and wherever you wanted to eat it - nothing was a problem! We had breakfast in the Ocean Restaurant and also had breakfast served on our outdoor patio on a couple of occasions - the variety on offer and quality was excellent! We dined in both the Ocean Restaurant (exclusive restaurant to Diamonds of the East) and Seabreeze (part of Gemma d'el Est but beautifully located out on the jetty overlooking the Indian Ocean) - the quality and service was again first class! On our last night, we had a special 'honeymoon' dinner served to us on the private beach - a fitting end to what had been a fantastic stay at the resort!

The beautiful private beach is a short walk / buggie ride from the exclusive grounds of Diamonds of the East and closer to its sister hotel, Gemma d'el Est. Whilst for some this may detract from the remote/exclusive nature of the resort, you can have as much or as little to do with the guests/facilities of Gemma d'el Est as you like. For us, we appreciated having some additional space to explore (the grounds of Gemma d'el Est are stunning) and additional bars to try out but we always ended up back up at Diamonds of the East - the two hotels just don't compare!

The private beach is perfectly located for you to venture out on to the public beach to enjoy a long walk along silky sands to Nungwi. A wonderful way to walk off the wonderful food and abundance of fine wine and cocktails!

All in all, a memorable, once in a lifetime stay at a first class resort!

Thank you to Renata and the rest of the team at Diamonds of the East! We will never forget you!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trencin, Slovakia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Diamonds Star of the East is one of the best resort of the world.....very friendly people....luxury rooms, pool with jacuzzi was amazing........i hope - i am coming back as soon as possible...All services were excellent level....I recommend to all travelers who like Zanzibar

Room Tip: Room nb. 4 !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We ended our safari at Diamonds Star of the East for 4 nights. Upon arrival we were greeted by the friendly staff and given a tour of the villa and property. The villas are massive and very luxurious. You aren't that close to the beach but you have a nice view of the sea. Every villa has its own private butler and small pool. Our butlers Abdallah and Salum were wonderful and catered to our every whim. We really enjoyed having breakfast served at the villa every morning out on the massive patio. The service was great everywhere we went on the grounds. Please note they do share grounds of a larger resort, Gemma dell'est, but guests of Diamonds get better treatment and do have their own private beach and restaurant. You do have access to all the Gemma restaurants as well which is nice if you want some variety. We discovered that the restaurant in Diamonds was the best though. Because this is part of a bigger resort it is best if you book scuba/spa appts ahead of time as we had some issues with the spa being fully booked some of the days we wanted to go. Renata, their new manager, was fantastic. She went out of her way to accommodate us with any requests we had and feel like she will have a big impact on the resort. She had only been their 2 weeks and could already see her touch on the resort. I also booked a private pilates lesson one morning in our villa which was wonderful. Forget the gym, equipment is really old. We enjoyed hanging out on the private beach where they had excellent service, a sunset sail on an old wooden boat, and walking to nearby Nungwi beach during low tide (time it right!). Renata and team booked a private dinner for us on the beach one night which was a really nice way to end the honeymoon. We were overall very impressed with the service and was sad to leave Diamonds. Side note: WI-FI was spotty.

Room Tip: Villa 3, good location, nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diamonds Star of the East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds Star of the East

Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#10 Family Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamonds Star of the East 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent private sanctuary of eleven exclusive villas with their own plunge pool and a tastefully furnished terrace, a covered Makuti patio and a large tropical garden to enjoy exclusive privacy and the supreme view over the Indian Ocean and the famous Zanzibar sunset. The villas are named after eleven of the most precious gems in the world to match the modern and contemporary African style architecture. Personal butler service, a private beach and unmatched all-inclusive services accommodate the most discerning traveller with ultimate comfort, privacy and luxury. Literally everything and anything you could dream of is catered for at the very highest level of all-inclusive services including access to all facilities, restaurants and bars of Diamonds La Gemma dell’Est. Diamonds Star of the East is member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Diamonds Star of the East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Star Of The East Zanzibar/Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamonds Star of the East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.