We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cuisine at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Essque Zalu Zanzibar

Save Saved
You added Essque Zalu Zanzibar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nungwi, Nungwi 3151, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Nungwi
Kigali, Kigali, Rwanda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cuisine at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at Essque Hotel during low season (April 2013) and enjoyed the fact that we were sharing hotel facilities, swimming pool, jetty etc. with very few other guests. This added an extra value to the holiday. Common spaces and rooms are elegantly decorated, staff very professional but the top rank of this hotel is the Cuisine. Breakfast is delicious, a la carte menu with a number of options - on top of that home made confitures, pastries, yogurt, smoothies etc. Lunch can be served at the Jetty restaurant, mostly middle-easter mezzeh and grilled fish/meat. Location is unique in the middle of the ocean. Dinner is the best part - quality of the food is top quality and presentation superb. Restaurant staff extremely professional but with a personal touch. We stayed at Essque with a 2 year old son who was pampered by all staff. Restaurant accomodated any last minute request for a child menu. Definitely recommended - we would say in low season even more, when less guests are around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    29
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
65
158
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I have been meaning to write this review for some time. We stayed at the hotel with friends in September last year, after climbing Kilimanjaro, and were all agreed that the hotel was simply wonderful. Our room (suite with ocean view) was stunning, the food excellent (particularly in the upstairs restaurant), the location superb, and the service faultless. In my experience the hotel compares favorably with the best anywhere. Unusually, I cannot find anything to fault.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We were looking for a place to completely refresh and recharge ourselves and that is exactly what we got. From the moment you step inside until the moment you leave you feel cocooned in luxury and style.

The hotel is simply beautiful, a combination of contemporary, art deco and traditional African but in a very cool and minimalistic way and we were in one of the bungalows near to the ocean which followed the main hotel theme. The bed was huge and so comfortable – almost too good to leave some mornings!

Although we had been on a three day Safari at the start of our trip we had expected to explore the island at least a little, however, we found we had everything we could possibly ask for at the hotel and, apart from a couple of days diving and some long beach strolls, did not leave for the remaining 11 days. I must just say here that this is not usually like us as we are always out and about exploring wherever we may be, but we did not want to leave – we had no need to.

We were on a half board basis and after a late breakfast of outstanding choice and quality, did not have the room to sample lunch at the pier restaurant (where the lobster looked amazing). Dinner was 4 courses and could almost be described as ‘fine dining’.

The drinks were all very reasonably priced and, in the evenings, were always accompanied by delicious canapés – be sure to leave room for dinner though.

The staff cannot do enough for you and seem really happy to be there – we had particular soft spots for both Amani (a lovely very sweet and brilliant barman) and Fortunata (our breakfast waitress with a big personality and cheeky smile who obviously loved making us feel special).

The managers were very hands on and made sure all was to our liking and, in particular, Nicolas the general manager, really went the extra mile to make sure we were made to feel special.

To sum up, this hotel is truly a five star and in our opinion is excellent value for money. If you want to feel bathed in cool, calm luxury you will not find much better than this regardless of where you are in the world.

Andrea & Harvey

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Spent a good 6 nights at Zalu. Food was amazing, however the serving time is very laid back. Dinner can take up to 2 hrs to arrive but they compensate that with excellent tasting menu.
Rooms are spacious and each suite has 2 aircons keeping you cool 24/7.
Staff are very accommodating and will go out of their way to get things done.
We went out fishing and came back with a catch and they chef was more than pleased to prepare the fish to our liking.
Amazing place to just relax and unwind. Def recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel, the manager is excellent and the staff are very accommodating and friendly. The infinity pool is Gorgeous and the SPA is excellent. But all that comes at a price of course. If you want to tan on a beach or swim in the ocean, this isn't the place for you. If you want to swim in a beautiful pool and enjoy an ocean view, then this is your place. Make sure that the hotel itself books airport pickup Bc it's not easy to find. Our driver got lost BIG TIME and if you're like most people that go to Zanzibar after climbing Kilimanjaro, getting lost is the last thing you need.
Also, most people that stay at the hotel are either families or old people Bc it is expensive. If you're looking for a hip young place, you'll need to leave the resort.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful place, great ambience, excellent staff, an experience in extreme Luxury! We spent time with friends hosting their son's reception. The cottages and suites are tastefully done, great food, live band and a beautiful infinity pool!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I was staying in Nungwi and visited this hotel for the afternoon and evening. As such this review does not reflect accommodation or quality of guest service. We ate lunch on the terrace and it was delicious. I thought it was very reasonably priced, similar to prices for mch poorer quality food around Nungwi. The spa was fab. very restful, spotelssly clean, good faciliteies - shower, changing room, steam room, sauna, resting area! Massage is excellent.

We had the A La Carte menu in the evening. Initially we were seated in the dning room upstairs which although was nice with good views out to sea, it was completely empty and we felt a bit foolish sitting there by ourselves in an enormus dining area. Luckily the chef and restaurant manager realised this almost before we realised it ourselves and suggested they set up a table for us down on the terrace. This was much better.

The food was easiy the best I had in Zanzibar. Special mention for the tuna sashimi and the steak. The wine list was very reasonably priced in comparison with other restaurants in the area.
One downside for me were the hovering waiters. However it didnt bother my dinner companion so maybe it wouldnt bother other people.

From what I saw of the hotel it looks stunning. The pool area is amazing. The place exudes zen.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Essque Zalu Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essque Zalu Zanzibar

Address: Nungwi, Nungwi 3151, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#1 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Essque Zalu Zanzibar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essque Zalu Zanzibar is an intimate boutique destination nestled in a natural cove on the island’s north-eastern coast overlooking the Indian Ocean. Choose from 40 suites, all with picturesque views over the lush tropical garden or the ocean turquoise blue. Ensconce yourself in luxurious-styled spaces crafted from local materials, adorned with native artwork and housed under a traditional pitched Makuti roof. If you need extra space to spread out, try one of our nine expansive villas; 3 or 4 bedrooms. Stretch out in the spacious living room, rustle up a snack in your own kitchen or just chill in the privacy of your very own plunge pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Essque Zalu Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essque Zalu Zanzibar Hotel Nungwi
Essque Zalu Zanzibar Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essque Zalu Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.