We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic honeymoon destination!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nungwi Village P.O. Box 2651, Nungwi 2651 , Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From $193
Ranked #11 of 17 hotels in Nungwi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic honeymoon destination!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This place is absolutely fantastic! To show how much we enjoyed it we have sent the following Thank You letter to the General Manager of the resort!

August 14, 2012
Mr. Judd Lehmann, Director of Operations
DoubleTree Resort
Nungwi, Zanzibar

Dear Mr. Lehmann,

We have spent our honeymoon between Aug 4th and 14th at the DoubleTree Resort, in Nungwi, Zanzibar.

We would like to express our utmost gratitude for the outstanding hospitality that was shown to us by your hotel staff.

It all started with the friendly welcome we got on our arrival from Mr. Godfrey Mahibo. The room was beautifully decorated and each day we had new linen designs and sprinkles of fresh flowers.

The honeymoon cakes were a deliciously pleasant surprise. Plus, we enjoyed all the live entertainment programs at night. Also, the massage we had was soothing. Everything felt very safe throughout our stay.

Mr. Georgios Moudatsos arranged for us a spectacularly romantic dinner on the beach. It was the height of our stay. We still cannot decide which was better: the food, the service or the champagne!

After exploring both the natural beauties of Zanzibar and the local services, we concluded that your staff by far exceeds the standards, even for seasoned travellers. Everyone was extremely polite, courteous and helpful at all times.

Please pass on our appreciation especially to Mr. Mahibo and Mr. Moudatsos who did not let a day pass without engaging us in pleasant conversation and always making sure our stay was perfect.

We are happy to recommend the DoubleTree Resort in Nungwi to all those in search for a fantastic holiday.

Thank you for making our honeymoon unforgettable!



With gratitude,

Dragos & Ioana

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Ioana, dear Dragos,

It was truly a pleasure to have you with us!!!
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Doubletree by Hilton Zanzibar and would be more than happy to welcome you again!!!

I have to transfer warmest regards from George and Godfrey as well as
kind regards from our Regional Director Judd.

Karibu sana and all the best to you!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    202
    66
    36
    19
See reviews for
85
259
43
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Balclutha
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

A lovely place to relax and be pampered after a camping safari! Although the road in from Nungwi is less than desirable and a little disconcerting as to where we were heading a lovely surprise greeted us. Very welcoming staff on our arrival with an iced tea and Doubletree cookie. The rooms were lovely and well appointed with air conditioning, Tv, tea & coffee making facilities and a very comfortable bed with mosquito nets that were drawn early evening and mosquito sprayed as a service to guests. This was much appreciated. Lovely bathroom facilities with continual hot water as well as a clothes line available. Only thing missing was there was no hairdryer. The pool and poolside restaurant was very nice to sit and relax by with staff being attentive and supplying poolside towels on request. The food at the restaurant was of a high quality and the Saturday night buffet was more like a banquet! If ever we were to visit Nungwi again Double Tree would be our choice of places to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Yorky1,

thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions.
It's wonderful that you have enjoyed your relaxing time just like it should be.

We would be grateful to welcome you again at Doubletree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar.

All the best wishes!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed at the Doubletree for 3 nights. Outside the gates, Nungwi is a very poor village. Not much to see. However, along the beach it is bustling with other hotels and resorts. It feels like your in another world. If you want the real Zanzibar, this probably isn't the right place.

The resort area was very nice with a relaxing pool and on the beach. Rooms were nicely appointed. The turndown service will open up the mosquito nets around the bed and spray with insecticide. The air conditioner in my room was good, but for some reason never turned off. Either it was constantly working hard, or didn't regulate the temperature very well. The only problem it was a bit loud.

No place to eat in the village. Other hotels along the beach had some good eats, but the Doubletree had only a buffet lunch and dinner (US$20). Also a poolside snack bar for food during the day. Not sure if during this season it's always a buffet or whether they offer menu service during some seasons.

Overall, it was a nice hotel/resort stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear globetrekker728,

it's great that you have enjoyed your stay and thank you for choosing Doubletree Zanzibar!!!

Your guess is right, the or dinner can be also as a set menu during some seasons.
Even then you will have the choice like on a buffet to try more than one starter, or not
to take a soup and instead two desserts. The choice is just up to you.

We hope to welcome you again!!!

All the best wishes and sunny regards from Zanzibar!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Friendly staff who always try to help and a beautiful hotel in an amazing part of the world. Once you get used to the fact life in Africa works at a slower pace you will have a fantastic time here. The scuba diving is great!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Sandshoes510,

we are delighted that you enjoyed your relaxing days after the safari with us in Zanzibar.

If you got "infected" with the safari virus and return next year, feel free to contact us anytime.
We would be grateful to welcome you at Doubletree!!

