We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, lovely setting but pricey extras....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Essque Zalu Zanzibar

Save Saved
You added Essque Zalu Zanzibar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nungwi, Nungwi 3151, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 hotels in Nungwi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, lovely setting but pricey extras....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Myself and my wife went on honeymoon here in January 2013...A short hop from Arusha in Tanzania on Precision Air (quite good) where we were on Safair and we landed in the mayhem of Zanzibar airport. An hour or so up the one proper road Zanizbar seems to have and we passed through the final one of many very sparse looking and quite poor villages to enter the beautiful Esque Zalu.

This is a cracking hotel in many ways. Service is good, the views are amazing and food excellent. However, there are things you need to be aware of.

Things that are great about Zalu...

1. Great service...ok, it can be in your face and there are probably too many on duty but service is still excellent
2. The building itself is amazing...
3. The pool is lovely, overlooking the Ocean and perfect temperature for swimming
4. Food is good, in fact it was very good.
5. The setting is a really strong point...set on a cliff/rocks, the Indian Ocean is turquoise and crashes against the jetty and the rocks beside the hotel
6. The rooms are lovely...clean, well air conditioned and big
7. The jetty area is fantastic and it is sepcial....you should spend mrnings here on your own reading while the hotel sleeps or an evening pre dinner cocktail...lobster and glass of Chenin Blanc at lunch time on the jetty is a treat!
8. Locaton...close to Nungwi and Kendwa and you can walk both at low tide...but most certainy not at high tide
9. Hotel has high speed WIFI
10. Spa areas are lovely

Things you need to be aware of...

1. There is NO beach...this is a huge setback..all you can do is look out at beautiful ocean and not actually get in as the area is windy and full of rocks and coral and dangerous to swim in...
2. You have to go to nearby Nungwi (far busier and full of Italian and German package holidays) and Kendwa for the beach and swiiming in the sea....both are amazing, kind of like Kho Phi Phi if you have been there but full of beach boys which is irritiating...Zalu is east facing, so go 3 miles around the northern tip of island to Kendwa to see the amazing sunset...and it is amazing.
3. The food is very very good but menu gets predictable...you get a choice of veggie menu, international and swahili (which is same every night)
4. No gym...a rockety dreadmill is all that is available and it is a downside for a 5 star hotel not to have proper gym facilities, especially as you are told not to walk outside the gates
5. Extras...this is a major issue...$9 for a glass of wine and $5 or so for beer or shot...very very dear and price of bottle of beer only $2 up in Nungwi or Kendwa
6. The excursions are also 5 star prices..looking at $80 per person to do half day in Stone Town....it eally should be a $30-$40 per person trip
7. The staff are genuinely very helpful...but there seems to be too many and some are blatantly tip hunting...the tipping ettiquette is confusing...some tip every night, some at the end...usually it is $1 per bag for porter and then $2 per meal every night...staff rely on tips so work hard for them...sometimes too hard!
8. Location is a really strong point but also a weakness...it is a good clip from Stone Town and you need taxis to get you anywhere, even only 2-3 miles down the road for safety and tide reasons...however, the views do make up for it...
9. The bar areas have no atmosphere and are totally soulless...too bright and open and after dinner all you want to do is go to bed
10. A large corporate had booked several rooms in the hotel...there was branding up around the pool and on jetty which is intrusive if you are paying big money for seclusion..we were asked by management did we mind, but really there was no choice in the matter.

Zanzibar is an amazing spot. A place where Arabic culture and influence is everywhere but with a distinctly laid back and chaotic East African feel to it and post colonial european tinge. It is over 95% Muslim, hugely homophobic and not expecially pro drinking but this is no issue up the North on the beaches. Zanzibar is very poor, but far more advanced than Tanzania.

