We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, but lacks in service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Essque Zalu Zanzibar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Essque Zalu Zanzibar to your Saves list
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nungwi, Nungwi 3151, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very nice, but lacks in service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The rooms and facilities are impeccable and look excellent.

Staff does not speak English as fluent in the safari regions of Tanzania. This makes their service a bit lacking. They do things you don't ask and don't do things you do ask.

Breakfast system is a bit confusing and not really inviting: I would like real buffet over the deli-style.

Music in Baobab bar is 70's-80's classics, which makes the atmosphere of the nearby restaurant a bit tacky.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    38
    11
    6
    0
See reviews for
71
188
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

A place that makes you truly understand the word "experience"; naturally indulgent

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We loved our time in Essque Zalu, and from our greeting upon entering the hotel to the wonderful serinade by the staff on the day we left, Essque does not disappoint. We spent 2 weeks in March 2012 at this beautiful property. The management and staff are exceptional and work dilligently to meet every need and every request. While the hotel is grande, infinity pool is magnificent, and the cottages are beautifully done, I feel for us it was the level of service from the staff each day for the entire 2 weeks that sets this hotel apart from many 5 stars we have stayed at in the past. The daily small courtesies demonstrated to us daily from the staff at the Jetty, the Pool, the Lounge, the Restaurant and Cottages made it easy to relax and enjoy the views, the weather, and the beauty of Zanzibar. Tours provided through the hotel were well done, and our driver (provided through the hotel) was great and very knowledgable. The cottage we stayed in was beautiful, clean and well maintained for our entire visit. Food service was excellent. I would recommend Essque Zalu to anyone looking to relax, be pampered, and enjoy the beauty of Nungwi. Thank you to each staff member. You create the "personality" of the hotel that we enjoyed so much. We have been back 3 months and still wish we were back in Zanzibar! Thank you ESSQUE ZALU for a wonderful end to our Adventures in Africa and trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Im a bit late with this review as I was travelling here in November last year, but its better late than never.
This is a fairly large establishment on north on Zanzibar (Nungwi) where most of the people tend to visit during their stay on Zanzibar. Zalu represents the best place to stay if you are looking for comfort and luxerious surrounding. All materials used excepts the roof seems to be imported. Its done very nicely and through out your stay you get the best service possible.
We stayed in a seafront villa which was very nice, good design, good aircon, and one of the nicest ever bathroom I have ever put my foot into. Well done.
It was a bit of a low season when we visited and stayed for 2 nights, and not many guests at all, which made us feel very well taken care of. Fresh fruits on ice during the day served complimentary by the waiters around the pool.... not bad at all. The pool is really big, and there is a very nice spa area as well. I like the hammock arrangement close to the pool, very cool.
The food (if you stay fullboard) perhaps does not come up to the standard you would wish, except for the lunch out on the Jetty which is very very nice, and also the choice for breakfast has to mentioned. (if you get what you ask for....)
The only really not too good thing was that there is no beach at all. So if you are looking for a long stretch of white sand...
Its not a cheap hotel, but still if you wish to wind down and if you dont like or care about the Zanzibari-style, this is the perfect place to stay. I will be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensenville, Illinois, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I selected this hotel for rest and relaxation after an 8 day safari. This hotel is everything that I hoped for. The rooms are spacious and luxurios. The service is extremely good and the employees are very helpful and will do anything to make your stay here the best possible experience. The food was very good and there is a good selection of wine to accompany your meals the only drawback to this hotel is the deplorable condition of the road that you must travel on to get into the hotel. This road is in horrible condition, the potholes make it very difficult to maneuver and the driver that brought us to the hotel said that he did not want to bring us here because of the condition of the road and the potential damage to his vehicle. I would highly recommend this hotel but the owners of this luxurios resort need to get the road fixed because it's not a very good introduction to their very beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

The Essque Zalu saved our honeymoon. We had been booked into another hotel on the peninsula, which was terrible. We called ahead (having found this place on trip advisor!) and were offered a room straight away. Having explained our situation to the booking manager, he offered us a free upgrade to an ocean front cottage, where a bottle of bubbly was waiting on our arrival.

Firstly, the suites are everything you would expect from a 5 star suite: very comfortable, spacious and immaculate. The resort itself is beautifully set, with an amazing garden that also gives a lot of privacy to the suites/cottages. The architecture of the main resort building is something worth seeing in itself, and the wonderful sweeping ocean view over the resort's jetty is spectacular and romantic.

The staff were all friendly and attentive, and the senior management made real strides to greet and speak with guests every day to ensure everything with the stay was going as it should be. The food and cocktails were also very good. We would definitely recommend this hotel, especially to couples.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is a fabulous, genuinely "luxury" hotel. We stayed here over Easter with two groups of friends, all of us with children. The moment you walk into the vast reception and then look up to the towering expanse of the traditional thatched roof structure (possibly built to an unprecedented scale?) you realise this isn't an ordinary Zanzibar resort. The rooms are very spacious, modern, with subtle touches of traditional design, with everything done to a very high standard. The pool and sunbathing area are both beautifully done, and the jetty, complete with restaurant at the end adds a special touch. The food really warrants a special mention, as it is really high-quality international standard food (primarily seafood, as you would expect, though the menu is extensive) which would compare favourably with high-quality food destinations internationally such as London, New York, Montréal or Tokyo. There is a children's club at this hotel and although they were having a few teething problems the management did everything possible to rectify this problem immediately, so the rest of our stay was extremely relaxing, knowing all the while that the kids were having great fun playing with other children. The managers are clearly very experienced and very courteous indeed, and we really appreciated their professionalism. There is no beach to speak of at this particular location, but you can snorkel off the jetty and also access very nice beaches along the coastline, about a 10 min walk at low tide. You can also take cheap taxis to Kendwa Rocks were you'll find a beautiful sandy beach at all times of the day. Although the staff are very friendly, one thing that could be improved is the standard of spoken English. Please don't get me wrong, I'm not making the chauvinistic assumption that everybody in the world should speak English. However, this is not a cheap hotel and if the staff struggled to understand some of the English spoken by British and American guests, we imagine it may have been even more difficult for non-native English speakers staying at the hotel. Overall, however, this is a really wonderful place which we shall recommend widely to friends in East Africa and beyond.

Room Tip: Seaview is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Essque Zalu Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essque Zalu Zanzibar

Address: Nungwi, Nungwi 3151, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Essque Zalu Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essque Zalu Zanzibar is an intimate boutique destination nestled in a natural cove on the island’s north-eastern coast overlooking the Indian Ocean. Choose from 40 suites, all with picturesque views over the lush tropical garden or the ocean turquoise blue. Ensconce yourself in luxurious-styled spaces crafted from local materials, adorned with native artwork and housed under a traditional pitched Makuti roof. If you need extra space to spread out, try one of our nine expansive villas; 3 or 4 bedrooms. Stretch out in the spacious living room, rustle up a snack in your own kitchen or just chill in the privacy of your very own plunge pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Essque Zalu Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essque Zalu Zanzibar Hotel Nungwi
Essque Zalu Zanzibar Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essque Zalu Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.