We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on Zanzibar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Essque Zalu Zanzibar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Essque Zalu Zanzibar to your Saves list
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nungwi, Nungwi 3151, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Mechelen, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Paradise on Zanzibar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Ending our Tanzanian Summer holidays at Zanzibar's Essque Zalu, was the best choice of the year! What an amazing hotel. We had a superbe house / room with a view on the ocean. The astonishing swimming pool was the best 'nanny' for our kids during the 5 days of our stay. Most of the staff were very nice and helpful. Especially a big thank you to our compatriot, Luc, general manager of the hotel. Having a drink at the jetty with view on the sunset is thrilling.... Top!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Fred De Maneblusser!. thank you for your wonderful comments. We'll send your compliments to our "Nanny" as well as to the entire team. We are glad that the kids enjoyed the pool and that your overall stay with us at Essque Zalu was a rewarding end of your summer holidays! Till we meet again! Groetjes uit Zanzibar. Luc Verschelden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    37
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
68
178
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anzegem, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We came to essque zalu to relax after a six day safari together with our two kids (14 and 10 y). We all had a great time. The service is impeccable. The staff did really everything to make our stay as comfortable as possible. One day when it was raining, our son got a private cinema and the responsable of the kids club accompanied us to the turtle reserve.
The food is amazing. The kids could even choose something a la carte when they didn't like the menu. Sitting on the jetty and enjoy lunch in such a beautiful setting, having a quick swim in the ocean from the pier, watching the sunsets ... We miss it allready.
Thank you Luc for the most beautiful villa, we enjoyed every minute in it!!!
Hope to see you all again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Veerle. Thank you for your wonderful comments and rewarding compliments. It is true that the holiday for the parents are only as good as their children enjoyed it. We are glad that your kids did! I am sure that they will have lots to talk about when they go back to school. If you miss it already, just send us a mail and we'll make the reservations for your next visit! Please give my regards to Vichte! and till we meet again. Luc Verschelden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

one over night stay , and all i can say its just a real worldwide hotel , lovely environment , amenities , food , room size .
Front staff very accommodating , stunning beach view .
enjoyed my stay and will defently spend more nights there .
note : market is an 1 hour away from Zalu Hotel , and honestly there is nothing much outside just amazing beaches and stunning views .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear David. Indeed a shame you could not stay longer. We appreciate your comments. I have forwarded your kind remarks to Alfred. Now, the only thing left to say: when are you coming back for a longer stay with us? best regards to the Gold Coast. Kind Regards, Luc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed at the Essque Zalu Resort for 7 nights and was impressed by everything they had to offer. The personal charm of the way you are welcomed to the resort is unparalleled. Alfred met me at my taxi and walked me to my room and explained the restaurant options and amenities of the resort. By the time I was finished with check in preliminaries my bags had arrived and I was able to unwind in the room for the evening. The staff are friendly and remember your room number after visiting the first time. It is a small resort which gives a more friendly yet peaceful atmosphere. I was very happy with the location on the Ocean. The water is beautiful and eating at the Jetty Restaurant located in the middle of the Ocean was unreal. The market restaurant is also a great place to sample Swahili dishes as well as international cuisine. The welcome cocktail hour provided by the General Manager, Luc, was very nice. Luc, along with the chef and staff are accommodating of any request. I would recommend this resort to anyone traveling to Zanzibar. It is located about 1.5 hrs away from the main city of Stonetown but well worth the travel. This was my first visit to Zanzibar, but will not be my last.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Friend of Essque Zalu. Your comments are indeed rewarding and with a certain pride, I will pass them on to all team members. Together with all hoteliers, we are doing the utmost in order that all our guests feel special, which indeed you are, very special. Our aim is to give you this personal, yet peaceful, non-intrusive feeling of tranquility surrounded by the beauty of the Indian Ocean. We are so glad that we achieved our goal during your visit. So one question: when are you coming back? Alfred and the entire team are looking forward. Kind regards, Luc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saar, Bahrain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our 6 nights at the Essque were relaxing and peaceful. All our needs were immediately addressed and the staff went out of their way to ensure our trip went smoothly. The service at this hotel is notable with the General Manager making regular appearances but I was disappointed that the Tours Manager was not available everyday. The quality of food and variety was really good even with three children who are choosy eaters. Extras, like fresh juices, are quite expensive. Ok the room decor was nothing spectacular, but with a large closet, large bathroom and big balcony, we really didn't mind. At times we felt the hotel to be too quiet, while always beautiful, and were disappointed that the gym was not functional.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a sea view suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
dear Friends from Bahrain. Thank you for your wonderful comments. I do recall your visit clearly as it was remarkable to see 4 ladies getting along so well and enjoying each other's company! We are waiting for the new gym equipment to arrive and being on an island, that is not a small challenge. Too quite: Most of our guests value the peace and calm at Essque Zalu; However, i will meet with our colleague who is handling excursions to be more visible and alert. Once again, thanks for your comments and looking forward to seeing those "four sisters" (best girlfriends) soon back here on Zanzibar. Sunny greetings from Unguja, a.k.a. Zanzibar. Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

