We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class all the way!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Essque Zalu Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Essque Zalu Zanzibar to your Saves list
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nungwi 3151, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Nungwi
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“First Class all the way!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were spoilt by the staff at this luxurious resort. We arrived after a weeks safari and were pleasantly met by Luc the General Manager. From here there was no fuss checking in or waiting around as we were shown swiftly to our suite. The room suite was fantastic with a super- duper king size bed which was so comfy, a huge bathroom and nice sitting area. It was the nicest room i have stayed in across anyone of my trips across the world......The entrance/lobby is breathtaking as you walk through and see the ocean. The hotel boasts a wonderful jetty to enjoy great cocktails as the sun goes down. I thought these cocktails were reasonably priced at $6.....they just slipped down too quickly! The rest of the grounds are immaculate which is credit to the staff, everyone is happy to help and goes out of their way to assist without being in your face. John in the Baobab bar served us great cocktails and wine each night always with a great big smile and with more stories to tell....Jon was also great each morning as he served us breakfast. The food is fantastic .....some of the best I have had whist staying in any hotel. We went out a couple of nights to Kendwa to try some of the other restaurants/ hotels but looked forward to coming back to Essque as it knocks the spots of the others by a mile. If you are looking for a holiday that is relaxing, luxurious, serving great food by great staff in a wonderful environment then this is the place to go! Nothing is too much trouble....Top marks Essque for a wonderful relaxing and peaceful holiday. We hope to return someday!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
good morning Nick!
it's true, our guests have no checking-in to do, in fact we don't even have a front desk. Thank you for your compliments towards John and Jon! I will pass them on to both team members. Also thanks for the compliments about the meals. With a certain pride we would like to mention that we have only one expatriate in the kitchen. Our Executive Chef Jussi is from Sweden; all other team members in that department are Tanzanians. Only to say that when proper training is applied, all is possible. Tanzanians (including Zanzibari of course) are hard workers and eager to learn! One last question: when are you coming back? Kind regards, Luc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    48
    12
    6
    0
See reviews for
81
202
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Before travelling to Zanzibar we had been on a safari in the Serengeti which as been an incredible experience. Essque Zalu heightened yet our satisfaction with these holidays. The hotel is really fantastic! We were on an ocean view suite which was very spacious and the seaview was really nice.
The staff is always eager to please and satisfy any request you may have.
The food is excellent too, with the sole exception of the a la carte restaurant, where we had dinner once and whose experience wasn't so memorable.
The pool is beautiful, as well as the jetty (although quite windy on the period of our stay).
The minus point at Essque Zalu is clearly the beach (in truth, no beach...), but who cares, when you have such a pool!
It definitively is an hotel we would like to return to in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Bom Dia Rui. Thank you for your kind remarks on your stay at Essque Zalu. Whilst we agree that the à la carte experience might not have met your expectations, we gladly inform you that we have changed the menu and it seems to be collecting some amazing reviews in-house. True, we have no beach and that is how our guests like it: during low tide, you can walk up to 8 km on the white sandy beach of Nungwi. And during hi-tide, you get the waves splashes almost entering your suite... When will we see you again? best personal regards, Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We celebrated our honeymoon at essque and could not be more satisfied! Staff are everywhere and super helpful, room and hotel facilities of very high standard and location is the best on Zanzibar. The honeymoon offer (you have to order via their website) is incredible and includes couple massage, romantic dinner on the roof with private butler, upgrade to full board meal plan++++. Quite expensive, but we will probably never experience a better hotel stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Jonas. thank you for your kind review on your experience at Essque Zalu. It is true that we try to pamper our Honeymooners and the dinner on the terrace-roof with private butler is indeed unique. However, we are sure that you will find an occasion to come back: ask your friends to buy this as a gift for your first wedding anniversary! Good idea, no? Sunny greetings from Unguja, a.k.a. Zanzibar. Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Its an hour's drive to the north of the island to get here, but once you're there you don't want to leave, well, we didn't. Our 2 night 3 day stay turned into 5 days and 4 nights. The pool looks like it drops into the sea. The Jetty is an incredible place for sundowners, cocktails and lunch. The restaurants contend with the best food we've had anywhere and the spa gave me the best scrub, wrap and massage Ive had anywhere after their steam room and sauna. The GM checked up daily on all of us staying there to check we were happy and the rest of the staff were not only helpful and greatly attentive but made you feel totally at home. After 8 days safari this was the only place in the world we wanted to be. The only drawbacks are that watersports are outrageously expensive here, and of course that its an hour from stonetown, but thats a tour that can easily be arranged to slot in on the way to or from the airport. We cant decide if the next trip will be for a wedding, a honeymoon or to rent a villa and bring our friends! