We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Union Beach Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nungwi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Union Beach Bungalows
Save
You added Union Beach Bungalows to your Saves list
Beachfront, Nungwi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Nungwi B&B and Inns
Bayfield, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

The rooms are average. The power rarely works, and when the power doesn't work neither does the water. There is no hot water, no matter what the owner says. The room looks nice, but with the iffy power and water it is difficult to give the hotel a good review. The staff was pleasant and the breakfast was nice, but the price is a bit steep for Zanzibar, especially for what you get in the end.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
1
6
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011 via mobile

Rooms dirty and not comfortable. Toilet with no door, insect inside the room, floor demage and pillows undescrivible. Shower don't working if there is not power in the room. They don't clean the room and sometimes don't change the bed (seen with my eyes) when the customers leave. Breakfast very poor and with nasty (petroleum) taste. Near is possible to find better accommodation at the same price or cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

The place is very basic, but also very cheap. Rooms have a bed, a mosquito net and a bathroom (with no door). No room service at all for our six days. The beach in front of the hotel seems to be the most popular spot in Nungwi and is in my opinion the nicest stretch of beach in the area. Breakfast is served on your porch and is OK, and at this price I wouldn't normally expect breakfast. Meals at nearby "Waves" are very nice. All we did in the room was sleep, so in my opinion this place had everything we needed. And the staff was nice and friendly. The beach has plenty of touts, but that will be the case everywhere around here. An OK place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Do not stay here. Cheaper, cleaner and nicer staff can be found all over the town at 2 minutes walk.

The building sits in front of a beach bar playing italian music til late and you might know there are no windows in these bungalows, so it is very difficult to sleep. It is also right on one of the busiests paths in the area, so lots of shouting, etc was going on all day long.

It is not really on the beach, as it is said; One of the buildings is in the back of one of the beaches, not very nice one and the other building is on the path I menioned. It is not far, but not right on the beach: most of the others are.

Building is poor quality compared to the others, flooring could be worse, made out of patches of different designs o just plain cement, as they probably run out... Looked a bit run down.

Doors did not fit the door space, so there was 3-4 inches space between door and floor, so bugs easily came in. They gave us a towel to cover the hole...

We paid $45 which is ok only to find 3 or 4 other nicer places straight away. As we told the staff we only wanted to stay that one night (the only one we had booked), they wanted us out. In the morning, they tried to kick us out before the check out time, even going into the room befre breakfast time.

After 10 minutes walking we had 2 nice options: $30 on a beach bungalow on the best beach of nungwi, with a beach volley pitch, a bit of gardens etc or a $60 very nice and modern newly build bungalow on the same beach as Union.

Everyone I spoke to, ended up moving out of Union to either of these places, and there were 3/4 other options between $30 and $50.

For the quality of Union you have Romantic or Jambo Brothers at $20/$30, so Union is one of the worst options, believe me. We spent a month in Zanzibar and 2 weeks in Nungwi.

It feels an easy option as you can book online, but I would surely avoid it and make sure I go to one of the other local bungalows that seem to appreciate more the visitors and keep the rooms in better condition. It feels as it is design for backpackers or Uni students on low budget, but as said, there are places at half the price and same quality or same price and better quality! I would not recommend to anyone

I hope I am helping some of you find the better places in this town!

Ah! There is only one thing I would use of Union and it is their Internet Cafe: in this case, it is the cheapest in Nungwi and there aren't many places with internet, so do go there for e-mail checking!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

$US50 for a double room, with decent mosquito nets and an en suite.

Shower is really nice and warm, and the bungalows are on the beach with beautiful views. Basic breakfast is included, as were a family of four kittens who lived outside one of the bungalows. The $US20 snorkeling trip to Memba Atoll that the owner organises is amazing (both the coral reefs and the lunch on the 'secluded beach' - read beach filled with tourists eating their freshly cooked lunch).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Union Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Beach Bungalows

Address: Beachfront, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Nungwi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Nungwi
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Union Beach Bungalows Hotel Nungwi
Union Beach Bungalows Zanzibar/Nungwi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Beach Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.