We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diamonds Star of the East

Save Saved
You added Diamonds Star of the East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Diamonds Star of the East
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 hotels in Nungwi
El Paso, Texas, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

One of the finest resorts we have visited. Beautiful villa with private terrace and plunge pool, butler service, fresh flower petals decorate your bed daily, exquisite! We were there for 3 nights and enjoyed the water sports, especially the scuba diving. It is a first class operation. We did all inclusive and it was a great option. We would highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: All the one bedroom villas are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
42
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at Diamonds in 2011 and couldn't wait to return again in 2012 (this review is a little late!). The private villas are spacious, stylish, spotlessly clean and so comfortable you will never want to leave. The large outdoor patio with its huge comfy day bed, gorgeous ocean views and complete quiet is sublime. The private plunge pool is a bonus but it is very shallow so only good for a cool down and some splashing about, but a large hotel pool is just a few metres from the villa. The frequently replenished L'Occitane bathroom products are a nice touch and the rain shower overlooking a private garden which is lit up at night is fabulous. The SuperSport TV channel is also a bonus.

The private butler service is outstanding and catered to our every whim. The breakfasts, eaten at leisure on our private patio, are absolutely delicious and were a highlight of the stay. The Ocean Blue restaurant has magnificent views, fabulous food and excellent service (sometimes a bit too attentive though). The barmen at the adjacent Lounge Bar are delightful and make a mean cocktail. On most evenings there is live music entertainment in the bar and on a few occasions we were the only guests and thus enjoyed private performances before dinner - so special!!

Guests may also use all the restaurant and bar facilities of the La Gemma resort (on which Diamonds is located), which are all really good and provide nice variety when you get the urge to leave the private enclave of Diamonds. Our favourite is Cafe Moresco, a specialist tea/coffee venue built on stilts over the water, which is a great place to relax after dinner while enjoying live music from the Sunset Bar next door combined with the lapping of the ocean below, just awesome!

The spa at La Gemma is very good and having the use of another large swimming pool provides further variety. The hotel beach is smallish (and disappears at high tide) but is very clean and safe.

The service at Diamonds is world class and every staff member from porters and security guards, through to butlers, waiters, barmen, housekeepers and management is extra friendly, helpful and efficient. There were a couple of staff who couldn't really speak english but were game to partake in some fun charades which achieved the desired results in the end!

The only minor criticisms are the wifi, which is understandably sporadic (but inclusive in cost), and it would have been nice to have both a bath and shower (some villas only have showers). The mosquitos (mostly at night) are annoying (and obviously potentially dangerous) but a standard feature of this part of the world - take precautions!

It is quite astounding to encounter this level of luxury on a remote corner of an island. It makes the accomplishments of this hotel even more remarkable and appreciated! If you want a memorable, luxurious, relaxing holiday with all the frills, this is the place to go.

Room Tip: Request villa with full ocean view (some have lesser/partial views) and complete privacy (some of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mek'ele, Ethiopia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We went for our honeymoon.The villas are amazing, very spacious with all comfort and commodities. Buttler service is really good and food is pretty good. However, for those looking for a boutique hotel or a secluded place such as shown in the picture for honeymoon and romantic stays this is not quite the place to go as Diamonds of the East is within the complex of Gemma Del'Este (big resort). Also, all villas are quite close to each other even if vegetation gives some privacy. We enjoyed the villa but were disappointed with the privacy and surrundings. Also villas are quite far from the beach (to share with Gemma del'Este). In short beautiful villa inside but not quite the most romantic place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at Star of the East for 4 nights. Definitely one of the most incredible hotel experiences we've ever had - not to mention the most luxurious! The 11 exclusive villas are all massive and have their own private sea view terrace and plunge pool. Everything is meticulously designed for comfort and utmost luxury.

The four course meals at the 5* exclusive restaurants were delicious and offered impressive variety. The all inclusive wine selection was also excellent, particularly given how difficult it is to get good wine in East Africa. And for ultimate privacy you can choose to have meals served on your private terrace!

The best thing about the place is the service. A personal butler is on call 24 hours a day to cater for your every need. All the butlers we had were great but a particular shout out to Abdallah, who was charming and warm as well as extremely efficient! In fact all the staff were really friendly and very professional - a fair few notches above anywhere else we've been in East Africa.

And finally, Nungwi is the only beach in Zanzibar which is great for swimming regardless of whether it's high or low tide.

Overall, definitely the place to go when you're looking for a trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

One of the most luxurious and well designed villa I have ever stayed at.

Running a 5 star resort in a remote part of the world has its challenges and this property has overcome these challenges and proven it as a well managed true luxury resort.

Everything from food, bathroom amenities, service were truly excellent. The resort manager Sabine was one of the best resort managers I have ever experienced.

Pros:
- Private section of the beach for diamond star guests
- Exclusive restaurant for diamond star guests
- Villas are private and luxurious
- Plush & relaxing

Cons
- Unreliable/ weak wifi signal.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Special thanks to our main butler (Salim) who for religious beliefs could not stick around when my wife wanted to unwind and let her hair down. However, he did manage to always be there within a moments notice.
The villas are an architectural marvel.
Food was top notch.
Customer service was awesome. We were basically spoiled during our entire stay.
All in all the best resort in Zanzibar.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday in Zanzibar and can honestly say, we could very happily have stayed there forever – we were there for 9 nights and would find it very difficult to knock it!

Our villa was very spacious and every detail had been considered, it was perfect. There was everything you could possibly need for relaxation in the sun by your own private plunge pool, in the shade on the most comfortable lounger or inside the villa in the cool of the air conditioning with a wonderful view or one of two huge plasma tv’s. That's not to mention the exclusive pool area for villa guests, the main pool and private beach area for villa guest!

The staff, they were just amazing! From Sabine in Guest Relations to our 24 hour Butlers Nassor and Hemza who catered to our every need. Our housekeeper Mosi created beautiful floral creations in the room every day, something which may seem very small, but really, the devil is most definitely in the detail.

While the villa’s offer in room dining we did venture out a few evenings and I have to say, we had great experiences. The Sea Breeze Restaurant which is located on stilts over the ocean is a 'must' for dinner particularly if you like seafood. The Pavilion offered buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner which we also enjoyed on occasion simply for an alternative to 4 course fine dining experiences. The Ocean Blue Restaurant was nice but we found the menu to be limited particularly as it seemed to be the same as the in rooming dining menu. Having said that, the staff were great Martin in Ocean Blue Restaurant and Fabian in the Restaurant's Bar we funny and friendly, the Bar was also well stocked with top shelf branded spirits which were all included within the package – so who can complain?!

Not sure we will ever better this holiday, it’ll be tough but we will continue to search!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Diamonds Star of the East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds Star of the East

Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Family Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamonds Star of the East 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent private sanctuary of eleven exclusive villas with their own plunge pool and a tastefully furnished terrace, a covered Makuti patio and a large tropical garden to enjoy exclusive privacy and the supreme view over the Indian Ocean and the famous Zanzibar sunset. The villas are named after eleven of the most precious gems in the world to match the modern and contemporary African style architecture. Personal butler service, a private beach and unmatched all-inclusive services accommodate the most discerning traveller with ultimate comfort, privacy and luxury. Literally everything and anything you could dream of is catered for at the very highest level of all-inclusive services including access to all facilities, restaurants and bars of Diamonds La Gemma dell’Est. Diamonds Star of the East is member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Diamonds Star of the East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Star Of The East Zanzibar/Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamonds Star of the East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.