We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic vew, Spacious rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Essque Zalu Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Essque Zalu Zanzibar to your Saves list
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nungwi 3151, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Nungwi
Moshi, Tanzania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic vew, Spacious rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and My fiance stayed here at room 15 that was sea facing. it was a lovely hotel spread with individual chalets and good space. I was very happy with the colors and design of the bath room. I loved the food as well. I would love to stay here again soon.

Room Tip: Good Liesure Hotel. Must Stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte C, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Reviewer,

Karibu!

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your feedback, pertaining your most recent stay with us here at Essque Zalu, Zanzibar.

I was delighted to read your comments and, in particular, our food offering at our restaurants. Please rest assured that I shall be sharing your most kind comments with our Chef, who I am sure will be delighted.

It is the aim of each and every one of our colleagues at the resort, to provide our esteemed guests with an enjoyable experience and a service that comes straight from the heart. It makes me extremely happy to know that the team is delivering the promise and to know that it is being noticed and appreciated.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back home soon to Essque Zalu, Zanzibar and provide you with a memorable and enjoyable holiday experience.

In the meantime, on behalf of the team, we remain,

Always at your service.

Best Personal Regards,

Duarte Correia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    44
    11
    6
    0
See reviews for
76
195
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Negombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed there for 2 nights. I can say this is one of the best hotels located in northern cost of Zanzibar - Nungwi.

Love the architecture of the hotel and the setup of rooms. They are well decorated and room service is pretty good.

Salt water infinity edge pool is fabulous. There is no sand beach at the hotel. Probably this is not the place for people who would like to interact in beach activities.

Market kitchen is ready to serve you whatever you name it, even if it is not in the menu, but service was bit slower for dinner on the first day. Some of the restaurant staff seems not well trained and we had to repeat and follow up with them. Not sure if this is because of the low season.

Overall we are happy with our 2 days stay and enjoyed.

To see the 360 degrees panoramic view at hotel click https://www.360cities.net/image/view-at-essque-zalu

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuarteCorreia, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Maheshdf,

Karibu!

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your feedback, pertaining your most recent stay with us here at Essque Zalu, Zanzibar.

I was delighted to read your comments and, in particular, that you have enjoyed our salt water pool, the rooms and our Food and Beverage offering. I was however, sorry to hear that you have experienced some delays whilst dining at our Market Kitchen Restaurant.

This is certainly not representative of our standards of service and please accept my apologies for this oversight. We are in fact carrying-out a series of training sessions with our team during this period of low-season, so as to ensure that we continue to improve on our overall service delivery. As a matter of fact, I am happy to report that the resort will be welcoming its new Director of Food & Beverage soon and I am certain that you will see the improvements, when you visit us next.

I can only but hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back home soon to Essque Zalu, Zanzibar and provide you with a memorable and enjoyable holiday experience.

In the meantime, on behalf of the team, we reamain,

Always at your service!

Best Personal Regards,

Duarte Correia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Exquisite attention to detail. All staff were faultless in their want to make our stay unforgettable. Nothing was too much for our personal Butler, Edger. Sublime in every way. Although maybe more suited to couples children are made to feel so welcome and are treated superbly well.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuarteCorreia, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Reviewer,

Karibu!

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your feedback, pertaining your most recent stay with us here at Essque Zalu, Zanzibar.

I was delighted to read your comments and, in particular, the service provided to you by your Butler, Edgar. Please rest assured that I shall pass your most kind comments to him, who no doubt, will be very pleased.

It is the aim of each and every one of our colleagues at the resort, to provide our esteemed guests with an enjoyable experience and a service that comes straight from the heart. It makes me extremely happy to know that the team is delivering the promise and to know that it is being noticed and appreciated.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back home soon to Essque Zalu, Zanzibar and provide you with a memorable and enjoyable holiday experience.

In the meantime, on behalf of the team, we reamin,

Always at your service!

Best Personal Regards,


Duarte Correia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family of 5 stayed at Essque Zalu over the long May Day weekend together with another family and we had a wonderful time. Our hotel suite was spacious enough to accommodate all five of us thanks to the king size bed and a double pull-out bed in the lounge.

Best of all are the views from the pool area, which are absolutely breath taking! There are 2 infinity swimming pools that cater for adults and children of all swimming abilities as well as a sufficient number of deck chairs and towels.

The hotel also has a kids club for children aged 4 – 12 years that is run by a lovely lady called Neema and it offers different daily activities at specific times including dinner and a movie in the evenings. This means that parents can also have some time to themselves, or in our case focus on the younger children without having to worry about keeping the older ones entertained.

The food is very good and we had the option of placing special orders with prior notice, which was very important and helpful for the children's meals.

