We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Essque Zalu Zanzibar

Save Saved
You added Essque Zalu Zanzibar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nungwi, Nungwi 3151, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Nungwi
Zürich
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Paradise on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

After an outstanding 12 day Safari trip we arrived in this stunning place! There is this entrance hall of 40 meters height, the turquoise infinity pool which seems to merge seamlessly with the ocean, the jetty which allows you to swim in the ocean even at low tide, the excellent four course menu every night, the beautiful and very relaxing spa and last but not least the incredible friendly staff who makes your stay definitely memorable. And to top all this we were offered a swahili cooking class in the hotel's kitchen! This is definitely one of the most exciting places we ever stayed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    27
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
63
154
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

One week at Essque Zalu Zanzibar was a fantastic relaxing experience. Everyone at the hotel made their best effort to make our stay a life long experience, and it was just that; memories that will never fade!

The atmosphere, the food, the staff and the location of the hotel is just fabulous!

We went to Zanzibar on our honeymoon, and nothing could have made a this event better than the stay at this fantastic place.

When the sun set, and the hotel was lit up by the very atmospheric lightning, it was so very nice to walk around the area and just enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

As a Travel Agent I am lucky enough to get to stay in some amazing resorts and when I was asked if I would like to go to Zanzibar to stay at the Essque Zalu I quickly looked at the Hotel website to see what it all looked like and accepted the offer straight away.

After an hours drive from Zanzibar Airport we arrived at the Essque with its imposing tall thatched roof and we were met by Ruth who welcomed us to the Hotel and advised us that they do not have a reception as such that everyone is individually greeted and taken directyl to their Villa's.

We were given a nice cool face cloth and a lovely cold glass of their local juice and we were shown to our Villa, I stayed in Villa 3 which happened to be a four bedroomed , four bathroomed Villa as I was sharing this with 3 others it was perfect as we all had a bedroom and ensuite bathroom each. To say we had had our own ensuite was an understatement , the bathroom was bigger than my bedroom at home and on top of that I still had a walk in shower that was big enough to fit four people or more , very spacious indeed, There were three massive big Kimg bedded seaview rooms and one twin garden view room, there was a massive big lounge with corner Setee suite , a Kitchen ,your own treatment room if you decided you would like to have a massage they could come and do this in the privacy of your villa, there was a private plunge pool and garden and stunning views of the changing ocean.

On the resort there is a beautiful infinity pool that staggers down in layers and fantastic seating areas to soak up that amazing view. They have a pier where there is a restautant and bar right at the end and we had lunch there and the food and cockatils were amaizing.

We went back there in the eveing for cocktails and watched the sunset and people were jumping off the pier in to the sea, we then went for dinner in the restaurant upstairs at the main Hotel, It is a massive big restaurant that is made of various area's because of it's size , they have an art collection up there and floor to ceiling glass windows again to look at the view , the only negative thing I would say about the restaurant is that it is so big it lacks atmosphere and luckily for us there were 09 of us all together so we made some atmosphere but he coudl have done with some lovely backing music in the background.

The Breakfast is served in the downstairs restaurant which has a pretty outside seating area to enjoy the lovely warm weather, they serve everything you would expect including pancakes, waffles etc there was a choice of teas and lovely fresh kenyan cofee.

I would say the only downside to this which isn't negative as I live in Guernsey and I am used to tides on our beaches , but it is very tidal so you have to check when it is high tide so you can swim in that gorgeous sea as it does go quite low and you cannot swim in it because there is a lot of coral but if you like an early morning and evening dip then it would be fine , there is a lot of seaweed which the women gather when the tide is low to use for various things.

I probaly would not recommend this resort for children as it only has a small childrens club but if all your children like doing is swimming in a pool then it will be absolutely fine, all in all I would highly recommend the Essque Zalu , everthing is stunning and the staff are very friendly so you would truley have a relaxing holiday.

Thank You Ruth and Vinay for making our stay memorable

Room Tip: Most of tem are sea facing and there are a few that are inland facing a little square with lovely ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have traveled the world. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels.

This hotel by far exceeded my every expectation. It was a dream. I was absolutely intoxicated by the whole experience.

The ambiance is amazing. It is extremely comfortable just to hang out in the common areas. The staff is second to none and was friendly courteous and extremely genuine. I love that most of the managers are Tanzanian.

The food is unrivaled! Everything I ate was delicious!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Couples and Families alike. I would love nothing more that to return and spend more time here.

Room Tip: All the rooms here are wonderful. You cant go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ezz11, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Bonjour and warm greetings from Essque Zalu Zanzibar,

Your exciting review is received with extreme gratitude! We are extremely delighted to learn that the hotel exceeded your every exectation and that you had a memorable time with us!

We do hope that we get the opportunity to host you again on your next visit to Zanzibar,

Feel free to let us know if there is anything we can do for you or if you have friends coming this way, we would love to assist,

Thank you once again

Warm regards,

Nicolas Konig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a wonderful week at the Essque Zalu!

The place is absolutely beautiful and the service is 'First Class'. Our 10 yr old son was delighted (and so were we) with the kids club as they had activities in the morning, afternoon and evening. The pool is simply fantastic and the beach is stunning, having the low/high tide change every 6 hours is very fun. During the low tide the sea recedes significantly and you can walk and see star fishes.