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ocean front room or if in a group the villas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Buenas Dias CVR2013; I remember how sad you were having to leave Essque Zalu, even after extending your stay. We would like to point out that our watersports activities are organized by a fully licensed company, East African Diving, hence we are ensured that their equipment is properly ensured, maintained and manned. what cannot be said about the activities one can rent from the Beach Boys. And you are right as well that the visit to Stone Town can be arranged whilst on the way to the airport, but it is a must. Looking forward to seeing you with your friends... Muchos Gracias! Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Ending our Tanzanian Summer holidays at Zanzibar's Essque Zalu, was the best choice of the year! What an amazing hotel. We had a superbe house / room with a view on the ocean. The astonishing swimming pool was the best 'nanny' for our kids during the 5 days of our stay. Most of the staff were very nice and helpful. Especially a big thank you to our compatriot, Luc, general manager of the hotel. Having a drink at the jetty with view on the sunset is thrilling.... Top!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Fred De Maneblusser!. thank you for your wonderful comments. We'll send your compliments to our "Nanny" as well as to the entire team. We are glad that the kids enjoyed the pool and that your overall stay with us at Essque Zalu was a rewarding end of your summer holidays! Till we meet again! Groetjes uit Zanzibar. Luc Verschelden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anzegem, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We came to essque zalu to relax after a six day safari together with our two kids (14 and 10 y). We all had a great time. The service is impeccable. The staff did really everything to make our stay as comfortable as possible. One day when it was raining, our son got a private cinema and the responsable of the kids club accompanied us to the turtle reserve.
The food is amazing. The kids could even choose something a la carte when they didn't like the menu. Sitting on the jetty and enjoy lunch in such a beautiful setting, having a quick swim in the ocean from the pier, watching the sunsets ... We miss it allready.
Thank you Luc for the most beautiful villa, we enjoyed every minute in it!!!
Hope to see you all again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Veerle. Thank you for your wonderful comments and rewarding compliments. It is true that the holiday for the parents are only as good as their children enjoyed it. We are glad that your kids did! I am sure that they will have lots to talk about when they go back to school. If you miss it already, just send us a mail and we'll make the reservations for your next visit! Please give my regards to Vichte! and till we meet again. Luc Verschelden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

one over night stay , and all i can say its just a real worldwide hotel , lovely environment , amenities , food , room size .
Front staff very accommodating , stunning beach view .
enjoyed my stay and will defently spend more nights there .
note : market is an 1 hour away from Zalu Hotel , and honestly there is nothing much outside just amazing beaches and stunning views .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear David. Indeed a shame you could not stay longer. We appreciate your comments. I have forwarded your kind remarks to Alfred. Now, the only thing left to say: when are you coming back for a longer stay with us? best regards to the Gold Coast. Kind Regards, Luc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
16.5 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#3 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 803 reviews
23.7 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 145 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 479 reviews
1.7 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
9.9 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#5 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essque Zalu Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essque Zalu Zanzibar

Address: Nungwi 3151, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Essque Zalu Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essque Zalu Zanzibar is an intimate boutique destination nestled in a natural cove on the island’s north-eastern coast overlooking the Indian Ocean. Choose from 40 suites, all with picturesque views over the lush tropical garden or the ocean turquoise blue. Ensconce yourself in luxurious-styled spaces crafted from local materials, adorned with native artwork and housed under a traditional pitched Makuti roof. If you need extra space to spread out, try one of our nine expansive villas; 3 or 4 bedrooms. Stretch out in the spacious living room, rustle up a snack in your own kitchen or just chill in the privacy of your very own plunge pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Essque Zalu Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essque Zalu Zanzibar Hotel Nungwi
Essque Zalu Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essque Zalu Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.