The staff is attentive and very friendly although the service has room for improvement. Our food orders were incorrect or incomplete on a number of occasions and on one morning it took over an hour to get a pot of herbal tea. However, the management was very receptive to the feedback we gave them on this issue and on one occasion went as far as offering us complementary meals. We hope the management is able to close that gap in the service.

Overall, our experience at Essque Zalu was positively unforgettable and I would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for an affordable and family-friendly resort in Zanzibar.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte C, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Reviewer Muneroki,

Karibu!!

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your feedback, pertaining your most recent stay with us here at Essque Zalu, Zanzibar.

I was delighted to read your comments and, in particular, the service provided at the Kids Club by my colleague Neema. Please rest assured that I shall share your most kind comments with her, who I am sure will be delighted.

It is the aim of each and every one of our colleagues at the resort, to provide our esteemed guests with an enjoyable experience and a service that comes straight from the heart. It makes me extremely happy to know that the team is delivering the promise and to know that it is being noticed and appreciated.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back home soon to Essque Zalu, Zanzibar and provide you with a memorable and enjoyable holiday experience.

In the meantime, on behalf of the team, we remain.

Always at your service

Duarte Correia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Essque was all that the previous reviewers have stated.
It was extremely quiet this week, which suited me perfectly.
The staff are gracious, helpful and there when you need them.
The villas are huge, well designed and with all the basics you need.
The pool is spectacular, the jetty is a great spot to watch the sunset and the food although not a huge variety is delicious.
Highly recommend.

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte C, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Reviewer Guy K,

Asante Sana!

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your feedback, pertaining your most recent stay with us here at Essque Zalu, Zanzibar.

I was delighted to read your comments and, in particular, about our food offering across our Food and Beverage outlets. It is an honor to be the recipients of such praise and please rest assured that I shall be sharing your most valuable comments with the team and our Executive Chef, Jussi, who I am sure will be delighted.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back home soon to Essque Zalu, Zanzibar and provide you with a memorable and enjoyable holiday experience.

In the meantime, on behalf of the team, we remain,

Always at your service!


Duarte Correia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Returned from a 5 night stay a week ago. A really enjoyable experience. The hotel was not fully occupied when we were there and the ratio of staff to guests was high - the service by the staff throughout the hotel was superb and due to the relatively small size of this hotel (compared to larger ones where we have stayed in the past) the service seems far more personal and attentive. The hotel was very clean and well maintained and the gardens around the site were always beautifully manicured and really made the place. The main pool area is really stunning.

Room - We stayed in a suite. These are arranged in two storey buildings with one suite on the lower floor and another on the upper floor. Both the upper and lower floors have balconies, although we had an upper floor room which I think would feel more private than a lower one. Also, ours was not an ocean facing suite, but you could still see out to the sea from the balcony (although you were not right on the sea front). Obviously this wouldn't be possible in a ground floor suite. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Potentially one way that they could be improved would be to have a DVD player and some disks to hire in reception as, for longer stays, sometimes it is nice to go back to the room and have a quiet night in. There is no entertainment in the hotel and it is generally pretty quiet.

Food - This is an important part of any holiday for myself and my wife and the food here was generally excellent. There are three restaurants - a jetty restaurant which serves a lot of Mediterranean/Middle Eastern type food (eg. grilled meat and fish skewers, hummus and breads, salads etc) and is only open during the day. Then there is the main market restaurant and also a 'fine dining' restaurant which wasn't open during our stay. The full board package allowed you to choose up to three courses of anything from the a la carte menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food is a good mix of European type dishes and the market restaurant menu also contains a handful of Swahili dishes which were a nice change. Each night the market restaurant had a special starter, main course and dessert which were generally very good and maintained variety. It is possible to sit outdoors in the market restaurant and it is plenty warm enough in the evenings to do this. If you weren't on a full/half board package, most main courses from the a la carte menu are priced at c.18-22 USD. The serving hours are very flexible, breakfast is served from 7am until mid morning, lunch until 5pm and dinner until 11pm so if you go out on excursions during the day, you should never have to fit your plans around having to be back for a certain time.

Breakfast was also good - a continental buffet containing fruit, pastries, cereals, juices etc and then 6-8 a la carte cooked options.

Location - The hotel is on the outskirts of Nungwi which contains a number of other hotels and small bars and restaurants clustered around a beach area. We have travelled quite a bit in Asia and thought that the beaches and the sea in Zanzibar were better than many that we've seen in Asia. Nungwi is not over-developed either and the hotels and tourism haven't taken over the place and destroyed its character in the same way that some may have done in Thailand or Bali for example. The hotel is about 20-30 minutes walk from the centre of Nungwi (which is very small) along the beach. However, this has to be correctly timed as at certain times of the day, the tides will make walking along the beach impossible. If this is the case, it's possible to get back to the hotel by road or taxi. The hotel itself has no beach to speak of, but you can access a beach after 5-10 minutes walk. There are a number of other hotels closer to Nungwi which have a beach area directly in front of them (the Hilton Doubletree is one). However, given how nice the pool area is at Zalu, this shouldn't put you off.