I arrived home today after spending 10 wonderful days at essque zalu in zanzibar and can honestly say it was a holiday of a life time.
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we loved every minute. The staff including cleaners, gardeners, pool guys, navigators and waiters were on hand every minute of the day to make you feel welcome and tend to your needs. Nothing we asked for was too much trouble. It was good to see the general manager around every day too and was appreciated that he enquirer about the holiday and was there to greet us on arrival and say goodbye on departure.
Our suite was in the garden (number 33) and was our own private paradise set amongst the beautiful shrubs and flowers. The bed was massive and very comfortable and the private terrace out the front was lovely to sit on in the evening. Our room was cleaned to a high standard every day and we enjoyed coming home from dinner each evening to a turned down bed :-)
The food was to die for. Plenty of choice at breakfast and lunch on the jetty admiring the wonderful views is a must as is watching the sunset from here too. The evening meals were varied every day and was simply wonderful. We loved the presentation of the desserts especially and took many photos of them!
As part of our honeymoon package we had a couples massage. This was the most relaxing thing I have ever eexperienced and my husband who does not normally enjoy massages came out looking forward to his next one.
Everything about our stay was a true wow moment from the food to the views to the service that we received and we would like to say a huge thank you to everyone at the resort for making our honeymoon a truly magical and memorable moment.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Michelle. Thank you for your wonderful compliments! It gives us a feeling of achieving our goals when reading your comments. We strive to provide the most personalized service possible, without of course intruding on the guests' privacy. Our team composed of many Tanzanians and Zanzibari, are dedicated and proud at the same time to be part of the success Essque Zalu has achieved. We will leave no stone unturned to maintain these standards. When are you planning to come back? Sunny greetings from Unguja, a.k.a. Zanzibar. Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel is OK but so overpriced. Atmosphere is very cold - you feel as you have to talk in a hush way not to be judged by the other guests or staff. You could be anywhere in the world as this is such a typical hotel that shuts you off from the real world. Very poor on advice and organization of out-side activities. Food OK - drinks not, so better order a beer here and stay away from the cocktails.Don't expect a nice beach here neither. A disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Rita van Ghent. Thank you for your comments about your stay and we're sorry to read your disappointment. Please note that we do not advertise ourselves as a beach resort. On the other hand we have a makuti roof of 38m high (makuti is the typical Tanzanian roof structure). Throughout the resort we have used hardwood from reforestation sites on the mainland. In our opinion, we've done our best to make you feel in Tanzania/Zanzibar. We will review the issues with the Cocktails with our team and ensure that original recipes only are being used. Excursions are handled by a third company and they promote all the interesting and typical attractions worthy of any destination: Stone Town (UNESCO Heritage site), Jozani Forest, Spice Gardens; furthermore we have a PADI licensed scuba diving agent as well as snorkeling around the world famous Mnemba Atoll. Would you not agree that all this could keep you busy for a while? But i must agree, the beer in Belgium, Augustijn, Piraat & Gulden Draak, to name but a few are far superior than any beer or cocktail, no matter where in the world. Best Regards, Luc van Ertvelde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Essque Zalu Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essque Zalu Zanzibar

Address: Nungwi, Nungwi 3151, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Essque Zalu Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essque Zalu Zanzibar is an intimate boutique destination nestled in a natural cove on the island’s north-eastern coast overlooking the Indian Ocean. Choose from 40 suites, all with picturesque views over the lush tropical garden or the ocean turquoise blue. Ensconce yourself in luxurious-styled spaces crafted from local materials, adorned with native artwork and housed under a traditional pitched Makuti roof. If you need extra space to spread out, try one of our nine expansive villas; 3 or 4 bedrooms. Stretch out in the spacious living room, rustle up a snack in your own kitchen or just chill in the privacy of your very own plunge pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Essque Zalu Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essque Zalu Zanzibar Hotel Nungwi
Essque Zalu Zanzibar Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essque Zalu Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.