We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diamonds Star of the East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Diamonds Star of the East to your Saves list
Diamonds Star of the East
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have just returned to the UK after a 7 night stay at the Diamonds Star of the East as part of our honeymoon and we can honestly say that we have never stayed anywhere quite like it before - it was truly magical in every sense of the word!

Upon arrival, we were driven by golf buggie to our villa where we were personally welcomed by Renata (General Manager), Fabien (Food & Beverage Manager) and our butler for the week, Jonathan. We were presented with a glass of champagne and given a tour of the villa! Neither of us will ever forget that special welcome and also our initial reaction to seeing around the villa - a once in a lifetime moment!

The quality of the accommodation is first class - from its sheer size, the quality of finish, the variety of indoor/outdoor 'living' space, not to mention the sunken indoor jacuzzi, rain shower, outdoor shower and outdoor plunge pool/jacuzzi! The daily floral / towel displays on the bed was a special and incredibly impressive touch! We will never look at a 'hotel' room in quite the same way again!

The staff could not do enough for you - from Renata, to Fabien, to Jonathan (our personal butler), to the bar/restaurant staff - they were all warm, welcoming, good fun, professional, courteous and were always keen to ensure you were having the holiday of a lifetime! We could not fault them! The staff played a huge part in making our stay so special!

Whatever you wanted to eat, whenever you wanted to eat it and wherever you wanted to eat it - nothing was a problem! We had breakfast in the Ocean Restaurant and also had breakfast served on our outdoor patio on a couple of occasions - the variety on offer and quality was excellent! We dined in both the Ocean Restaurant (exclusive restaurant to Diamonds of the East) and Seabreeze (part of Gemma d'el Est but beautifully located out on the jetty overlooking the Indian Ocean) - the quality and service was again first class! On our last night, we had a special 'honeymoon' dinner served to us on the private beach - a fitting end to what had been a fantastic stay at the resort!

The beautiful private beach is a short walk / buggie ride from the exclusive grounds of Diamonds of the East and closer to its sister hotel, Gemma d'el Est. Whilst for some this may detract from the remote/exclusive nature of the resort, you can have as much or as little to do with the guests/facilities of Gemma d'el Est as you like. For us, we appreciated having some additional space to explore (the grounds of Gemma d'el Est are stunning) and additional bars to try out but we always ended up back up at Diamonds of the East - the two hotels just don't compare!

The private beach is perfectly located for you to venture out on to the public beach to enjoy a long walk along silky sands to Nungwi. A wonderful way to walk off the wonderful food and abundance of fine wine and cocktails!

All in all, a memorable, once in a lifetime stay at a first class resort!

Thank you to Renata and the rest of the team at Diamonds of the East! We will never forget you!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    3
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
51
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trencin, Slovakia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Diamonds Star of the East is one of the best resort of the world.....very friendly people....luxury rooms, pool with jacuzzi was amazing........i hope - i am coming back as soon as possible...All services were excellent level....I recommend to all travelers who like Zanzibar

Room Tip: Room nb. 4 !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We ended our safari at Diamonds Star of the East for 4 nights. Upon arrival we were greeted by the friendly staff and given a tour of the villa and property. The villas are massive and very luxurious. You aren't that close to the beach but you have a nice view of the sea. Every villa has its own private butler and small pool. Our butlers Abdallah and Salum were wonderful and catered to our every whim. We really enjoyed having breakfast served at the villa every morning out on the massive patio. The service was great everywhere we went on the grounds. Please note they do share grounds of a larger resort, Gemma dell'est, but guests of Diamonds get better treatment and do have their own private beach and restaurant. You do have access to all the Gemma restaurants as well which is nice if you want some variety. We discovered that the restaurant in Diamonds was the best though. Because this is part of a bigger resort it is best if you book scuba/spa appts ahead of time as we had some issues with the spa being fully booked some of the days we wanted to go. Renata, their new manager, was fantastic. She went out of her way to accommodate us with any requests we had and feel like she will have a big impact on the resort. She had only been their 2 weeks and could already see her touch on the resort. I also booked a private pilates lesson one morning in our villa which was wonderful. Forget the gym, equipment is really old. We enjoyed hanging out on the private beach where they had excellent service, a sunset sail on an old wooden boat, and walking to nearby Nungwi beach during low tide (time it right!). Renata and team booked a private dinner for us on the beach one night which was a really nice way to end the honeymoon. We were overall very impressed with the service and was sad to leave Diamonds. Side note: WI-FI was spotty.