The beaches up north are beautiful, as nice as I have seen but do be aware of Beach Boys selling soccer jerseys, hats, trinkets and later in the evening, hash. The beaches of Kendwa have the look of a party and there is a full moon every month and beach party eery Saturday evening for those who care. Kendwa is much more backpacker friendly and lots of young Aussies and europeans. you get the feeling it will only get more popular. It is also common enough to see european women over 55 with young beach boys (20s) and Masai men who have some form of financial or dependnecy understanding in their "relationships..." However, nothing that you dont get in Thailand, turkey, Canaries...etc. Sunsets on kendwa beach are possbily the nicest Ive ever seen.

Stone Town is a pretty interesting place...narrow little streets but biggest attractiion is old Slave Market. Fascinating. You get to walk through the fish and beggie markets, down to the seafront, see Freddie Mercury's House and wander the streets of this very Muslim bustling little town...Stone town was a little dissappointing overall. Our guide was more keen talking to his mates on the phone and was a budding Che Guevera who disliked europeans and spoke of government and police corruption in Zanzibar which is rife.

Zanzibar is a lovely spot for a honeymoon couple, a retired couple or a group of adventure seeking backpackers willing to try something different. It is a very long way to go for a beautiful beach holiday but added to Safari it is perfect. There are direct flights from Rome and great deals through Rome (€1000 for a week with flights and hotel) but otherwise you are flying through Amsterdam or London to Kenya or Tanzania and connecting on which can be a very very long haul if you, like us, had to come from Dublin. Tourism has taken off in a big way in Zanzibar but it iss till a great destination.

Overall, this is a really good hotel and very much a 5 star rating...5-6 days is enough to enjoy the delights of this very exotic place.

Room Tip: the sea views are obviously the way to go if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasKonig-GM, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Bonjour and salutations from Essque Zalu Zanzibar,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for such a wonderful feedback on both Essque Zalu Zanzibar and your experience on the island in general. It appears you had a fabulous time both on safari and visiting Zanzibar and we do appreciate your selecting Essque Zalu Zanzibar as your hotel of choice for your stay on the island.

Going through the elaborative points of the up and down sides of Essque Zalu is of great interest and we do sincerely appreciate your time to comment on them for our knowledge and for us to understand the gap you felt, if any, and to rectify further.

To clarify on the downsides, please see below:

1. The reason that we do not have a beach is a deliberate one rather than an accidental one; the reasons being the owners wanted a secluded space away from the crowd of beach boys that is now increasingly becoming a nuisance and a security threat in Zanzibar and since Zanzibar has a policy of public beaches, the owners wanted a spot that they are in control of who enters their premises rather than have movement of unauthorised folks and as your second point indicates that the beaches of Kendwa and Nungwi were full of beach boys which you found irritating is exactly what the owners foresaw before building this hotel.

2. Indeed Nungwi and Kendwa are one of the best beaches on this island offering white sandy beaches, turquoise blue oceans and the sun to light it all up; and the experience of being there on the white sandy beach, seeing the normal day-to-day buzz of the place is beautiful, albeit the crowd of tourists from nearby hotels enjoyng the beautiful outdoors in these areas. The sunsets are truly stunning and colourful! Essque on the other hand is ideal for the sun rise - a colourful hue of lazy orange and red lighting the dawn skies is a sight worth remembering and it never ceases to amaze us all everytime we see it.

3. The menu at dinner time changes every day except for the swahili menu which stays the same, but the Non-Veg and Veg options each of which are 4 course set menu meals varies from day to day. We do appreciate that you found the food very tasty and good and we are quite flexible in a way that the chef is always available to discuss on the meals should you want to experience something out of the menu - we do apologise for not reaching out to you during your stay to discuss on this opportunity.

4. You are correct, we do not have a proper gym but a comfortable and airy fitness centre to give our guests the opportunity to exercise for short durations so that they can thoroughly enjoy the tranquil ambience found at Essque Zalu. Moreover this also was a deliberate action as we wanted to have different ideologies than our other 5 star counterparts and did not want to create an artificial atmosphere of weights, air conditioned gyms and to have any rigid training schedules by gym trainers - we wanted our guests enjoy exercising in the open air in a natural environment.