The rooms are perfect, spacious and very well maintained. The garden is beautiful and designed in such way that each room is kept private. There are a few Baobab trees around.

Plenty of things to do, all kinds of activities to book, WiFi all around the facility, excellent SPA. Food was great, specially diner as it was simply delicious.

I would say our best vacation ever.

Many thanks to Nicolas, Fortunata, JJ, Godfrey, Hilal and all the staff. We would like to visit you again.

Regards,
Cesar (Venezuela)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ezz11, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Bonjour Cesar,

We are grateful for your fabulous review. We do hope you got back home safely?

The ladies from the Kids club had a great time having your son in the daily activities and they send their greetings to your son!

We hope to see you all at Essque Zalu soon,

Warmly,

Nicolas Konig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

One word springs to mind immediately - WOW! From the very first time you set eyes on the property, which you cannot miss as the pitched thatched roofs of the main reception/guest area are huge, you are just taken aback.

You walk through the spacious and contemporarily-designed guest areas, onto the main pool area - and WOW again. The blue infinity pool stretches out in front of you to the very edge of the rocks above the beach, with sun loungers dotted around, some on their own ‘private’ pods either set in the pool or around the outside, and the wooden jetty reaches out into the ocean itself.

There are 3 types of ‘standard’ villas - either Garden View, which as the name suggests, has a view of the lovely luscious green gardens; Sea View - from which you have a partial view of the ocean; or Ocean Front - the prime ones if you can afford these, as they are right at the front of the property, with interrupted views out over the ocean itself. The villas are spacious and extremely comfortable.

The 3 and 4 bedroomed villas are ideal for families or groups of people travelling together - beautifully decorated again, with a huge lounge/dining area, your own kitchen, all the bedrooms are en-suite - and you even have your own private massage room! Coupled with your private deck with plunge pool, and upstairs balcony, and you may never want to leave the villa at all.

The Spa is another WOW factor - incredibly calm atmosphere, and the facial I had there was easily in my Top 3 facials of all time. In fact, it may even be Number One, I enjoyed it so much.

You can choose a la carte, if you want to experience some game meat, or you can otherwise eat at the Market Kitchen, which offers a set menu every night. Breakfast is buffet style, with a choice of hot or cold selections. For lunch, I would recommend going to The Jetty, which offers a fusion of Arabic style food, and a wonderful view back towards the main property. And definitely go out onto the jetty at sunrise and sunset for some stunning picture opportunites.

The beach is tidal, but you can safely walk along it in the mornings to the nearby aquarium and visit the turtle sanctuary there, and shop at some of the local craft stalls on the beach.

It is just a 90 minute drive from Stone Town, so you can easily do day trips to here if you can bear to drag yourself away for a few hours, and getting to and from the airport is a doddle.

The staff are friendly and courteous, the villas lovely, the main areas welcoming, and you really will not want to leave at all. We stayed just 2 nights here, and it was a real wrench to say goodbye after such a short time. After a week here, I would imagine you would be in floods of tears.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ezz11, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Bonjour and warm wishes from Essque Zalu Zanzibar,

It is so heart warming to recieve a thorough and detailed review of our property; it means a lot to us knowing you had a wonderful time with us.

You are perfectly right when you mention that after a week here, a lot of guests do not feel like going back - we always tell our guests, you arrive as guests but you leave as close friends where so many stories and experiences have been shared between the guest and us! It is also sometimes quite difficult for us to say good bye hence we say A Bientot - see you soon again!

Thank you once again for such a fantastic review,

Best regards,

Nicolas Konig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We spent a full week at Essque Zalu after being on safari in Kenya. And it is the perfect place to wind down and relax. The setting in a beatiful garden, with a fantastic salt-water pool overlooking the ocean. The house where we stayed was large and luxurious, with a small private jacuzzi pool right outside our door. The food was also great, especially the slipper lobster for lunch comes recommended. There is also an abundant supply of fresh fruit of outstanding quality. Lunch at the jetty is a must, enjoying the view of the place from way out into the sea. Service was very good at all times, and friendly. With a personal touch from manager Nicholas and all the other staff. A very special place at a very special island.

Room Tip: Choose a suite with a view of the ocean. The cost is a little higher but it provides more privacy an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Essque Zalu Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essque Zalu Zanzibar

Address: Nungwi, Nungwi 3151, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Essque Zalu Zanzibar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essque Zalu Zanzibar is an intimate boutique destination nestled in a natural cove on the island’s north-eastern coast overlooking the Indian Ocean. Choose from 40 suites, all with picturesque views over the lush tropical garden or the ocean turquoise blue. Ensconce yourself in luxurious-styled spaces crafted from local materials, adorned with native artwork and housed under a traditional pitched Makuti roof. If you need extra space to spread out, try one of our nine expansive villas; 3 or 4 bedrooms. Stretch out in the spacious living room, rustle up a snack in your own kitchen or just chill in the privacy of your very own plunge pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Essque Zalu Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essque Zalu Zanzibar Hotel Nungwi
Essque Zalu Zanzibar Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essque Zalu Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.