We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Essque Zalu Zanzibar

Save Saved
You added Essque Zalu Zanzibar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nungwi, Nungwi 3151, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Mombasa, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Luxury Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Absolutely STUNNING.... location and the hotel is beautiful. Luxury villas..... very nice rooms, strong A/C ...... had a villa facing the ocean , was breathtaking..... could see the jetty with a restaurant at the end..... food is excellent especially if u love sea food. Exquisite. very modern architecture . loved the place, very quite and peaceful. A place to relax. Very friendly staff ,and very efficient. A perfect place to get away with family or your spouse and spend quality time and just CHILL.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    32
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
66
164
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed 3 nights after a Safari trip here. It was one of the best we have stayed. Luc the General Manager and other staff ensured our stay was memorable. As vegetarians we had a limited choice, but on our request they made some special orders.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

There are hotels in Zanzibar that are good and some which are quite exquisite. The Essque Zalu tops all that and stands apart and is head and shoulders ahead of all other luxury hotels in Zanzibar. The resort is in Nungwi and is at the northern tip of Unguja ( Zanizibar). As such the ocean is just gorgeous. The hotel has a panoramic view over the entire Ocean expanse and the same can be enjoyed from the infinity pool. Its a lovely setting and all you hear are the sounds of the waves crashing into the corals. Priceless!..
There is a lovely jetty that stretches well into the ocean and serves some lovely lebanese food and also lovely cocktails. Its quite an experience to just sit out and gaze at the ocean. Very relaxing. The main Market Kitchen restaurant is very nice too. The menus are fixed and have options of Swahili as well as a separate vegetarian menu. The food is very chic and the presentations are lovely. Quite an effort to put out this quality in Zanzibar. The service is equally good. There are 2 other bars and a private dining restaurant on the mezzanine. So there are additional options in case someone wants a special evening!.
The landscaping is actually very nice and a walk in the morning with the birds chirping in the background is the most relaxing thing to do.
You can walk out on the sandy beach during moderate tide as well as low tide. You could swim in the ocean when the tide is coming in. However once the tide sets in, it becomes a bit rough to swim in. One can walk off the steps leading to the ocean from the jetty. Thats the ideal place to jump off. Do have some beach shoes as there is a fair bit of coral and a having a bit of protection is a sensible thing.
The Villa's are superb quality and state of the art. The rooms are equally good and have a garden feel around them. All very private.
All in all, this is high end luxury in rustic Zanzibar. Quite extraordinary. Considering that most of the island is quite under developed, the hotel stands out like a mirage. However once you get there, it is all so lovely and real.

Thank you Luc and team. You are running quite a show. Well done and god willing, see you sometime soon.

Shanker & Tushna

Room Tip: The Villa's with ocean view are really nice. However the regular rooms are fine too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Absolutely stunning location and amazing pier/jetty. Food was fantastic, best we had on our two week honeymoon in Tanzania. Pool was great, everyone was friendly but very slow (we are from NYC so everything seemed very slow!). Rooms were very nice with strong A/C, nice TV and sitting room and comfortable beds.

The staff was very nice but took a long-time for everything. We would not see a pool waiter/waitress for a good hour+ sometimes. I also thought there were a couple of quirks that should not exist at a 5 star establishment: a) 3 to 4% fee for CC charges for your final bill, b) a 10% charge to get cash that is needed to tip staff.

Value - Relative to the other high-end establishments on the island, this property seems like good value as we got a special that resulted in approx $450/nt. We heard that other honeymooners were given special private meals and free full board (we had half board) but we were not.

All in all, a great place to stay but don't expect the same level of services as 5 star hotels or safari lodges.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon and this place is incredible we toured Kenya and Tanzania on safaris staying jn various lodging and nothing can touch this place. The best part is the people they are incredible the food is amazing and rooms unreal. Highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our cottage had a beautiful ocean view. Very relaxing having coffee or drinks on the patio. The weather was not that cooperative for us, only one day of sun, then it rained, so we didn't have much to do there. Who knew! The restaurant was very good for all meals. Nice selection each day. The staff were also very good, especially, Sarah, JJ, and Mussa. Had a special drink one night, with watermelon and amaretto. Delicious. The next day I ordered it and it was different so I sent it back. Guess someone made a mistake as the waiter came back with the drink just like the first one I had. Delicious. Sitting out on the jetty having lunch was spectacular even with the clouds. The salt water pool was cool getting in but once you're in it's gorgeous. We walked the beach during low tide, beautiful white sand. The spa is in an outdoor setting and smelled oh so nice!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

SECURITY: I attended a weeding in this hotel (November 2012), where all the invitees stayed. The wedding ceremony took place in the wooden, where the sunset was simply amazing! During the party, all the rooms/bungalows were the attendees were staying were systematically robbed. People lost money, mobiles and other valuable things. A police report was filed.
FACILITIES: Super nice swimming pool (with salty water), nice SPA, amazing view.
FOOD: The food of the a la carte restaurant was very good… A little overpriced as one can expect from a hotel like this one.
BEACH: This was one of the down-sides of Zalu. There is literally no sand only rocks and a nice wooden deck. You have to jump from a wooden deck to the sea or just be happy with the swimming pool. In other hotels in the vicinity you do have the chance to enjoy white sand. Thus, the location is not that great.
SERVICE: The service was very good and the staffs were friendly and courteous.
Would I stay here again? No.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Essque Zalu Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essque Zalu Zanzibar

Address: Nungwi, Nungwi 3151, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Essque Zalu Zanzibar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essque Zalu Zanzibar is an intimate boutique destination nestled in a natural cove on the island’s north-eastern coast overlooking the Indian Ocean. Choose from 40 suites, all with picturesque views over the lush tropical garden or the ocean turquoise blue. Ensconce yourself in luxurious-styled spaces crafted from local materials, adorned with native artwork and housed under a traditional pitched Makuti roof. If you need extra space to spread out, try one of our nine expansive villas; 3 or 4 bedrooms. Stretch out in the spacious living room, rustle up a snack in your own kitchen or just chill in the privacy of your very own plunge pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Essque Zalu Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essque Zalu Zanzibar Hotel Nungwi
Essque Zalu Zanzibar Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essque Zalu Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.