5. We do understand that you found the extras quite pricey however we are extremely competitive if not better priced than other 5 star hotels on the island. Beverages in places like Kendwa and Nungwi invariably will be cheaper than Essque mainly due to the location - theirs is a basic place using very basic structures, served by local untrained bar men, offering very basic services while on our side cost of everything is relative to the quality offered - rest assured even we enjoy changing scenes once in a while and thoroughly enjoy being in Nungwi or Kendwa beaches to enjoy the local bars there.

6. The cost of excursions are high is because of the distances covered. A one way trip to or from Stone Town costs around USD 100 as an average so a return should cost USD 200 - in that case if an excursion costs around USD 80 per person is very well priced considering you are also getting a tour with a professional tour guide + return transfers back to the hotel. If we were close to Stone Town, definitely this would have worked out more cost effective and allow me to stress that our excursion rates are much cheaper than other 3-4 star properties in the same area.

7. This feedback of tip hunting is indeed a major eye opener for me and my team of managers. Thank you very much for mentioning this as we will now try and monitor these traits in our service personnel as by our standards and ethos, this should never be happening and we will take remedial action on this. Our apologies if at all you experienced such behaviour but rest assured this is not the norm here. We will do our best to sort this out internally.

8. The views are justifiably awesome and you are correct in saying that although we are located quite far from stone town and that going everywhere requires a taxi, the views, the ambience and the experience of being at Essque Zalu is worth it.

9. Thank you for your feedback on the bars having no atmosphere and being soulless. Usually the bar is abuzz with other guests early in the evenings however as our hotel is more of a honeymooners location, our guests do want to retire early after their meals and those who had a busy day want to finish their meals early and head off for a good nights sleep. Nonetheless, as this is the first time we have heard such a remark, we will surely take this into perspective and try and change the lighting and ambience to rightly bright and warm so that guests do not feel unwelcome due to the brightness.

10. Our sincere regrets for the branding of the corporate clients - that was our first and last time we allowed branding in public areas and will not happen again. All guests of ours are treated as equals and we had no intention to inconvenience any of our other guests due to the corporate group.

We are hopeful that the above explanations to your feedback sheds light on the concerns raised however we are in turn extremely grateful for pointing some of the things out for us to rectify and to see how can change some of the aspects mentioned by you.

With thanks and warm regards,

Nicolas Konig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    29
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
65
158
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful stay here; the setting is stunning, the staff were wonderful, the food was excellent, the spa was fantastic and the beach front bungalow was gorgeous. All the ingredients you need for an amazing holiday. It was the perfect escape from the dreadful weather at home.
I would highly recommend a stay here. Given the standards of service received and the idlic location I thought it was excellent value for money. I have paid a lot more and got a great deal less in other resorts I have stayed in.
The staff truly are a credit to the General Manager. I really could not rate them highly enough. Special mention to Valentino and Alfred who were great. Alfred could not have been more helpful.
The shop could do with having a bit more in it and I think they could also do with having info on excursions in the rooms. We kept missing the chap that organised this which was a bit of a shame.
If you do visit here make sure you go to the local turtle sanctuary. Does not look much from outside but it was really interesting.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasKonig-GM, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Bonjour and warm greetings from Essque Zalu Zanzibar,

Such kind words of admiration are greatly appreciated by my team and myself. Our cumulative aim is to ensure we meet and exceed guest satisfaction and reading from you energises our selves to deliver more! Thank you!

Both Valentino and Alfred have read your feedback and send their regards and appreciations to you for your kind words. The management also appreciates to know which of our staff made your stay special - thanks for letting us know.

We have noted your concerns on the boutique shop and the need for having an excursions brochure in all rooms. It is always great to read and learn of some excursions so tat you can make up your mind what suites you or what you like best - we will surely do the needful and ensure these changes are made at the earliest.

