We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lapping waves, fresh food and chef's choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flame Tree Cottages Restaurant

Flame Tree Cottages Restaurant
PO Box 1752 | Flame Tree Cottages, Nungwi, Tanzania
+255242240100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 23 Restaurants in Nungwi
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lapping waves, fresh food and chef's choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Run as a family concern (we met Elizabeth the owner), this is a charming little hide-away between the Double Tree and the Z Hotel. Offering Yoga at sun set (arrange personally for x 2 people), its sea-side restaurant is just the ticket. We arrived en masse - some 12 of us who were at a conference at the Double Tree - Hakuna Matata - we were seated, drinks served and then all of our food freshly prepared, cooked and served hot. It is 'Western' in style - from crab cakes to beef stew, but the "spice island' does get a look in; prawn curry, King Fish in cocoanut sauce with spices and fresh Dorade cooked on a grill and served with hot piri piri sauce. The portions were big so no room for dessert.
The service was really attentive and the experience fostered a lovely spirit amongst the delegates, many of whom had just met hours earlier.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great for Wedding Reception Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We ate here February 2014.

We booked Flame Tree Restaurant with the owner, Elizabeth, in person a few days before our actual wedding day. We had a great sit down meeting to discuss what we wanted. The owners and chef made a custom menu for us with various appetizers, main course options, sides, salads, wine, teas and coffee. They even made a custom chocolate cake for the reception!

The atmosphere is perfect with moonlight, white lights in the trees above and candlelight. There is no music, just the natural sound of the ocean, which is a nice break from the rest of the beach that blasts music. You also have a great breeze from the ocean as well.

Food was very well made and more than we needed for 14 guests. Staff that served the table were quick, reliable and very friendly.
Everyone enjoyed the dinner and it was made more special than we expected.

Highly recommend for a special event or just a dinner in the moonlight by the ocean.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Good food , service not to fast :-) but à wonderful view on the sea... A very Nice dinner
Not expensive , good wine

Thank you

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Terrible wait time - horrible food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The view and ambiance is fantastic but you have to wait for over an hour to get served your appetizers and another hour for your main dish. No snacks served in between so if you re really hungry prepare to starve. Also soap in the coed bathroom would be a nice touch. Prices compared to nearby restaurants is steep, as well. They don't take credit cards, so be warned.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Romantic beach front, great food, quiet atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We ate here in February 2013 for Valentine's night dinner.

We requested and reserved a beach front table and it came with candlelight, moonlight and Christmas lights in the trees, plus fresh breeze off the ocean.

Great location away from some of the crazy music at other places. You can actually hear the ocean and each other talk. The water splashes up on the rock wall during high tide (evening into night). Plus your table is in the sand.

Menu was very diverse and they had daily specials.

We had some appetizers- fish special plus beef samosas.
Main course, we both chose the beef steak, with mash potatoes and vegetables. Steak was made right to our order and was very tasty. Don't expect any horseradish, if that's your thing. The overall portion size was large (very North American like).
We managed to have dessert, which was a home made chocolate cake. Very good size and very tasty.

We had wonderful service from our waitress and waiter.

Price wise, for all that above plus drinks came to under $50USD for both of us and we were beyond full.

You can walk up from the beach walk or through the village.

Would recommend eating here and we would definitely come again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flame Tree Cottages Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Flame Tree Cottages Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flame Tree Cottages Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.