Room Tip: Villa 3, good location, nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

A fabulous resort. Unexpected and well run, with great staff, lovely comfortable accomodations, a very easily accessible beach and pool. Love the beach with palm trees and lots of chairs. You can eat at different restaurants, and do all kinds of water sports. Don't miss a sunset cruise on a douw. Beautiful blue water. VEry well run operation. I recommend this highly. Would like to find out where the group has other properties.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

One of the finest resorts we have visited. Beautiful villa with private terrace and plunge pool, butler service, fresh flower petals decorate your bed daily, exquisite! We were there for 3 nights and enjoyed the water sports, especially the scuba diving. It is a first class operation. We did all inclusive and it was a great option. We would highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: All the one bedroom villas are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at Diamonds in 2011 and couldn't wait to return again in 2012 (this review is a little late!). The private villas are spacious, stylish, spotlessly clean and so comfortable you will never want to leave. The large outdoor patio with its huge comfy day bed, gorgeous ocean views and complete quiet is sublime. The private plunge pool is a bonus but it is very shallow so only good for a cool down and some splashing about, but a large hotel pool is just a few metres from the villa. The frequently replenished L'Occitane bathroom products are a nice touch and the rain shower overlooking a private garden which is lit up at night is fabulous. The SuperSport TV channel is also a bonus.

The private butler service is outstanding and catered to our every whim. The breakfasts, eaten at leisure on our private patio, are absolutely delicious and were a highlight of the stay. The Ocean Blue restaurant has magnificent views, fabulous food and excellent service (sometimes a bit too attentive though). The barmen at the adjacent Lounge Bar are delightful and make a mean cocktail. On most evenings there is live music entertainment in the bar and on a few occasions we were the only guests and thus enjoyed private performances before dinner - so special!!

Guests may also use all the restaurant and bar facilities of the La Gemma resort (on which Diamonds is located), which are all really good and provide nice variety when you get the urge to leave the private enclave of Diamonds. Our favourite is Cafe Moresco, a specialist tea/coffee venue built on stilts over the water, which is a great place to relax after dinner while enjoying live music from the Sunset Bar next door combined with the lapping of the ocean below, just awesome!

The spa at La Gemma is very good and having the use of another large swimming pool provides further variety. The hotel beach is smallish (and disappears at high tide) but is very clean and safe.

The service at Diamonds is world class and every staff member from porters and security guards, through to butlers, waiters, barmen, housekeepers and management is extra friendly, helpful and efficient. There were a couple of staff who couldn't really speak english but were game to partake in some fun charades which achieved the desired results in the end!

The only minor criticisms are the wifi, which is understandably sporadic (but inclusive in cost), and it would have been nice to have both a bath and shower (some villas only have showers). The mosquitos (mostly at night) are annoying (and obviously potentially dangerous) but a standard feature of this part of the world - take precautions!

It is quite astounding to encounter this level of luxury on a remote corner of an island. It makes the accomplishments of this hotel even more remarkable and appreciated! If you want a memorable, luxurious, relaxing holiday with all the frills, this is the place to go.

Room Tip: Request villa with full ocean view (some have lesser/partial views) and complete privacy (some of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mek'ele, Ethiopia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We went for our honeymoon.The villas are amazing, very spacious with all comfort and commodities. Buttler service is really good and food is pretty good. However, for those looking for a boutique hotel or a secluded place such as shown in the picture for honeymoon and romantic stays this is not quite the place to go as Diamonds of the East is within the complex of Gemma Del'Este (big resort). Also, all villas are quite close to each other even if vegetation gives some privacy. We enjoyed the villa but were disappointed with the privacy and surrundings. Also villas are quite far from the beach (to share with Gemma del'Este). In short beautiful villa inside but not quite the most romantic place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diamonds Star of the East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds Star of the East

Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#10 Family Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamonds Star of the East 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent private sanctuary of eleven exclusive villas with their own plunge pool and a tastefully furnished terrace, a covered Makuti patio and a large tropical garden to enjoy exclusive privacy and the supreme view over the Indian Ocean and the famous Zanzibar sunset. The villas are named after eleven of the most precious gems in the world to match the modern and contemporary African style architecture. Personal butler service, a private beach and unmatched all-inclusive services accommodate the most discerning traveller with ultimate comfort, privacy and luxury. Literally everything and anything you could dream of is catered for at the very highest level of all-inclusive services including access to all facilities, restaurants and bars of Diamonds La Gemma dell’Est. Diamonds Star of the East is member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Diamonds Star of the East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Star Of The East Zanzibar/Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamonds Star of the East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.