Thank you once again

With thanks and warm regards,

Nicolas Konig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I fell in love with this hotel. The rooms, the ocean, the fabulous swimming pool. Definitely recommend this hotel to all.
A special mention to the little pool outside the rooms. This is an amazing place to relax with complete privacy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasKonig-GM, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Hello and a warm bonjour from Essque Zalu Zanzibar,

We are thankful for your nice and heart warming words on your stay during your visit to Zanzibar.

The serene ambience and zen like tranquility makes Essque Zalu entirely unique giving all our guests an feeling of relaxation and being one with the surroundings.

We hope our memories live in your heart for years to come,

Warm regards,

Nicolas Konig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

In December 2012 we spent 2 night at Essque Zalu prompted by a friend texting me a photo while we were on safari in Tanzania. When arrived in were instantly blown away. The design and ambience of the place was divine - not like anything we had yet or would experience in Africa.

Due to our very late reservation we managed to secure an Ocean View room for the first night and then a garden room for the second. This didn't bother us at all. The Ocean room was divine and right on the ocean. Zanzibar was very hot and the breeze off the ocean was very nice.

Once we had settled in the manager Nicholas advised us that there was a big wedding taking place that night and that over 100 people would be staying/attending!! We were a bit surprised and not terribly worried. He assured us that he would do everything he could to ensure our stay would be great and he did.

The wedding was loud (finishing at 6.30am when the generator finally gave up or someone secretly turned it off) but the ocean room we were in seems not to pick up most of the noise and we could still sleep pretty well. The next morning we were greeted by a very tired and apologetic Nicholas advising that he had upgraded us to a villa instead of the garden room. Apart from the fact that this was unnecessary as we were only mildly impacted, the villa was incredible and the offer clearly very generous.

While we were out snorkelling with a dive group (another review) and swimming with dolphins, all our luggage was transferred to the villa for she we arrived back. Our son couldn't keep his jaw off the ground he was so impressed.

Overall the two nights at Essque Zalu were fantastic made all the better by excellent service and attention by staff and a genuine feeling of wanting you to enjoy your stay. Our only regret was that we didn't get longer to stay (especially as the wedding guests left the same day we did)...

It would be fantastic to see a place like this use its position to provide some support to local communities and to encourage the guests to support the initiative as Im sure many, if not all, could afford to! Thanks Nicholas

Room Tip: If you can afford the villa and there are a few of you - it would be fantastic. If not, the ocean f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasKonig-GM, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Bonjour and warm wishes from the spice island of Unguja, alias Zanzibar,

It was really great to have very understanding guests as you - Thank you very much for such an amazing review, means a lot to everyone of us at Essque Zalu.

We love to make sure all our guests are well taken care of and that they are enjoying their stay with us. In the event we feel otherwise we right away approach the guest and see what we can do to ensure their stay remains a memorable one and we take remedial actions promptly, if any required. Our guests remain the primary focus at all times of their stay.

2 days in Zanzibar whizz through quite quickly therefore we do hope that you will give us the opportunity to be of service again on your next trip to Zanzibar!

Wishing you a wonderful year and forwarding our sincere appreciations for choosing Essque Zalu Zanzibar as your preferred hotel for your holiday in Zanzibar,

With warm regards,

A Bientot

Nicolas Konig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have spent six days in this beautiful place and wAnted to stay more. It is a luxury property, very well looked after, with lush gardens, excellent pool, amazing architecture. Staff are very friendly and helpful and a manager is doing a great job adding the tough of perfection to everything. Food is magic - congratulations to the chef. You must try a spa - excellent standard and experienced staff. Essque gives you this strange and fantastic feeling of being so far away from everything it is a paradise on earth, you start count your days in here, each one as a last one, you do not want to come back from here. But, there are few issues which I believe should be improved. Internet reception was poor. I suppose it is not much they can do about. Charging adapter was a big issue. Shopping - they have a nice big shop in the hotel, but very few items, little choice I must say. Music entertainment . Sleepy rasta songs will put you in bed even if you do not want to. There is life in Kendwa of course but you will have to get there. We had a very nice time despite those points, unforgettable holidays, memories of which will be cherished by our family. Please note, this hotel has the highest roofs on Zanzibar! So, it's an ultimate choice!

