We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gorgeous hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Essque Zalu Zanzibar

Save Saved
You added Essque Zalu Zanzibar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nungwi, Nungwi 3151, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 hotels in Nungwi
Spain
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A gorgeous hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The staff are all really friendly, breakfast is very substantial. We were on half board and although the menu does not vary much for the 5 nights we were there is was not too monotonous. the room and bathroom are very nice, we were in a detached garden view suite 32 which was very private and quiet. there are other suites that are one up one down, probably the sea view is up, but i think there is less privacy. There were a few things that I felt could be improved. Tea and coffee making in the room would have been good, a sofa which is comfortable rather than an uncomfortable sofa bed, not charging for water if half/full board was included, additional TV in the bedroom. The resort does not have a beach, the infinity pool somewhat makes up for this. The resort has a very romantic setting which is spoiled by the number of children running around the pool, it evidently caters to large families givven the number of self catering villas that are on site. it doesn't cut it for a romantic getaway, it does for a family holiday.

Room Tip: Room 32 was detached, private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ezz11, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Bon jour and compliments of the season from Essque Zalu Zanzibar,

We are thankful for your email and delighted to know you had a great time with us albeit the little concerns you have raised. We appreciate your constructive feedback and allow me to assure you that we will surely look into them and endeavour to sort them out ASAP. Thank you for letting us know on this.

The beach indeed is not swimmable as it is only accessible at low tide when all the sea water goes a long way out however, at high tide, it is one of the best spots to take a dip from the jetty area and all our guests have had a great time swimming from there. Not having a beach in the first place is a deliberate action from our owners as our aim is to run an efficient lifestyle hotel where guests come to enjoy the tranquil and scintillating moments they miss in their daily lives and to thoroughly enjoy the zen like ambience Essque Zalu Zanzibar offers.

The resort since its opening in June 2011 has increasingly become well known for Honeymooners looking to enjoy their precious moments of being together with their loved better halves, however on the other hand, we have also become well known to be a family resort where kids can be kids and also enjoy their holidays like their parents, and to ensure that they do not disturb other guests, we have an established kids club that plans the kids daily activities, keeping them occupied and entertained for the course ofthe day. Our sincere regrets for the inconvenience the kids playing and running may have caused you.

With thanks and warm regards,

Nicolas Konig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    29
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
65
158
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
beirut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We went there to celebrate a friend s weddind this december.
The resort is amazing, it s even better then the pictures we saw before coming.
On our first night we had diner at the jetty, it was an amazing experience and food was good.
Diving centers are 15mins away from the resort and you can also swim there ( zanzibar water sports), honestly the beach is nicer there because You can t really swim in the beach of essque since you have to wait for the tide all the time but the pool is amazing and very relaxing.
Staff was very kind.
Our room had a garden view, it was very clean and pleasant but it needs more light.
I highly recommend this boutique hotel for couples and families.
We had a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ezz11, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Bonjour from Unguja (Zanzibar)

We are sincerely grateful that you enjoyed your stay at Essque Zalu as part of the Rouba-Kadri wedding group. Your encouraging remarks are of great importance to all of us as it pushes us to deliver more and meet our guest's expectations.

As for the beach, it is only available at low tide when the water goes quite a way out leaving a flat sandy area for people to walk around and enjoy, while at high tide, our guests can take full advantage of swimming from the jetty where the sea level is above 3.5 metres and alternatively, we have a spacious salt-chlorinated infinity pool allowing guests to enjoy the sea water like ambience from the comfort of the pool or the jacuzzi built inside the pool.

Thank you once again and wishing you the very best for 2013!

Warmly

Nicolas Konig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

A piece of heaven on earth. An amazing setup, comfortable spacious rooms, impeccable service and a variety of restaurants and pub surely to meet your requirements and preference. Lovely evening live music to help you relax and unwind.

Spacious swimming pool with a relaxing Jacuzzi, lovely sand beach ideal for a nice jog during the period of low tide, a small gym and SPA where an active day could be ended with a nice relaxing massage.

The staff is professional, extremely hospitable, friendly and always serving with a smile.

Ideal for a detached, disconnected and relaxing holiday, group events and even a great place for a business seminar or conference.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Absolutely beautiful hotel. Excellent service. Fabulous food. A perfect romantic getaway. It took my breath away when we walked in. Unfortunate that you can't swim off the beach but the infinity pool is a very very close substitute and we swam off the jetty each day. Just the most relaxing time. All the staff were really nice. The fruit skewers and hand made daily drinks by the pool were all so delicious. The private living units were fully equipped and the bed was really comfortable. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This place is amazing!! I have been to over 60 countries in this world and have stayed at some impressive places but this place (Essque Zalu) takes the proverable cake- from its location to the accomdations to the view to the food and the impecable friendly service. This place is Great a must do on anyones bucket list. Manager is a great guy who stops by your table at every meal to make sure everything is well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ezz11, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Bonjour and greetings from Unguja (Zanzibar)

We are humbled by your wonderful feedback especially coming from such an intrepid traveller.

The team and myself send you our sincere appreciations and compliments of the season and if at all you venture our way again, we would be more than delighted to welcome you back at the hotel.

With warm regards,

Nicolas Konig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

After an outstanding 12 day Safari trip we arrived in this stunning place! There is this entrance hall of 40 meters height, the turquoise infinity pool which seems to merge seamlessly with the ocean, the jetty which allows you to swim in the ocean even at low tide, the excellent four course menu every night, the beautiful and very relaxing spa and last but not least the incredible friendly staff who makes your stay definitely memorable. And to top all this we were offered a swahili cooking class in the hotel's kitchen! This is definitely one of the most exciting places we ever stayed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

One week at Essque Zalu Zanzibar was a fantastic relaxing experience. Everyone at the hotel made their best effort to make our stay a life long experience, and it was just that; memories that will never fade!

The atmosphere, the food, the staff and the location of the hotel is just fabulous!

We went to Zanzibar on our honeymoon, and nothing could have made a this event better than the stay at this fantastic place.

When the sun set, and the hotel was lit up by the very atmospheric lightning, it was so very nice to walk around the area and just enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Essque Zalu Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essque Zalu Zanzibar

Address: Nungwi, Nungwi 3151, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Essque Zalu Zanzibar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essque Zalu Zanzibar is an intimate boutique destination nestled in a natural cove on the island’s north-eastern coast overlooking the Indian Ocean. Choose from 40 suites, all with picturesque views over the lush tropical garden or the ocean turquoise blue. Ensconce yourself in luxurious-styled spaces crafted from local materials, adorned with native artwork and housed under a traditional pitched Makuti roof. If you need extra space to spread out, try one of our nine expansive villas; 3 or 4 bedrooms. Stretch out in the spacious living room, rustle up a snack in your own kitchen or just chill in the privacy of your very own plunge pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Essque Zalu Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essque Zalu Zanzibar Hotel Nungwi
Essque Zalu Zanzibar Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essque Zalu Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.