All the best and Karibu Sana!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed two nights at Doubletree which occupied a beautiful area by the beach. At check-in we were greeted with ice tea and a very tasty cookie (and some less than charming, semi-drunk youths around 20 years old, partying by the pool at high noon). The room was generally very nice, save for a quite rusty shower head.

The food was ok, although even the cheapest restaurants back home (in Norway) will produce something at least as good. We found much better food elsewhere in Nungwi and Zanzibar.

Everyone in the staff were smiling and greeting us every single time they were near us. Their actual level of service and attentiveness could be better, though. Once my wife and I tried ordering food at the pool bar. They said that her pizza would be ready before my club sandwich (that I ordered without cheese) so when she got food and I didn't, I didn't react at first. But as nothing happened I got up and asked for my meal. This spurred some Kiswahili discussions behind the counter, but no explanation to me. I sat down and kept waiting. Other people arrived, ordered ... and got their food. Once more I asked about my club sandwich with no cheese, and once more a Kiswahili discussion erupted. This time there was however an apology in English and finally (more than an hour after I ordered) the sandwich arrived - with cheese. I scraped off the cheese and ate the soggy remains.

Still, the premises and the room warrants a 4. It's also a bonus that East African Divers has a counter on the grounds.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear boogienorway,

I hope you arrived well back home!! It's great that you have enjoyed your short stay
with us.

I have to apologize for the way we handled your order at the pool bar and I have reviewed the incident with the employees involved already.

All the best for your family and yourself!!! and hope to see you again!!!

Sunny regards and karibu from Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

First of all it is not a Hilton, it is a Doubletree by Hilton, don't forget!
The resort is very nice. The view, the sunset is amazing. The pool is nice but very small. And you can not swim in the sea. The sea is extremely shallow and you can not walk a meter without stepping on a sea urchin. We had to go to Kendwa.Rocks to swim. However at Kendwa there were huge brown jelly fishes in the sea. Therefore forget Nungwi and Kendwa if you want to swim.
Doubletree personnel was friendly, the food was ok.

Room Tip: We stayed at room 127. Facing the ocean. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear buraks71,

thank you very much for your response on your recent stay at Doubletree Zanzibar.
We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us!!
I can definetely understand your comment on the sea conditions, as only on high tide the water is 2 meters deep at the beach.

All the best to you and Karibu sana from Zanzibar!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

So we were there 7 days in march 2012... and enjoyed fully.. the hotel is amazing.. as well as staff too... the food is okkkkk... but if u are travelling in this part of the world u have to lower your food expectations... for example i got sick as soon as i arrived in Tanzania from Germany and UAE.. couldnt eat that much in hotel.... the strange thing abt the hotel is that there is from time to time blackout in electricity, but few minuts later it comes back.. the room are really lovely... flat screen, nice beds, toiletts are okkk, not up to the standard but they are fine.. and the room is kept clean all the time.. nice pool... the amazing beautiful white sandy beach is just in front of the hotel... the good thing is that the hotel has free wi-fi.. everywwhere on the pool, in the room, in the restaurant.. etc etc... so we could tweet our pics to friends... Once i got really sick in the night, so i talked to reception at 3 am, they called a doctor who arrived within 30 minuts ... bill was 100 dollars a lil bit overpriced.... ´the rest is fine... i would rate the hotel very good 4* ....so, i would recommend the hotel every time if the price is ok... ;-)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi

Address: Nungwi Village P.O. Box 2651, Nungwi 2651 , Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar-Nungwi, set on the most northern tip of Zanzibar in Tanzania. Feel valued and cared for on arrival with a freshly baked DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. Relax in a spacious guest room with a private balcony and ocean panoramas or upgrade to a two-room suite and feel pampered with a 30-minute house massage, fully stocked mini bar, and daily fruit basket.Boasting a traditional Zanzibar style with Makuti palm leaf roofs, this Nungwi hotel offers spectacular sea views and direct beach access. Relax on pristine, white sand with sun beds and parasols and explore the tropical waters while scuba diving or snorkeling. Plunge into the outdoor, freshwater pool or sip on cocktails and fresh fruit juices from Dolphin’s pool bar. Continue your exercise routine in the modern fitness center or enjoy morning yoga on the beach.Savor innovative international and fusion specialties at Fisherman Bar & Grill before admiring the Zanzibar sunset and trying authentic Shisha aromatic tobacco. Enjoy traditional, live entertainment at Ngalawa Restaurant and savor delicious local cuisine next to the beach.Celebrate your dream wedding with stunning, exotic backdrops, host your special event on the beach, or choose from three flexible function rooms for your next corporate meeting of up to 100 guests. Stay productive in the well-equipped business center and enjoy complimentary parking and WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi Hotel Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.