Room Tip: We stayed at garden studio 15 with the view to the ocean - that was a perfect combination, we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ezz11, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello and good day from the sunny coast of Zanzibar,

Thank you so much for the time you have taken to post this review following your recent stay at Essque Zalu Zanzibar,

I will be sure to pass your compliments to my colleagues who will be very thrilled with your generous words of encouragement. Additionally, your concerns on the slow internet will surely be taken into consideration as we will be introducing additional capacity and bandwidth to meet the growing demand of our guests to be online whilst on holiday. We are also in the process to change our electrical sockets and have one international sockets to move away from the adaptor issues.

I sincerely hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to Essque Zalu Zanzibar sometime in the near future and we are hopeful that Essque Zalu Zanzibar will linger in your memories forever,

Thank you once again,

Nicolas Konig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

What I loved the most about Essque Zalu is that it's a getaway but it feels like home, you're escorted to your villa as soon as you get there. The Jetty and the Jetty restaurant are amazing, food was fantastic, we had a romantic dinner at the jetty which was magical, the spa was great, and all the staff were friendly and helpful but be patient with them during breakfast time, it was always crowded..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ezz11, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Bonjour and good day from Essque Zalu Zanzibar,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your recent stay with us at Essque Zalu Zanzibar,

We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our personal touch in service delivery - than you also for your encouraging appreciations on the quality of our food, spa and our friendly staff who are friendly and helpful.

We do regret the latency in service you experienced during breakfast which is not usual however we have taken this up with the respective managers to make sure we can avoid such delays the next time we have groups staying with us.

Wishing you a wonderful 2013,

Warm regards,

Nicolas Konig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I spent ONE week at Essque, and the only regret/complaint I have is: it should have been ONE month. ( or longer) . The photos on their website are so on point of giving you the right feeling of what to expect, however when you step onto the property, you are taken away. They give options of water sports, and city excursions, but I found myself not desiring to leave the property. However after 4 days, I finally gave in to stepping away for a day on a Sand Dune ( great experience ) and Stone Town. The Spa at Essque is a must do, and a do-over! Some people I traveled with, made it a daily ( twice a day ) activity. That was another regret I had, I waited toward the end of my stay, to experience the spa, and ran out of time to do more.

Pay attention to the schedule of the tides ( which is provided in your room) I have a few scars to remind me of Essque because I didnt read the schedule and decided to go swimming off the Jetty.

The rooms, are also quite beautiful, and if your budget allows you -- book a villa ( as it comes with a butler) however if you get a regular room, ( garden view) , you will be as well pleased, and comfortable.

The food, service, staff - were great.
I choose the ONBOARD package ( which is all inclusive, with exception of drinks) and it was worth it.
However if you are NOT a big eater-- and opt not to eat three meals a day ( 4 courses at dinner ) then dont choose this option.

I cant say enough, as I write this on my first day back to work- sitting here feeling very relaxed, but sad that i am not at Essque.

Room Tip: As mentioned above-- if your budget allows you to get a VILLA- go for it. its has 4-5 bedrooms, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Essque Zalu Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essque Zalu Zanzibar

Address: Nungwi, Nungwi 3151, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Essque Zalu Zanzibar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essque Zalu Zanzibar is an intimate boutique destination nestled in a natural cove on the island’s north-eastern coast overlooking the Indian Ocean. Choose from 40 suites, all with picturesque views over the lush tropical garden or the ocean turquoise blue. Ensconce yourself in luxurious-styled spaces crafted from local materials, adorned with native artwork and housed under a traditional pitched Makuti roof. If you need extra space to spread out, try one of our nine expansive villas; 3 or 4 bedrooms. Stretch out in the spacious living room, rustle up a snack in your own kitchen or just chill in the privacy of your very own plunge pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Preferred Hotels, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Essque Zalu Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essque Zalu Zanzibar Hotel Nungwi
Essque Zalu Zanzibar Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essque Zalu Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.