We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from Nungwi if you're looking for peaceful tropical paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nungwi Village P.O. Box 2651, Nungwi 2651 , Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 30%
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Nungwi
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Stay away from Nungwi if you're looking for peaceful tropical paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Hotel was great - Hilton - good good fine, Food not fantastic, but not bad either. Service... so so.

TIP - If you've come to Zanzibar looking for broad, white sandy beaches and peaceful tropical island paradise - DONT GO TO NUNGWI! There are sooo many tourists, hotels, bars, discos, restaurants and beach salesmen!!!!

I'm no expert in Zanzibar, but I've been there 3 times and there's a beach nearby called Matemwe(southwest of Nungwi) which is REALLY nice! The hotels there are smaller and private and there a NO SALESMEN on the beach.

(IF YOU'RE A DIVER - MNEMBA ATOLL has the best diving I've ever experienced. This can be reached from both Nungwi and Matemwe.)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Solfaktor

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    315
    90
    51
    25
See reviews for
134
411
62
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

we had a fab stay at Nungwi even thou its not a fancy 5 star property , the raw beauty of nature made it for us the hotel grounds small but nice ,staff very attentive and rooms spacious . there is on the right hand side of the hotel "restaurant" i mean it looks like a HUT but the chap is most friendly man on earth , we seriously took a p..s out of that place at first until we tried food there , i dont think i ever ate tastier fish steak in my life! as simple as that every night after we ate there for 17 days!!!!! During the day he was just simply asking what we fancy tonight to eat so he can get it fresh from sea and cook for us . honestly dont be put off by hygienic factor , we still alive .

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was the perfect place to stay after 3 weeks of roughing it in the bush. It was clean, comfortable and in a great location. Our children really enjoyed it here and never got bored. It's right on the beach, has a pool,on-site water sport rentals and pool/ping pong tables. The food was good most nights. It's a buffet so we were always able to find something the kids would eat. The staff was friendly and helpful and even took us on a tour of the local village.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Nice view, on the beach, and surroundings are very interesting, getting to know the local villagers. Food not that great but you can get other meals within 10 min walk. Staff very friendly and helpfull. Rooms clean, big and comfy. Nice pool area with bar ordering within the pool. Gym equipment good except for cardio equipment, not working. Overall good.

Room Tip: Pool view or sea view, both very good but with the pool view you can still have a view of the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Marius,

thank you very much for choosing Doubletree by Hilton Zanzibar for your Business Trip.
Our Gym will be upgraded soon as we are expecting the shipping to arrive Tanzania in the near future.
Thank you also for the catalogue, good to know a supplier!!

Sunny Regards!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Leone
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I spent eight days here split into 4 days either side of trip to Dodoma in the country so I had 2 different rooms- they were both lovely. the rooms are huge, nicely furnished and have a real old style feel to them. Food is good here too and you are just 1 5 minute walk down to a little shopping area with restaurants, ATM and shops. Whats so breathtaking about this hotel is the outdoor veranda.. its huge and stretches across to give a stunning view of the sea... enough to revive a tired soul!

Room Tip: Ask to be in building 2, close to the sea if you like a view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I spent 3 glorious nights at this property from 12-15 October following an 8 night safari. It was the perfect ending to a wonderful vacation. Mr. Godfrey Mahimbo, the front office manager,is a competent dedicated supervisor that was instrumental in making my stay one of the most enjoyable Hilton stays I can remember (and I've spend many a night with Hilton). The room was impeccably clean with a gorgeous beach front ocan view. Wireless was fast, baths were hot and everything (safe, alarm clock, refridgerator) worked great! I was greeted by a bottle of fine South African red wine upon entering the room, a daily fruit plate along with 2 of my favorite local beers per day. I should mention that I am a Hilton Honors Gold member. If you are gold also, this is a property you don't want to miss. The staff here understands how to treat their higher tier guests!!!! I considered staying at Hotel Z, but in retrospect, I am so glad I selected this property. In short, it's a 5 star property at a 3 star price!

Room Tip: Room 226 was magnicificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear JimA1 ,

thanks for all the praise, I got so many feedback on that from our staff. We enjoyed having you
with us just as much as you enjoyed your stay!!!

All the best to you and hope to see you again soon.

Sunny regards from Zanzibar!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have been a Tanzanian resident for 6 years and I know the Tanzanian/Zanzibari culture well...I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of service and food here knowing the challenges of running a business in Tanzania. I would highly recommend this hotel --a great beach, good pool, good spa services, quality food and staff that really take pride in their jobs which believe me is HARD to find in Tanzania. Overall would visit again..and will..very relaxing setting and everything is all inclusive so you do not need to leave the compound....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Americanincognito,

hello neighbour, it was really fun to have you with us. Our staff really appreciated your comments!!!

Thank you very much and hope to see you soon!!!
Sunny regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
16.7 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#3 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 803 reviews
0.8 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 18 in Nungwi
5.0 of 5 stars 380 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 145 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#5 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 724 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi

Address: Nungwi Village P.O. Box 2651, Nungwi 2651, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar-Nungwi, set on the most northern tip of Zanzibar in Tanzania. Feel valued and cared for on arrival with a freshly baked DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. Relax in a spacious guest room with a private balcony and ocean panoramas or upgrade to a two-room suite and feel pampered with a 30-minute house massage, fully stocked mini bar, and daily fruit basket.Boasting a traditional Zanzibar style with Makuti palm leaf roofs, this Nungwi hotel offers spectacular sea views and direct beach access. Relax on pristine, white sand with sun beds and parasols and explore the tropical waters while scuba diving or snorkeling. Plunge into the outdoor, freshwater pool or sip on cocktails and fresh fruit juices from Dolphin’s pool bar. Continue your exercise routine in the modern fitness center or enjoy morning yoga on the beach.Savor innovative international and fusion specialties at Fisherman Bar & Grill before admiring the Zanzibar sunset and trying authentic Shisha aromatic tobacco. Enjoy traditional, live entertainment at Ngalawa Restaurant and savor delicious local cuisine next to the beach.Celebrate your dream wedding with stunning, exotic backdrops, host your special event on the beach, or choose from three flexible function rooms for your next corporate meeting of up to 100 guests. Stay productive in the well-equipped business center and enjoy complimentary parking and WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi Hotel Nungwi
DoubleTree By Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi Zanzibar Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.