Nungwi is over an hour's drive from the airport at Stonetown. The hotel will arrange a transfer (I think for 200 USD) but we managed to pre-book this through a local agency for 100 USD, although for some people it may be more convenient to use the hotel. We had an afternoon flight so arranged for our transfer to drop us off in Stone Town for a couple of hours and keep our luggage and then take us to the airport after that (which is about 10-15 minutes away, doing this cost another 20 USD). Stone Town isn't huge but is interesting and worth a morning or afternoon.

One other point to note is that in February when we went, it was windy season and it was a little breezy, especially in the evenings. Given the heat I don't think this would normally be an issue, although we used our stay in Zanzibar to go diving on several days (used East Africa Diving who were excellent) and the sea was quite choppy and the visibility a little limited on the first day.

Finally, the hotel (like most places in Zanzibar) imposes a 4% charge for the use of credit cards. I find this a bit frustrating in a hotel of this size as I can't imagine that anyone would be able to completely avoid this given the amounts payable at the end of a stay for several nights. Everything is priced in USD so if you are a US national and have USD anyway, then it's probably best taking more cash to Zanzibar and paying in cash for things to avoid these credit card commissions (we also had to pay a 5% credit card fee to the dive centre, again a dollar transaction where, you could in theory, have paid in cash). As you would expect, there is a safe in the room.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte C, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, March 2, 2015
Dear "242Paul",

Karibu Sana!

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your valued and extensive feedback, pertaining your most recent stay with us here at Essque Zalu, Zanzibar.

I was delighted to read your comments and that you enjoyed your experience with us.

We believe that holidays make for the most enjoyable and memorable moments and we don't wish to spoil that with regimented operating procedures. Unlike most hotels, we don't practice the usual "check in or check out times" nor do we give our guests a time frame for their meals that is suitable for us. We believe if our guests wish to avail themselves of a late breakfast, they should be able to. We also believe that there is nothing more frustrating than travelling for hours only to be told upon check in that "the room will not be ready until 2pm"!

This being said, I am beyond thrilled to learn from your comments, that these little touches are being noticed and, most importantly, appreciated!

It is the aim of each and every one of our colleagues at the resort, to provide our esteemed guests with an enjoyable experience and a service that comes straight from the heart. Being a passionate hotelier, it makes me extremely happy to know that the team is delivering the promise.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back home soon to Essque Zalu, Zanzibar and provide you with a most memorable and enjoyable holiday experience.

In the meantime, on behalf of the team, we reamin,

Always at your service!

Best Personal Regards,

Duarte Correia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon in August 2013, it was wonderfully relaxing. There was enough going on to keep us occupied for 5 days without leaving the resort/beach (which is unheard of for us), but it was quiet enough to properly relax and recover from the wedding and 6 amazing but long days on safari in Tanzania! The food was great, plenty of choice, the service was excellent and the position on the beach was perfect for long walks at low tide. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte C, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, March 2, 2015
Dear "Alexandra H",

Karibu!

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your feedback, pertaining your honeymoon spent at Essque Zalu in August 2013.

I was delighted to read your comments and, in particular, about our food offering across our Food and Beverage outlets as well as the service you enjoyed at the Resort. It is an honor to be the recipients of such praise and please rest assured that I shall be sharing your most valuable comments with the team and our Executive Chef, Jussi, who I am sure will be delighted.

It is the aim of each and every one of our colleagues at the resort, to provide our esteemed guests with an enjoyable experience and a service that comes straight from the heart. It makes me extremely happy to know that the team is delivering the promise and to know that it is being noticed and appreciated.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back home soon to Essque Zalu, Zanzibar and provide you with a memorable and enjoyable holiday experience. Perhaps for your second wedding anniversary?

In the meantime, on behalf of the team, we reamin,

Always at your service!

Best Personal Regards,

Duarte Correia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Essque Zalu Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essque Zalu Zanzibar

Address: Nungwi 3151, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#3 Family Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Essque Zalu Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essque Zalu Zanzibar is an intimate boutique destination nestled in a natural cove on the island’s north-eastern coast overlooking the Indian Ocean. Choose from 40 suites, all with picturesque views over the lush tropical garden or the ocean turquoise blue. Ensconce yourself in luxurious-styled spaces crafted from local materials, adorned with native artwork and housed under a traditional pitched Makuti roof. If you need extra space to spread out, try one of our nine expansive villas; 3 or 4 bedrooms. Stretch out in the spacious living room, rustle up a snack in your own kitchen or just chill in the privacy of your very own plunge pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Essque Zalu Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essque Zalu Zanzibar Hotel Nungwi
Essque Zalu Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essque Zalu Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.